Progarchives, the progressive rock ultimate discography


Dave Kerzner

Crossover Prog

From, the ultimate progressive rock music website

Dave Kerzner New World album cover
3.95 | 117 ratings | 3 reviews | 28% 5 stars

Excellent addition to any
prog rock music collection

Write a review
from partners
Studio Album, released in 2014

Songs / Tracks Listing

1. Stranded (Pts. 1-5) (10:32) :
- Part 1: Isolation
- Part 2: Delirium
- Part 3: March of the Machines
- Part 4: Source Sublime
- Part 5: The Darkness
2. Into the Sun (7:21)
3. The Lie (5:04)
4. Under Control (5:54)
5. Crossing of Fates (4:49)
6. My Old Friend (5:27)
7. Ocean of Stars (5:36)
8. Solitude (3:39)
9. Nothing (6:17)
10. New World (5:57)
11. Redemption: Stranded (Pts. 6-10) (17:25) :
- Part 6: The Oasis
- Part 7: Resilience II
- Part 8: High on the Dunes
- Part 9: Mirage of the Machines
- Part 10: To the Light

Total Time 78:01

Line-up / Musicians

- Dave Kerzner / vocals, keyboards, electric & acoustic (6,9) guitars, drum programming (4,8), bass (4), sound designer & producer

- Fernando Perdomo / guitar (1-3,5-11), bass (1-3,6-11)
- Steve Hackett / guitar (1,11)
- Francis Dunnery / guitar (11)
- Russ Parish / guitar (6)
- Keith Emerson / Moog Modular Synth (5)
- Colin Edwin / fretless bass (2)
- Billy Sherwood / bass (5)
- Nick D'Virgilio / drums (1-3,6-7,9-11)
- Simon Phillips / drums (5)
- Durga McBroom / vocals (1,7,11)
- Heather Findlay / vocals (2)
- Maryem Tollar / vocals (6)
- Lorelei McBroom / vocals (7,8)
- David Longdon / vocals (10)
- Christine Leakey / operatic vocals (7)
- Emily Lynn / narrator voice (8), vocals (11)
- Lara Smiles / whispering voice (8)
- Ana Cristina / backing vocals (1)
- Jason Scheff / backing vocals (1,11)

The astronaut voices and audio transmissions on Into The Sun and Stranded are from NASA

Releases information

Artwork: Christine Leakey

CD RecPlay Inc. ‎- RCPL CD 01 (2014, US)
2xCD RecPlay Inc. ‎- RCPL CD-02 (2015, US) Deluxe edition expanded with additional atmospheric segues, instrumentals and new vocal songs

In 2016 was released an extra CD with instrumental mixes of some songs, excluding tracks 5,8,& 11

Thanks to mbzr48 for the addition
and to projeKct for the last updates
Edit this entry

Buy DAVE KERZNER New World Music

More places to buy DAVE KERZNER music online Buy DAVE KERZNER & Prog Rock Digital Music online:

DAVE KERZNER New World ratings distribution

(117 ratings)
Essential: a masterpiece of progressive rock music(28%)
Excellent addition to any prog rock music collection(41%)
Good, but non-essential (28%)
Collectors/fans only (3%)
Poor. Only for completionists (1%)

DAVE KERZNER New World reviews

Showing all collaborators reviews and last reviews preview | Show all reviews/ratings

Collaborators/Experts Reviews

Review by rdtprog
SPECIAL COLLABORATOR Heavy / RPI / Symphonic Prog Team
4 stars From the first song "Stranted", we could easily ask our self if we are listening to David Gilmour, but then in the middle, here's the real Steve Hackett with a beautiful guitar solo taken from "Voyage of Acolyte". "Into the Sun" continue with more Floydish moody sound, then it gets heavier and faster, a simple song. In the song "The Lie", you can hear Yogi Lang of RPWL, but am I wrong, he is not really there as guest vocalist! The song "Under Control" brings some darker mood with a meaner voice from the perfect imitator Dave Kerzner. Nice atmosphere and chorus, it's easy too sing along. The song "Crossing of Fates" bring something new with the keyboards sound that take the Eloy's spacey sound and it's instrumental. The vocals are back with "My old friend", there is some acoustic guitar and some exotic chant in the background. In the song "Ocean of Stars", you won't resist to the irresistible melody. "Solitude" show the piano and the choir like it was almost a copy of Pink Floyd "Dark Side of the Moon". The song "Nothing" starts like a ELO's song, catchy song again with a Steve Howe guitar solo that take us back to "Relayer". The song "New World" is a throwback to the 70's and 80's, it's not progressive but very melodic and well done. And if it wasn't enough, the end of the album is a 17 minutes epic with Steve Hackett back with more RPWL influence, some cinematic passages and a display of many guests vocalists ending this beautiful tribute album to the progressive rock of the past. The only fault of this album is that it the music has been inspired by the great prog bands of the past. It's almost like as a profane you came across a painting and couldn't tell if it's a copy or the real thing, but you like it anyway.
Review by Tony R
SPECIAL COLLABORATOR Honorary Collaborator / Retired Admin
4 stars Any Colour You Like (as long as it is Pink)

Tremendously entertaining Prog album from Kerzner, a sort of Alan Parsons for the new millenium. It is impossible to get away from the Pink Floyd influences painted with broad brush strokes across every inch of the album so if that is going to irritate you then steer clear. There is very little originality in terms of the music but sonically Kerzner is a wizard at finding interesting ways to elevate the (relatively) mundane into a neat set piece or tour de force. There's also a who's who of Prog luminaries involved including the ubiquitous Steve Hackett and Francis Dunnery plus cameos by Keith Emerson and Colin Edwin. It's an unabashed slice of Prog popcorn and should appeal to anyone who can get over the fact that it wallows joyfully in its influences.

Normally I would give 3 stars to this kind of thing but it's done so well and sounds so good that it gets the 4 star salute here.

Latest members reviews

4 stars This must be one of my top ten prog albums of all time. I had never heard of Dave Kerzner before and I read about him in the Big Big Train community on Facebook. From the first cord it strikes me that I have heard this before. Pink Floyd, Alan Parsons, Genesis, RPWL. Steve Hackett is actually pl ... (read more)

Report this review (#1472281) | Posted by tjlefors | Sunday, October 4, 2015 | Review Permanlink

Post a review of DAVE KERZNER "New World"

You must be a forum member to post a review, please register here if you are not.


As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

Copyright Prog Archives, All rights reserved. | Legal Notice | Privacy Policy | Advertise | RSS + syndications

Other sites in the MAC network: — jazz music reviews and archives | — metal music reviews and archives