Progarchives, the progressive rock ultimate discography


Eddie Jobson

Progressive Electronic

From, the ultimate progressive rock music website

Eddie Jobson Four Decades Special Concert album cover
3.21 | 5 ratings | 1 reviews | 25% 5 stars

Write a review
from partners
Live, released in 2016

Songs / Tracks Listing

CD One:
1. Intro - Armin (5:00)
2. It Happened Today (5:02)
3. U.H.F. (5:53)
4. Elfin Boy (4:36)
5. Metamorphosis (11:36)
6. Out of the Blue (4:24)
7. Lšther (3:18)
8. Presto Vivace (0:42)
9. In the Dead of Night (5:33)
10. By the Light of Day (4:43)
11. Presto Vivace and Reprise (2:47)
12. Rendezvous 6:02 (5:26)
13. Carrying No Cross (12:30)

Disc Two:
1. Alaska (5:03)
2. Resident (4:33)
3. Who My Friends... (6:45)
4. Prelude (3:01)
5. Nostalgia (2:32)
6. Spheres of Influence (2:25)
7. Inner Secrets (2:57)
8. Radiation (7:47)
9. Houston (4:32)
10. Tu-95 (4:12)
11. Through the Glass (3:37)
12. Young Mother (5:57)
13. Caesar's Palace Blues (5:01)
14. Forever Until Sunday (7:02)

Total Time 136:54

Line-up / Musicians

- Eddie Jobson / keyboards, electric violin and vocals
- Alex Machacak / guitar
- Ric Fierbracci / bass
- Marco Minnemann / drums and acoustic guitar

with special guests:

- Sonja Kristina / vocals and acoustic guitar
- John Wetton / vocals and bass
- Aaron Lippert / vocals

Releases information

recorded at Club Citta', Kawasaki, Kanagawa, Japan - November 9, 2013

Thanks to Neu!mann for the addition
Edit this entry

Buy EDDIE JOBSON Four Decades Special Concert Music

More places to buy EDDIE JOBSON music online Buy EDDIE JOBSON & Prog Rock Digital Music online:

EDDIE JOBSON Four Decades Special Concert ratings distribution

(5 ratings)
Essential: a masterpiece of progressive rock music(25%)
Excellent addition to any prog rock music collection(25%)
Good, but non-essential (50%)
Collectors/fans only (0%)
Poor. Only for completionists (0%)

EDDIE JOBSON Four Decades Special Concert reviews

Showing all collaborators reviews and last reviews preview | Show all reviews/ratings

Collaborators/Experts Reviews

Review by Neu!mann
3 stars Ignore the pallid three-star rating for a moment, and consider instead the unfulfilled potential in the career of Eddie Jobson. In a better organized universe his reputation would stand tall beside Keith Emerson, Rick Wakeman, and any other keyboard god in the Prog Rock pantheon...none of whom, by the way, could boast an equivalent dexterity on a second instrument, in this case the electric violin.

Jobson was a prodigy who tasted success at an absurdly young age, joining Curved Air while still a teenager, and co-founding UK before his 23rd birthday. But despite his extraordinary talents and striking visual cachet (remember the transparent violin?) he never quite blossomed into a genuine celebrity, in part because his best years were spent supporting other bands with more assertive figureheads: Bryan Ferry, Frank Zappa, Ian Anderson et al (UK might have been his ticket to fame, if the group hadn't arrived so late or imploded so fast).

What was left? A solo career that never gained any traction, followed by the dead-end paycheck of TV and film scores, and sporadic live appearances leading toward this belated return to the limelight in Japan, on November 9, 2013. It was billed as a Special Concert, and in retrospect was exactly that: a forty-year career retrospective gathering 27 songs, presented here on two lavishly annotated compact discs (the deluxe package adds a concert Blu-Ray disc, plus a book and t-shirt).

All the music was carefully chosen and played in chronological order, with Disc One devoted to Jobson's primetime '70s collaborations, from Curved Air through Roxy Music and Zappa to UK. The second disc concentrates on later material, less familiar to casual fans but more thrilling in context, and brought to vivid life by a very tight backing band. Further endorsement, and the icing on an already appetizing cake, was provided by guest appearances from Sonja Kristina and John Wetton, both in fine voice after four decades.

The concept, arrangements, set-list, and performances all add up to a coulda-shoulda-woulda-been, once-in-a-blue-moon classic. But the recording itself is terrible, rendering a five-star event with frustrating two-star fidelity (at least on CD; maybe the video disc is an improvement). Have you ever heard music while swimming underwater? That's more or less the effect here: a flat mix, curiously muffled and totally lacking any concert's almost as if some of the microphones went dead on stage without anyone noticing.

For lack of a better scapegoat, let's blame the constraints of a tight budget from a strictly provincial label (Ward Records), which likewise didn't have the resources to market the results outside Japan (I was astonished to discover the CD at my local library in backwoods western New York). With an uncompromised production this would have been an essential experience: a thrilling late-career victory lap by an unsung superstar who never received the acclaim he deserved.

Latest members reviews

No review or rating for the moment | Submit a review

Post a review of EDDIE JOBSON "Four Decades Special Concert"

You must be a forum member to post a review, please register here if you are not.


As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

Copyright Prog Archives, All rights reserved. | Legal Notice | Privacy Policy | Advertise | RSS + syndications

Other sites in the MAC network: — jazz music reviews and archives | — metal music reviews and archives