Progarchives, the progressive rock ultimate discography


Nine Inch Nails

Crossover Prog

From, the ultimate progressive rock music website

Nine Inch Nails Y34RZ3R0R3M1X3D album cover
2.38 | 20 ratings | 1 reviews | 15% 5 stars

Write a review

from partners
Boxset/Compilation, released in 2007

Songs / Tracks Listing

1. Gunshots by Computer (1:43)
2. The Great Destroyer (4:19)
3. My Violent Heart (2:34)
4. The Beginning of the End (4:20)
5. Survivalism (Survivalism_Tardusted) (4:19)
6. Capital G (Capital G: Phones 666 Revolutions) (7:26)
7. Vessel (6:10)
8. The Warning (The Warning: Real World remix) (3:43)
9. Meet Your Master (3:35)
10. God Given (4:27)
11. Me, I'm Not (14:00)
12. Another Version of the Truth (4:25)
13. In This Twilight (4:37)
14. Zero-Sum (5:38)

Total Time 71:16

Line-up / Musicians

- Trent Reznor / vocals, all instruments
- William Artope / trumpet (6)
- Matt Demeritt / tenor saxophone (6)
- Josh Freese / drums (6)
- Jeff/Geoff Gallegos / saxophone (6)
- Elizabeth Lea / trombone (6)
- Saul Williams / backing vocals (5,11)
- Modwheelmood
- Pirate Robot Midget
- Ladytron
- Phones
- Stefan Goodchild
- Doudou N'Diaye Rose
- Bill Laswell
- The Faint
- Stephen Morris
- Gillian Gilbert
- Olof Dreijer
- Kronos Quartet

Thanks to windhawk for the addition
and to projeKct for the last updates
Edit this entry


NINE INCH NAILS Y34RZ3R0R3M1X3D ratings distribution

(20 ratings)
Essential: a masterpiece of progressive rock music(15%)
Excellent addition to any prog rock music collection(0%)
Good, but non-essential (40%)
Collectors/fans only (35%)
Poor. Only for completionists (10%)


Showing all collaborators reviews and last reviews preview | Show all reviews/ratings

Collaborators/Experts Reviews

Review by TCat
SPECIAL COLLABORATOR Honorary Collaborator / Retired Admin
2 stars This album is all remixes of songs from the "Year Zero" album. This was basically one of those contractual obligation albums that Trent put together and was the last one released on Interscope Records. After this release, Trent was free from any recording contracts and could record whatever he wanted.

There were two versions of this album: the one with the track listing above and the vinyl version which consisted of 5 recorded sides and one blank side. The vinyl version had a different track list with some tracks not included on the other version and a few tracks are left off. Overall, the vinyl version ended up with 17 total tracks. The vinyl version is the one that I listened to for this review.

So, that might give you an idea of what you will get with this album. It is, for the most part, quite difficult to sit through. Most of the remixes are quite repetitive and boring, nothing like a good part of the remixes that were released by NIN in the past. It seems to me that a lot of these tracks were rushed or maybe accepted just to fill up time. Some tracks extend over 10 minutes which is way too long for the type of repetitive remixes they are. They start out promising but end up overstaying their welcome in each case.

There are some great highlights here though, but I doubt they are worth the price or time invested. "The Great Destroyer" remixed by Modwheelmood is the best track on here and even entices me to check out some of their other recordings. "Another Version of the Truth" is also quite amazing and is performed and reimagined by the Kronos Quartet. This is a beautiful performance done by strings and I would have rather heard an entire album of this Quartet doing NIN songs. It is very modern-classical sounding and very impressive.

Other than those highlights, there are a few other okay recordings, but way too many that just continue on and on for way too long. If the two versions of "Vessel" were shorter, they would have been interesting, but as they are they continue on to the extent of redundancy and become annoying. "Me, I'm Not" works the same way, starting out sounding quite interesting, but wearing out at around the 5 minute mark and by the 14th minute, your mind has already dismissed it as background noise.

I enjoy listening to NIN's remixes and especially enjoy "Closer" which is an album full of mostly remixes of that song with a few other remixes interspersed within it's close-to-an-hour length. It's funny how that album doesn't get boring even if most of the songs are remixes of the same song. They are more than remixes and the album as a whole works a lot like a concept album which is a great supplement (or sequel is you will) of "The Downward Spiral". This "Year Zero Remixes" album though is a far cry from that "Closer" album and doesn't even come close to that one. Except for the few highlights and a couple of okay tracks, this one is too disjointed or just plain uninteresting. Only completionists will want this for the long-term, but since the production and sound is good, I can't rate it as poor. So I think we can squeeze 2 stars out of it, but try to see if you can get the few highlights from the album and disregard the rest as an album that simply fulfilled the record company contract.

Latest members reviews

No review or rating for the moment | Submit a review

Post a review of NINE INCH NAILS "Y34RZ3R0R3M1X3D"

You must be a forum member to post a review, please register here if you are not.


As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

Copyright Prog Archives, All rights reserved. | Legal Notice | Privacy Policy | Advertise | RSS + syndications

Other sites in the MAC network: — jazz music reviews and archives | — metal music reviews and archives

Donate monthly and keep PA fast-loading and ad-free forever.