Progarchives, the progressive rock ultimate discography


La Dottrina Degli Opposti

Rock Progressivo Italiano

From, the ultimate progressive rock music website

La Dottrina Degli Opposti Arrivederci Sogni album cover
3.95 | 62 ratings | 1 reviews | 31% 5 stars

Excellent addition to any
prog rock music collection

Write a review
from partners
Studio Album, released in 2018

Songs / Tracks Listing

1. Dove Dio Dipinge Le Nuvole (3:28)
2. Nero,Grigio E Tu (9:10)
3. Equilibrio (2:31)
4. Sulla Via Del Ritorno (5:42)
5. La Riconquista Della Posizione Eretta (5:22)
6. Quiete (2:36)
7. Fra Le Dita (11:09)

Total Time: 39:58

Line-up / Musicians

- Andrea Lotti (La Coscienza di Zeno) / piano, keyboards, guitar, mandolin, accordion
- Gabriele Guidi Colombi (La Coscienza di Zeno) / bass
- Francesco Ciapica (Il Tempio delle Clessidre) / vocals
- Paolo Tixi (Il Tempio delle Clessidre) / drums

- Marianna Brondello / violin
- Yulia Verbistkaya / violin
- Caterina Alifredi / violin
- Manuela Morreale / viola
- Chiara do Benedetto / cello
- Giorgio Boffa / double bass
- Nadia Khreiwesh / flute
- Luisella Cravero / clarinet
- Luca Tarantino / oboe
- Michele Danzi / bassoon
- Marco di Giuseppe / contra alto saxophone
- Giuseppe Notabella / trumpet
- Michele Verra / trumpet
- Lorenzo Reina / trombone
- Filippo Ruā / tuba
- Andrea Ternavasio / horn
- Valeria Delmastro / harp
- Luca Viotto / percussion

Releases information

CD Fading Records ‎- FAD026 (2018, Italy)

FLAC download -

Thanks to Aussie-Byrd-Brother for the addition
Edit this entry

Buy LA DOTTRINA DEGLI OPPOSTI Arrivederci Sogni Music

More places to buy LA DOTTRINA DEGLI OPPOSTI music online Buy LA DOTTRINA DEGLI OPPOSTI & Prog Rock Digital Music online:

LA DOTTRINA DEGLI OPPOSTI Arrivederci Sogni ratings distribution

(62 ratings)
Essential: a masterpiece of progressive rock music(31%)
Excellent addition to any prog rock music collection(44%)
Good, but non-essential (15%)
Collectors/fans only (7%)
Poor. Only for completionists (3%)

LA DOTTRINA DEGLI OPPOSTI Arrivederci Sogni reviews

Showing all collaborators reviews and last reviews preview | Show all reviews/ratings

Collaborators/Experts Reviews

Review by BrufordFreak
COLLABORATOR Honorary Collaborator
4 stars A lineup of all-stars from AltrOck/Fading Records with full orchestral support, start to finish, all conceived and orchestrated by LA COSCIENZA DI ZENO founder Andrea Lotti. The "mature" and "classic" voice of IL TEMPIO DELLE CLESSIDRE vocalist Francesco Ciapica gives this beautiful music an almost classical, operatic feel.

1. "Dove Dio Dipinge Le Nuvole" (3:28) a very pretty predominantly-orchestral instrumental piece that sets a mood for something like a drama/romance. (4.5/5)

2. "Nero, Grigio E Tu" (9:10) opens with a laid back spaciousness while drum, keys, and percussives slowly play out a theme. In the third minute things shift for a vocal section. It's very theatric, like the opening scene of a stage play. At 3:33 the music bursts forth for a nice chorus before settling back into the piano-based theme for the next verse-- which surprises by coming at us with some power and almost operatic feel. By the sixth minute a new theme is established with two male voices singing the lyrical lines together in different registers. The seventh minute sees the arrival of a proggy/theatric jazz instrumental weave. It's okay; it feels too contrived as if for a on-stage dance interlude. At the seven minute mark all stops for a brief, simple piano interlude before the chorus returns one more time. The outgoing final minute is begun with solo piano before Francesco Ciapica's voice is vaulted to the fore in a dynamic finish. (8.5/10)

3. "Equilibrio" (2:31) solo cello and full orchestra alternating themes in a gorgeous, swelling, overture-like Italian love song. (5/5)

4. "Sulla Via Del Ritorno" (5:42) full on Italian prog with rock ensemble, soloing Arp synth in the lead and orchestra in full support. The unfortunate thing about this song is that fails to hook the listener as well as to develop anything exciting or inviting. (Why did they retain this as an instrumental? It seems ripe for a vocal.) There are a few nice dynamic shifts but the accompanying melodic shifts fail to engage or attract. (7.5/10)

5. "La Riconquista Della Posizione Eretta" (5:22) a pleasant ballad for singer Francesco Ciapica that does more to follow expected formats and predictable choices. (8/10)

6. "Quiete" (2:36) a gorgeous piece of acoustic guitar, human breathing, piano, and synth. (5/5)

7. "Fra Le Dita" (11:09) opens like a Keith Emerson piece composed for the stage, piano and then orchestra. When Francesco's gorgeous vocal joins in in the third minute it's just perfect. At 3:25/3:35 the music takes a big step into BANCO DEL MUTUO SOCCORSO territory--piano riff, winds, percussives, and orchestration (instead of or with synths). The music gets drama-big at the five minute mark but then settles down for a slightly more amped up vocal section. At 6:20 there is another shift into a cool instrumental section. Still quite theatric but great melodies throughout. The following vocal section is meant to present the powerful crescendo but it doesn't quite pack the punch one would like to see/hear. Still, this song is easily the high point of the album. (9.25/10)

Unfortunately, the best songs on this very theatric album are the brief instrumental interludes, while three of the four longer songs manage to meander more than gel or coalesce. So much beauty but such unrealized potential!

Four stars; a near-masterpiece of progressive rock music.

Latest members reviews

No review or rating for the moment | Submit a review

Post a review of LA DOTTRINA DEGLI OPPOSTI "Arrivederci Sogni"

You must be a forum member to post a review, please register here if you are not.


As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

Copyright Prog Archives, All rights reserved. | Legal Notice | Privacy Policy | Advertise | RSS + syndications

Other sites in the MAC network: — jazz music reviews and archives | — metal music reviews and archives