Progarchives, the progressive rock ultimate discography


Sanguine Hum


From, the ultimate progressive rock music website

Sanguine Hum What We Ask Is Where We Begin, The Songs For Days Sessions album cover
3.81 | 33 ratings | 1 reviews | 15% 5 stars

Excellent addition to any
prog rock music collection

Write a review

from partners
Boxset/Compilation, released in 2016

Songs / Tracks Listing

1. Bookend (0:48)
2. Revisited Song (4:00)
3. Before We Bow Down (4:43)
4. Cast Adrift (3:17)
5. Juniper (5:47)
6. Interlude One (1:41)
7. Little Machines (4:11)
8. Milo (5:17)
9. It Grows In Me Garden (2:44)
10. Interlude Two (1:15)
11. Someone Else's Words (3:52)
12. Hedonic Treadmill (4:05)
13. Ace Train (7:42)
14. Revisited Song Revisited (2:38)
15. Morning Sun (13:04)

Total Time 65:04

1. New Streets (2015 Mix) (4:17)
2. Share My Blues (2015 Mix) (4:12)
3. Nothing Left To Prove (2015 Mix) (4:53)
4. Applie Pie (2:41)
5. Cartoon Friends (3:56)
6. Bastard Stretch (3:50)
7. Double (5:18)
8. Dressed Up In Rags (4:48)
9. Quartet (3:29)
10. To Them Only (4:35)
11. Here At The Western World (3:50)
12. Perc Tune (There's No Hum) (4:41)
13. Melted Cheese (3:00)
14. Revisited Song Revisited (Again) (2:53)
15. Morning Sun (Basic Take) (4:44)
16. Bookends (Solo Piano Version) (4:34)

Total Time 65:41
Grand Total 2:10:45

Line-up / Musicians

- Matt Baber / Keyboards
- Joff Winks / Guitar and Vocals
- Brad Waissman / Bass
- Andrew Booker / Drums

Releases information

Recordings made by the proto Sanguine Hum, who were then going under the name of Joff Winks Band

January 29, 2016
Format: 2CD, Digital
Label: Esoteric Recordings

Thanks to mbzr48 for the addition
Edit this entry

Buy SANGUINE HUM What We Ask Is Where We Begin, The Songs For Days Sessions Music

SANGUINE HUM What We Ask Is Where We Begin, The Songs For Days Sessions ratings distribution

(33 ratings)
Essential: a masterpiece of progressive rock music(15%)
Excellent addition to any prog rock music collection(58%)
Good, but non-essential (18%)
Collectors/fans only (0%)
Poor. Only for completionists (9%)

SANGUINE HUM What We Ask Is Where We Begin, The Songs For Days Sessions reviews

Showing all collaborators reviews and last reviews preview | Show all reviews/ratings

Collaborators/Experts Reviews

Review by Matti
4 stars -- First review -- These British musicians seem to have had a bit restless and unsettled mind, when it comes to band names. First they recorded three EP's of very Canterbyry-ish music as ANTIQUE SEEKING NUNS, then as Joff Winks Band they released an online album titled Songs for Days in 2007, before they became SANGUINE HUM.

This is a 2-cd set featuring the original master of the mentioned album (previously unreleased on a physical format) on cd 1, plus remixed singles, unreleased pieces and session outtakes on cd 2. The booklet contains a lot of background and even a track- by-track commentary. So, anyone with an interest for either ASN or Sanguine Hum, or for both as he/she really should have, will find this set most useful and delightful, especially if the Joff Winks Band album isn't yet familiar.

According to the name-changing band, these recordings from 2002---2007 represent the period "where we were learning how to balance songwriting with our more wilfully 'progressive' tendencies". To sum up their stylistic evolution I'll cite the foreword of Ian Fairholm: "Whilst the Nuns had more comedic elements and a stronger Zappa influence, Songs for Days was less weird, a bit more commercially accessible, and with an even stronger melodic sensibility and more life affirming songs."

My first acquaintance to the music of Joff Winks (guitars, vocals) and Matt Baber (keyboards) was the SH album Now We Have Light (2015), which didn't make a strong impression on me. Rather boring neo-prog with an idiotic scifi concept, I thought (and upon returning to that album I found I was originally too blind to the music's nuances). Last winter I found Antique Seeking Nuns and was more impressed. Listening to this set it's easy to agree with Fairholm that there indeed are more similarities than differences between ASN and SH. And with all the supplementary texts one can deepen the listening experience further.

I'm not taking a detailed approach here, as fruitful it might be, instead I'll just give my overall impression on the music without dealing various sections separately. It has a good deal of the Canterburian carefree charm of ASN and the finely produced, neo-ish modern prog attitude of Sanguine Hum's later works. There are both tight songs with a pop sensibility and nice instrumentals. As a compilation of this and that, ie. of previously unreleased material and outtakes, this 131- minute set feels quite coherent and has a good sound quality all the way. A must for fans, and a fairly fine addition to a more casual listener too. The excellent Italian band HOMUNCULUS RES sounds a bit like this, up to the vocals.

Latest members reviews

No review or rating for the moment | Submit a review

Post a review of SANGUINE HUM "What We Ask Is Where We Begin, The Songs For Days Sessions"

You must be a forum member to post a review, please register here if you are not.


As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

Copyright Prog Archives, All rights reserved. | Legal Notice | Privacy Policy | Advertise | RSS + syndications

Other sites in the MAC network: — jazz music reviews and archives | — metal music reviews and archives

Donate monthly and keep PA fast-loading and ad-free forever.