Progarchives, the progressive rock ultimate discography



Prog Related

From, the ultimate progressive rock music website

Journey Time 3 album cover
3.30 | 14 ratings | 1 reviews | 21% 5 stars

Write a review

from partners
Boxset/Compilation, released in 1992

Songs / Tracks Listing

CD 1

1. Of A Lifetime (6.53)
2. Kohoutek (6.45)
3. I'm Gonna Leave You (7.00)
4. Cookie Duster (4.21)
5. Nickel & Dime (4.15)
6. For You (Demo) (3.59)
7. Velvet Curtain/ Feeling That Way (4.29)
8. Any Time (3.28)
9. Patiently (3.24)
10. Good Times (Live) (2.41)
11. Majestic (1.15)
12. Too Late (2.58)
13. Sweet and Simple (4.13)
14. Just The Same Way (3.18)
15. Little Girl (5.49)
16. Any Way You Want It (3.23)
17. Someday Soon (3.33)
18. Good Morning Girl (1.44)


1. Where Were You (3.03)
2. Line Of Fire (3.06)
3. Homemade Love (2.55)
4. Natural Thing (3.36)
5. Lights (3.31)
6. Stay Awhile (2.13)
7. Walks Like A Lady (7.12)
8. Lovin' Touchin' Sqeezin' (4.56)
9. Dixie Highway (6.48)
10. Wheel In The Sky (5.14)
11. Party's Over (Hopelessly In Love) (3.42)
12. Don't Stop Believin' (4.10)
13. Stone In Love (4.27)
14. Keep On Runnin' (3.40)
15. Who's Cryin' Now (5.02)
16. Still They Ride (3.50)
17. Open Arms (3.19)
18. Mother, Father (5.28)


1. La Raza Del Sol (Alternate Version) (3.24)
2. Only Solutions (3.39)
3. Liberty (2.56)
4. Separate Ways (Worlds Apart) (5.24)
5. Send Her My Love (3.56)
6. Faithfully (4.28)
7. After The Fall (5.02)
8. All That Really Matters (3.55)
9. Eyes Of A Woman (4.33)
10. Why Can't This Night Go On Forever (3.42)
11. Once You Love Somebody (4.40)
12. Happy To Give (3.49)
13. Be Good To Yourself (3.53)
14. Only The Young (4.06)
15. Ask The Lonely (3.55)
16. With A Tear (3.26)
17. Into Your Arms (4.10)
18. Girl Can't Help It (Live Video Mix) (4.16)
19. I'll Be Alright Without You (Live Video Mix) (4.59)

Total Time 230:39

Line-up / Musicians

Neal Schon / guitars
Steve Smith / drums
Steve Perry / vocals
Ross Valory / bass
Greg Rolie / keyboards
Jonathan Cain / keyboards
Aynsley Dunbar / drums
George Tickner / guitars

Releases information

Columbia Records

Thanks to rushfan4 for the addition
Edit this entry

Buy JOURNEY Time 3 Music

JOURNEY Time 3 ratings distribution

(14 ratings)
Essential: a masterpiece of rock music(21%)
Excellent addition to any rock music collection(50%)
Good, but non-essential (14%)
Collectors/fans only (7%)
Poor. Only for completionists (7%)

JOURNEY Time 3 reviews

Showing all collaborators reviews and last reviews preview | Show all reviews/ratings

Collaborators/Experts Reviews

Review by Easy Livin
SPECIAL COLLABORATOR Honorary Collaborator / Retired Admin
3 stars The best of times

Released at a time when lavish box sets were very much in vogue, "Time Cubed" or "Time (to the power of) three" is a fine summary of the work of Journey from their début up to "Raised on radio". The band had effectively split up when this set was released in 1992, although they would later reconvene to record "Trial by fire".

A number of tracks from each album are included, inevitably encompassing the hit singles which brought fame and fortune to the band. From a prog point of view, while the early albums (which tend to be the most revered of the band's albums in these parts) are covered up front, they are rather skimmed over. The implication is that they are but a footnote in the real history of the band, and for many Journey fans I suppose that is true.

In addition to the familiar tracks, there is a good selection of rarer material. Much of this consists of tracks recorded for albums but ultimately omitted. Thus lost classics such as "Only the Young" and "Ask the Lonely" finally become more widely available. "For you" is of interest as it is the only known recording to feature lead vocals by Robert Fleischman, who joined the band briefly prior to the arrival of Steve Perry. The following "Velvet Curtain/Feeling That Way" provides an excellent link between the original Santana offshoot band and the AOR outfit which conquered the world.

As you would expect, the package comes with a fine booklet containing essays and track details. My only real disappointment with this box set is that many similar packages have 4 discs, while this has just three. A fourth disc might have made all the difference in affording space for the better album tracks, thus offering a more comprehensive overview of each.

Latest members reviews

No review or rating for the moment | Submit a review

Post a review of JOURNEY "Time 3"

You must be a forum member to post a review, please register here if you are not.


As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

Copyright Prog Archives, All rights reserved. | Legal Notice | Privacy Policy | Advertise | RSS + syndications

Other sites in the MAC network: — jazz music reviews and archives | — metal music reviews and archives

Donate monthly and keep PA fast-loading and ad-free forever.