Progarchives, the progressive rock ultimate discography


Barclay James Harvest

Crossover Prog

From, the ultimate progressive rock music website

Barclay James  Harvest BJH Through The Eyes Of John Lees: Brave New World album cover
3.34 | 7 ratings | 3 reviews | 29% 5 stars

Write a review

from partners
Boxset/Compilation, released in 2002

Songs / Tracks Listing

CD 1: Nexus (59:37)
1. Festival! (5:38)
2. The Iron Maiden (2:52)
3. Brave New World (6:09)
4. Hors D'Oeuvre (0:55)
5. Mocking Bird (7:21)
6. Sitting Upon A Shelf (4:30)
7. Hymn (4:46)
8. The Devils That I Keep (5:03)
9. Titles (5:26)
10. Float (5:44)
11. Loving Is Easy (4:18)
12. Star Bright (6:49)

CD 2: Revival - Live 1999 (74:36)
1. A Devilish Intro (Live) (0:42)
2. She Said (Live) (8:33)
3. Festival! (Live) (4:32)
4. For No One (Live) (5:35)
5. The Iron Maiden (Live) (3:21)
6. Hors D'Oeuvre (Live) (0:54)
7. Mocking Bird (7:36)
8. Harbour (Live) (2:15)
9. River Of Dreams (Live) (3:43)
10. Poor Man's Moody Blues (Live) (8:18)
11. New Song (Old Story) (Live) (5:00)
12. Brave New World (Live) (6:47)
13. Galadriel (Live) (3:22)
14. Loving Is Easy (Live) (6:47)
15. Star Bright (Live) (7:04)

Total Time: 134:13

This is a compilation of the albums 'Nexus' and 'Revival - Live 1999'

Line-up / Musicians

- John Lees / lead guitar, vocals, recorder
- Woolly Wolstenholme / keyboards, 6 and 12 string acoustic guitar, vocals
- Craig Fletcher / bass, backing vocals
- Kevin Whitehead / drums
- Jeff Leach / keyboards, backing vocals

Releases information

2CD Snapper SMDCD 388
2CD Promo Sound MDCD 1443/2 (2006)(re-titled 'Original Songs')

Thanks to ProgLucky for the addition
and to Joolz for the last updates
Edit this entry

Buy BARCLAY JAMES HARVEST BJH Through The Eyes Of John Lees: Brave New World Music

BARCLAY JAMES HARVEST BJH Through The Eyes Of John Lees: Brave New World ratings distribution

(7 ratings)
Essential: a masterpiece of progressive rock music(29%)
Excellent addition to any prog rock music collection(29%)
Good, but non-essential (43%)
Collectors/fans only (0%)
Poor. Only for completionists (0%)

BARCLAY JAMES HARVEST BJH Through The Eyes Of John Lees: Brave New World reviews

Showing all collaborators reviews and last reviews preview | Show all reviews/ratings

Collaborators/Experts Reviews

Review by Easy Livin
SPECIAL COLLABORATOR Honorary Collaborator / Retired Admin
3 stars Old songs, new songs?., and new old songs

This is a straight combination of two releases by Barclay James Harvest Through The Eyes of John Lees into a budget label double album release.

The two albums concerned are the first studio album by this version of the band ("Nexus"), and their subsequent live album "Revival". Since the tour was naturally intended to promote the new studio album, this means that quite a few of the songs appear on this release twice. Ironically, since "Nexus" included some reworkings of old songs, this in turn means that tracks such as "Mocking bird" "The Iron maiden" and "Loving is easy" are among the duplicates.

The music is of course pleasant and is performed competently, but since there are no differences whatsoever between the two albums used to form this compilation and what actually appears here, I will simply point you towards reviews of those two albums for further information on the contents.

In terms of value for money, this is a worthwhile collection, retailing in the UK for about half the price of a standard CD.

Latest members reviews

3 stars Isn't bad but not good. Stop! This is my unconsistent impressions. Because this double CD is inconsistent. The new songs... Aren't good and the old song are strip of the magic. Ok? For me is a moderate good album because is a CD for who not know the BJH. Vice versa because spent money for this d ... (read more)

Report this review (#133049) | Posted by Ely78 | Tuesday, August 14, 2007 | Review Permanlink

4 stars This is a double-disc featuring the whole "Nexus"- Album plus "Revival" from Barclay James Harvest "through the eyes of John Lees"... and this means John Lees and Woolly Wolstenholme performing together after the 1979's split, which - especially live - is a pleasure to hear... stunning version ... (read more)

Report this review (#63904) | Posted by rupert | Monday, January 9, 2006 | Review Permanlink

Post a review of BARCLAY JAMES HARVEST "BJH Through The Eyes Of John Lees: Brave New World"

You must be a forum member to post a review, please register here if you are not.


As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

Copyright Prog Archives, All rights reserved. | Legal Notice | Privacy Policy | Advertise | RSS + syndications

Other sites in the MAC network: — jazz music reviews and archives | — metal music reviews and archives

Donate monthly and keep PA fast-loading and ad-free forever.