Progarchives, the progressive rock ultimate discography


Brand X

Jazz Rock/Fusion

From, the ultimate progressive rock music website

Brand X Trilogy album cover
4.00 | 10 ratings | 2 reviews | 33% 5 stars

Write a review
Buy BRAND X Music
from partners
Boxset/Compilation, released in 2003

Songs / Tracks Listing

CD 1 - "Manifest Destiny":
1. True to the Clik (5:22)
2. Stellerator (6:14)
3. Virus (7:53)
4. XXL (5:51)
5. The Worst Man (4:32)
6. Manifest Destiny (4:10)
7. Five Drops (3:51)
8. Drum Ddu (5:47)
9. Operation Hearts and Minds (4:39)
10. Mr. Bubbles Goes to Hollywood (2:27)

CD 2 - "Xcommunication":
1. Xanax Taxi (5:57)
2. Liquid Time (4:39)
3. Kluzinski Period (7:00)
4. Healing Dream (3:51)
5. Mental Floss (3:17)
6. Strangeness (3:23)
7. A Duck Exploding (6:47)
8. Message To You (0:25)
9. Church of Hype (5:54)
10. Kluzinski Reprise (4:25)

CD 3 - "Live 1979":
1. Algon
2. Phill Collins commentary
3. Dance of the Illegal Aliens
4. Robin Lumley commentary
5. Robin Lumley commentary
6. Don't Make Waves
7. Phil Collins commentary
8. Malaga Virgen
9. Phil Collins commentary
10. And So to F

Line-up / Musicians

Personnel on CD1 "Manifest Destiny":
- John Goodsall / guitar
- Percy Jones / bass
- Frank Katz / drums
- Franz Pusch / keyboards
- Marc Wagnon / midi vibes

Personnel on CD2 "Xcommunication":
- John Goodsall / guitar
- Percy Jones / bass
- Frank Katz / drums

Personnel on CD3: "Live 1979"
- John Goodsall / guitar
- Percy Jones / bass
- Phil Collins / drums
- Robin Lumley / keyboards
- Peter Robinson / keyboards

Releases information

Buckyball Records 2003

Thanks to ProgLucky for the addition
and to useful_idiot for the last updates
Edit this entry

Buy BRAND X Trilogy Music

More places to buy BRAND X music online Buy BRAND X & Prog Rock Digital Music online:

BRAND X Trilogy ratings distribution

(10 ratings)
Essential: a masterpiece of progressive rock music(33%)
Excellent addition to any prog rock music collection(33%)
Good, but non-essential (33%)
Collectors/fans only (0%)
Poor. Only for completionists (0%)

BRAND X Trilogy reviews

Showing all collaborators reviews and last reviews preview | Show all reviews/ratings

Collaborators/Experts Reviews

Review by Greger
5 stars Buckyball's latest and greatest release up to date has to be BRAND X "Trilogy". It's a 3-CD release that consists of Brand X's two 1990's studio albums "Manifest Destiny" and "X communication" together with a previously unreleased live recording, recorded live in New York City, September 27, 1979. BRAND X was formed in 1975 and they're one of the big names within the genre that ranges between jazz-rock and progressive rock. Their music can be compared with bands such as MAHAVISHNU ORCHESTRA, RETURN TO FOREVER and WEATHER REPORT. The line-up has changed through the years and they have explored various sub-genres. "Manifest Destiny" and "X communication" is without doubt some of the best albums that have ever been released within this genre with marvelous musicianship and great compositions. But the real goodie here are of course the live CD with songs mainly from their splendid LP "Product" from 1979. This 3 CD set, and especially the live CD will haunt my CD-player for a long time onward. Be sure to invest some well-spent money on this magnificent release. Highly recommended!

Review by loserboy
3 stars I have always been a fan of BRAND X with their jazz prog tendencies and thanks to the fine folks at Buckyball they have released an archived live recording from 1979. The line up includes the classic BRAND X personas of Phil COLLINS (drums, voice), John Goodsall (guitars) and Percy Jones (fretless bass) with Robin Lumely (keyboards) and Peter Robinson (piano). The recording is from the last of four shows they performed in NYC , Sept 1979. The between song commentary has been included as well which makes this CD run like a real live concert. Musically these guys were definitely on that evening (as they were most) and we are treated to some incredible bass, guitar and drum interplay. Most of the songs performed live is from their "Product" album and IMHO is one of BRAND X's best albums. It is truly great to hear these songs live as they get a new light shed on them. Goodsall and company toss in an extended version of "Malaga Virgen" (Morrocan Roll) which will blow you away. This CD is available in an essential 3 CD package from Buckyball Music which also contains the albums "X-Communication" and "Manifest Destiny".

Latest members reviews

No review or rating for the moment | Submit a review

Post a review of BRAND X "Trilogy"

You must be a forum member to post a review, please register here if you are not.


As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

Copyright Prog Archives, All rights reserved. | Legal Notice | Privacy Policy | Advertise | RSS + syndications

Other sites in the MAC network: — jazz music reviews and archives | — metal music reviews and archives