Progarchives, the progressive rock ultimate discography


The Moody Blues

Crossover Prog

From, the ultimate progressive rock music website

The Moody Blues The Moody Blues Anthology album cover
2.34 | 9 ratings | 2 reviews | 44% 5 stars

Write a review

from partners
Boxset/Compilation, released in 1998

Songs / Tracks Listing

DISC ONE (78:57)
1. Go Now (3:12)
2. Tuesday Afternoon (Forever Afternoon) (4:49)
3. Nights In White Satin including Late Lament (7:40)
4. Ride My See-Saw (3:44)
5. Legend Of A Mind (6:39)
6. Voices In The Sky (3:31)
7. Lovely To See You (2:39)
8. Never Comes The Day (4:43)
9. Gypsy (Of A Strange And Distant Time) (3:35)
10. Candle Of Life (4:15)
11. Watching And Waiting (4:17)
12. Question (5:46)
13. Melancholy Man (5:47)
14. The Story In Your Eyes (3:06)
15. Lost In A Lost World (4:43)
16. Isn't Life Strange (6:11)
17. I'm Just A Singer (In A Rock And Roll Band) {L(4:18)

DISC TWO (79:16)
1. Remember Me My Friend (5:26)
2. Blue Guitar (3:38)
3. Steppin' In A Slide Zone (5:08)
4. Driftwood (4:26)
5. Forever Autumn (4:32)
6. The Voice (5:14)
7. Talking Out Of Turn (4:58)
8. Gemini Dream (4:06)
9. Blue World (5:11)
10. Sitting At The Wheel (5:36)
11. Your Wildest Dreams (4:52)
12. The Other Side Of Life (6:52)
13. I Know You're Out There Somewhere (6:39)
14. Say It With Love (3:57)
15. Bless The Wings (That Bring You Back) - orchestral mix (4:03)
16. Highway (4:36)

Total Time: 158:13

Line-up / Musicians

- Justin Hayward / guitars, vocals
- John Lodge / bass guitar, vocals
- Ray Thomas / harmonica, flute, vocals
- Graeme Edge / drums, percussion
- Mike Pinder / keyboards on Disc One; vocals on Disc One, tracks 13 and 14
- Patrick Moraz / keyboards on Disc Two, tracks 6-13
- Denny Laine / vocals and guitar on Disc One, track 1
- Clint Warwick / bass guitar on Disc One, track 1

- Kirk Duncan, Jim Cockey, Tom Tompkins, Tim Tompkinsand Graham Deakin / additional musicians on "Remember Me My Friend"
- 10cc (Lol Creme, Kevin Godley, Graham Gouldman and Eric Stewart) / additional musicians on "Blue Guitar"
- Chris Spedding, Jo Partridge, Ken Freeman, Jeff Wayne, Herbie Flowers, and Barry Morgan / additional musicians on "Forever Autumn"

Releases information

Polydor 565 430-2

Thanks to ProgLucky for the addition
and to Eetu Pellonpää for the last updates
Edit this entry

Buy THE MOODY BLUES The Moody Blues Anthology Music

THE MOODY BLUES The Moody Blues Anthology ratings distribution

(9 ratings)
Essential: a masterpiece of progressive rock music(44%)
Excellent addition to any prog rock music collection(22%)
Good, but non-essential (11%)
Collectors/fans only (11%)
Poor. Only for completionists (11%)

THE MOODY BLUES The Moody Blues Anthology reviews

Showing all collaborators reviews and last reviews preview | Show all reviews/ratings

Collaborators/Experts Reviews

Review by Seyo
SPECIAL COLLABORATOR Honorary Collaborator
1 stars There isn't much prog here, especially on the disc 2 which contains awful and uninspired attempts to create "pop" hits. Terrible and boring listening experience. Disc 1 is slightly better but is hardly any essential. There are better compilations covering the highlights of their classic years, so this album is pretty much obsolete unless you haven't heard MOODYS at all and wish to peak at their entire career. Not recommended for true prog listeners!
Review by Easy Livin
SPECIAL COLLABORATOR Honorary Collaborator / Retired Admin
3 stars Sticking to the knitting

The Moody Blues Anthology is effectively a cut down, 2 disc version of the excellent "Time traveller" box set. As with that collection, the tracks are presented chronologically, running up to their 1991 album, "Keys of the kingdom". Here though, the story starts slightly earlier, with the pre-Hayward "Go now" single opening the set.

Thereafter, the tracks largely pick themselves, with classics such as "Question", "Isn't life strange", "I'm just a singer in a rock'n'roll band" and so forth all present and correct. It is good to see space is found for a couple of "Bluejays" tracks, including the non-album single "Blue guitar". Justin Hayward's solo spot from "War of the worlds" also becomes a Moody Blues song for the purposes of this collection, but sadly it is the poorly edited single version of "Forever autumn".

The final two tracks are of slightly greater interest, with "Bless the wings" being an "Orchestral Mix" of this fine song, and the comparatively rare "Highway" closing the collection.

There can be no question that the Moody Blues have recorded many fine tracks, and indeed albums over the years. There does tend to be a quorum of songs which represent the best of these, and these tracks dominate the numerous compilations of their work. While there are a few slightly less obvious tracks here, by and large this collection sticks to the knitting.

If you are new to the Moody Blues, and looking for a decent overview of their work, this isn't a bad place to start. I would however recommend "This is the Moody Blues" first, as it concentrates on their finest period. Even better, go straight for the original albums!

Latest members reviews

No review or rating for the moment | Submit a review

Post a review of THE MOODY BLUES "The Moody Blues Anthology"

You must be a forum member to post a review, please register here if you are not.


As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

Copyright Prog Archives, All rights reserved. | Legal Notice | Privacy Policy | Advertise | RSS + syndications

Other sites in the MAC network: — jazz music reviews and archives | — metal music reviews and archives

Donate monthly and keep PA fast-loading and ad-free forever.