Progarchives, the progressive rock ultimate discography


Barclay James Harvest

Crossover Prog

From, the ultimate progressive rock music website

Barclay James  Harvest Four Barclay James Harvest Originals album cover
3.63 | 8 ratings | 2 reviews | 38% 5 stars

Write a review

from partners
Boxset/Compilation, released in 1996

Songs / Tracks Listing

Disc 1: Barclay James Harvest
1. Taking Some Time On
2. Mother Dear
3. The Sun Will Never Shine
4. When The World Was Woken
5. Good Love Child
6. The Iron Maiden
7. Dark Now My Sky

Disc 2: Once Again
8. She Said
9. Happy Old World
10. Song For Dying
11. Galadriel
12. Mocking Bird
13. Vanessa Simmons
14. Ball And Chain
15. Lady Loves

Disc 3: BJH ... And Other Short Stories
16. Medicine Man
17. Someone There You Know
18. Harry's Song
19. Ursula
20. Little Lapwing
21. Song With No Meaning
22. Blue John's Blues
23. The Poet
24. After The Day

Disc 4: Baby James Harvest
25. Crazy (Over You)
26. Delph Town Morn
27. Summer Soldier
28. Thank You
29. One Hundred Thousand Smiles Out
30. Moonwater

Line-up / Musicians

- Les Holroyd / vocals, bass, guitars
- John Lees / vocals, guitars
- Mel Pritchard / drums, percussion
- Stuart Wolstenholm / keyboards, Mellotron, vocals
- The Barclay James Harvest Symphony Orchestra

Releases information

4CD EMI Barclay 1

Thanks to ProgLucky for the addition
and to anoah for the last updates
Edit this entry

Buy BARCLAY JAMES HARVEST Four Barclay James Harvest Originals Music

BARCLAY JAMES HARVEST Four Barclay James Harvest Originals ratings distribution

(8 ratings)
Essential: a masterpiece of progressive rock music(38%)
Excellent addition to any prog rock music collection(50%)
Good, but non-essential (12%)
Collectors/fans only (0%)
Poor. Only for completionists (0%)

BARCLAY JAMES HARVEST Four Barclay James Harvest Originals reviews

Showing all collaborators reviews and last reviews preview | Show all reviews/ratings

Collaborators/Experts Reviews

Review by Easy Livin
SPECIAL COLLABORATOR Honorary Collaborator / Retired Admin
4 stars Four by four

BJH's first four albums, recorded for the Harvest label, have been repackaged a number of times. For this offering, all four have been bundled together at a budget price. The excellence of the music is undeniable, many of the bands finest tracks were recorded during this period.

There's little point in reviewing the individual albums here as they are identical to the original releases. You can check out the reviews for "Barclay James Harvest", Once again", "BJH And other short stories" and "Baby James Harvest" on their individual pages. Given that these four albums have recently been remastered and released with plenty of interesting bonus tracks, I would recommend those before this collection. If however you have the opportunity to introduce yourself to BJH through this set, it's well worth the effort.

Review by Joolz
SPECIAL COLLABORATOR Honorary Collaborator
3 stars By 1996, EMI must have grown tired of devising new combinations of BJH material recorded for the Harvest label back in the early 1970s. Only four albums were recorded and they had been plundered in just about every way possible. The ultimate 'Best Of' would be to throw the whole lot together in a single box. That's what you get here - a box containing all four original albums on separate CDs in mini facsimiles of the original covers at a bargain price. This was an excellent way of obtaining them, and for anyone interested in BJH's earliest albums was an essential buy, bearing in mind the original albums had never been on general release in the CD format at that time. Since those albums have now been re-issued as re-mastered CDs with extensive bonus material, this collection has receded in importance and desirability. Nice packaging though, and the music is mostly wonderful!

Latest members reviews

No review or rating for the moment | Submit a review

Post a review of BARCLAY JAMES HARVEST "Four Barclay James Harvest Originals"

You must be a forum member to post a review, please register here if you are not.


As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

Copyright Prog Archives, All rights reserved. | Legal Notice | Privacy Policy | Advertise | RSS + syndications

Other sites in the MAC network: — jazz music reviews and archives | — metal music reviews and archives

Donate monthly and keep PA fast-loading and ad-free forever.