Progarchives, the progressive rock ultimate discography


North Sea Radio Orchestra

Prog Folk

From, the ultimate progressive rock music website

North Sea Radio Orchestra North Sea Radio Orchestra album cover
4.03 | 11 ratings | 2 reviews | 18% 5 stars

Write a review
from partners
Studio Album, released in 2006

Songs / Tracks Listing

1. Organ Miniature (0:52)
2. Every Day Hath Its Night (3:22)
3. Kingstanding (7:19)
4. Chimes (12:32)
5. Guitar Miniature (1:11)
6. Mimnermus in Church (6:04)
7. He Gives his Beloved Certain Rhymes (5:06)
8. Hole in the Sky (4:49)
9. Joy for my Heart (3:00)
10. Shelley's Skylark (10:13)
11. He Wishes for the Cloths of Heaven (2:43)
12. Bill's March (0:49)

Total Time 57:55

Line-up / Musicians

- Craig Fortnam / acoustic guitar, bass, chamber organ, composer, arrangements (6,12)
- Ben Davies / piano, chorus vocals
- James Larcombe / piano, chamber organ
- Brian Wright / violin
- Jen Underhill / violin
- Harry Escott / cello
- Nicola Baigent / clarinet, bass clarinet
- Luke Crooks / bassoon
- Geraldine Peach / oboe, chorus vocals
- Hugh Wilkinson / percussion
- Sharron Fortnam / soprano lead & chorus vocals
- Richard Larcombe / harmony & chorus vocals
- Dug Parker / harmony & chorus vocals
- William D. Drake / chorus vocals
- Louise Harrison / chorus vocals
- Suzy Kirby / chorus vocals
- Gideon Miller / chorus vocals
- Kavus Torabi / chorus vocals
- Melanie Woods / chorus vocals

- Rob Deschamps / percussion (2,12)

Releases information

Artwork: Herstrangehand

CD Oof! Records ‎- OOF006 (2006, UK)

Thanks to the hemulen for the addition
and to Quinino for the last updates
Edit this entry

Buy NORTH SEA RADIO ORCHESTRA North Sea Radio Orchestra Music

North Sea Radio OrchestraNorth Sea Radio Orchestra
CD 2006
$8.30 (used)

More places to buy NORTH SEA RADIO ORCHESTRA music online Buy NORTH SEA RADIO ORCHESTRA & Prog Rock Digital Music online:

NORTH SEA RADIO ORCHESTRA North Sea Radio Orchestra ratings distribution

(11 ratings)
Essential: a masterpiece of progressive rock music(18%)
Excellent addition to any prog rock music collection(73%)
Good, but non-essential (9%)
Collectors/fans only (0%)
Poor. Only for completionists (0%)

NORTH SEA RADIO ORCHESTRA North Sea Radio Orchestra reviews

Showing all collaborators reviews and last reviews preview | Show all reviews/ratings

Collaborators/Experts Reviews

Review by Warthur
4 stars An intricate chamber folk affair from this aquatic unit. Though part of the extended musical family around the Cardiacs, the musical style is rather different (despite the name there's no hint of "The Seaside", for instance), the emphasis is instead on producing beautiful progressive folk music with lyrics taken from classic poetry. With the "chamber" in question truly packed with performers, and a particular knack for working in interesting vocal performances, it's a very atmospheric album with a unique atmosphere of its own. Nowhere near as stale or stuffy as traditional folk, whilst not out to be weird for the sake of weird, the North Sea Radio Orchestra is simply an expression of the personality of its creators and a truly unique aesthetic offering.

Latest members reviews

4 stars This album is a beauty! The music here is located between folk and chamber music with some textures evoking Mike Oldfield and some even Steve Reich (although different from Reich most songs are short and the band never takes too long to leave any particular place), and a dip of the Penguin Cafe O ... (read more)

Report this review (#1476088) | Posted by Lewian | Wednesday, October 14, 2015 | Review Permanlink

Post a review of NORTH SEA RADIO ORCHESTRA "North Sea Radio Orchestra"

You must be a forum member to post a review, please register here if you are not.


As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

Copyright Prog Archives, All rights reserved. | Legal Notice | Privacy Policy | Advertise | RSS + syndications

Other sites in the MAC network: — jazz music reviews and archives | — metal music reviews and archives