Progarchives, the progressive rock ultimate discography


Brian Auger

Jazz Rock/Fusion

From, the ultimate progressive rock music website

Brian Auger Get Auger-nized!: The Anthology album cover
4.05 | 2 ratings | 1 reviews | 50% 5 stars

Write a review
from partners
Boxset/Compilation, released in 2004

Songs / Tracks Listing

CD 1 - The Mod Years
1. Fool Killer (Allison) (2:11)
2. Green Onions '65 (Cropper, Jackson, Jones ...) (3:16)
3. Tiger (Auger, Sutton) (2:29)
4. Red Beans & Rice (Cooper, Dunn, Jackson, Jones) (2:09)
5. Break It Up (Auger, Sutton) (2:54)
6. Save Me, Pts. 1-2 (Franklin, Ousley) (4:01)
7. Black Cat (Auger) (3:22)
8. Tramp (Fulson, McCracklin) (4:13)
9. A Kind of Love In (Auger, Driscoll) (2:33)
10. Season of the Witch (Leitch) (7:56)
11. This Wheel's On Fire (Danko, Dylan) (3:32)
12. Road to Cairo (Ackles) (5:15)
13. A Day in the Life (Lennon, McCartney) (5:15)
14. George Bruno Money (Auger) (4:05)
15. Bumpin' on Sunset (Montgomery) (4:55)
16. What You Gonna Do? (Auger) (3:23)
17. Take Me to the Water (Traditional) (4:18)
18. Light My Fire (The Doors) (4:21)
19. Flesh Failures (Let the Sunshine In) (MacDermot, Rado, Ragni) (3:03)
20. Indian Rope Man (Havens, Price, Roth) (3:24)

CD 2 - The Jazz Years
1. I Want to Take You Higher (Stewart) (5:04)
2. Maiden Voyage (Hancock) (4:58)
3. Listen Here (Harris) (9:23)
4. The Light (Auger) (4:22)
5. The Sword (Auger) (6:33)
6. Marai's Wedding (Traditional) (4:22)
7. Fill Your Head With Laughter (Gorrie, Mullen) (3:50)
8. Freedom Jazz Dance (Auger, Harris, Ligertwood) (5:24)
9. Happiness Is Just Around the Bend (Auger) (6:32)
10. Inner City Blues (Gaye, Nyx) (4:29)
11. Straight Ahead (Dean) (5:05)
12. Foolish Girl (Chapman) (6:02)
13. Blue Note Shuffle (Auger) (5:04)
14. Voices of Other Times (Auger, Dean) (7:31)

Line-up / Musicians

- Brian Auger / piano, keyboards, vocals
- Julie Driscoll / vocals (tracks 5, 6, 8, 10 - 12, 17 - 20 on CD 1)

- numerous musicians

Releases information

2CD Castle Music (2004)

Thanks to snobb for the addition
and to NotAProghead for the last updates
Edit this entry

Buy BRIAN AUGER Get Auger-nized!: The Anthology Music

More places to buy BRIAN AUGER music online Buy BRIAN AUGER & Prog Rock Digital Music online:

BRIAN AUGER Get Auger-nized!: The Anthology ratings distribution

(2 ratings)
Essential: a masterpiece of progressive rock music(50%)
Excellent addition to any prog rock music collection(50%)
Good, but non-essential (0%)
Collectors/fans only (0%)
Poor. Only for completionists (0%)

BRIAN AUGER Get Auger-nized!: The Anthology reviews

Showing all collaborators reviews and last reviews preview | Show all reviews/ratings

Collaborators/Experts Reviews

Review by snobb
SPECIAL COLLABORATOR Honorary Collaborator
4 stars May be it sounds a bit strange, but I started my love to Auger music very late, and the reason was this compilation!

For sure, I heard his name for years, but it never was too much attractive for me to purchase his album. Once I saw amazing video on VH1 with Julie Driscoll and Brian Auger, and I decided to try. First album I found was that compilation ( very reasonable prised). So, I've done it.

From the very beginning I found, howe much I missed! Whenever this album contains plenty of songs ( from different Auger projects) from different time, it's a bit mixed bag. Bad anyway, bigger part of collection is proto-fusion, early jazz-fusion, amazing experimental jaz-rock and avant-rock with Julie Driscoll on vocals,heavy fusion, soul-fusion,etc.

Brian Auger during his long career made plenty of good albums,and many of them are perfectly presented here. OK,I don't like his works from 80-s ,where he uses too much soul music and even flirts with disco. But generally it's a great collection of one of the most gifted Hammond organ player in jazz fusion history. Try it!!!

( After I listened this album, I started to collect Auger original albums, and listen mainly them. For a moment I own 6-7 of them, and no-one of them had ever disappoint me.

Latest members reviews

No review or rating for the moment | Submit a review

Post a review of BRIAN AUGER "Get Auger-nized!: The Anthology"

You must be a forum member to post a review, please register here if you are not.


As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

Copyright Prog Archives, All rights reserved. | Legal Notice | Privacy Policy | Advertise | RSS + syndications

Other sites in the MAC network: — jazz music reviews and archives | — metal music reviews and archives