Progarchives, the progressive rock ultimate discography


The Kentish Spires

Canterbury Scene

From, the ultimate progressive rock music website

The Kentish Spires The Last Harvest album cover
3.21 | 9 ratings | 1 reviews | 11% 5 stars

Write a review
from partners
Studio Album, released in 2018

Songs / Tracks Listing

1. Kingdom Of Kent (11:10)
2. Clarity Bonus Track Mixed By Rob Reed (3:58)
3. Sprit Of The Skies (4:22)
4. TTWIG (3:48)
5. Introception (7:17)
6. Clarity (3:58)
7. The Last Harvest (13:09)
8. Hengist Ridge (4:30)

Total Time 52:12

Line-up / Musicians

- Lucie V / lead vocals, violin
- Danny Chang / guitar, keyboards, percussion, backing vocals, production & mixing
- Rik Loveridge / keyboards (Mellotron, Hammond, ...), guitar (5)
- Paul Hornsby / alto, tenor & sopranino saxophones, bass clarinet, recorder, flute
- Phil Warren / bass

- Tim Robinson / drums
- Helen Williams / backing vocals (7)

Releases information

Artwork: Paul Hornsby (photo)

CD self-released (2018, UK)

FLAC download -

Thanks to historian9 for the addition
and to Quinino for the last updates
Edit this entry

Buy THE KENTISH SPIRES The Last Harvest Music

More places to buy THE KENTISH SPIRES music online Buy THE KENTISH SPIRES & Prog Rock Digital Music online:

THE KENTISH SPIRES The Last Harvest ratings distribution

(9 ratings)
Essential: a masterpiece of progressive rock music(11%)
Excellent addition to any prog rock music collection(44%)
Good, but non-essential (44%)
Collectors/fans only (0%)
Poor. Only for completionists (0%)

THE KENTISH SPIRES The Last Harvest reviews

Showing all collaborators reviews and last reviews preview | Show all reviews/ratings

Collaborators/Experts Reviews

Review by BrufordFreak
COLLABORATOR Honorary Collaborator
3 stars An interesting intersection of sounds and styles as bluesy rock, pastoral folk, quirky jazz, goth female vocals, and retro sound engineering all are brought together.

1. "Kingdom of Kent" (11:10) the stew here almost works but, unfortunately, it all ends up still tasting like its component parts. The section surrounding the electric guitar solo in the fourth minute is the best--and where Lucie's voice is most integral--as a Clare Torrey background instrument. (8.5/10)

2. "Clarity" (Bonus Track Mixed By Rob Reed) (3:58) campy medieval jazz-folk? It's no Monty Python or Gryphon. (7.5/10)

3. "Sprit Of The Skies" (sic) (4:22) a great Sixties flower power sound and style is spoiled by a weak chorus. (9/10)

4. "TTWIG" (3:48) too weird to be taken seriously; maybe in the 1960s this would have worked. (7/10)

5. "Introception" (7:17) sounds like something from The Bay Area 1960s psychedelic movement--but from a band that we never heard of cuz they just weren't good enough to make it to Monterey or a record label. (7/10)

6. "Clarity" (3:58) the band's own more mediŠval version of this bluesy song is in my opinion much better than the one above. (8/10)

7. "The Last Harvest" (13:09) opens as a quite ordinary plodding rock standard before exploding into an interesting jazz fusion extravaganza at the 3:58 mark. Unfortunately, this too becomes tedious in its foundational singularity despite an stop-and-start pseudo-bridge in the seventh minute. Just before the seven minute mark we regress into the Procul Harum-like plod of the opening section over which Lucie tries to scream us out of our malaise and boredom. Guitar solo is too familiar--technically competent but we've heard it before. Sax and background chorus of "ohh/ahh's" as well. (7.5/10)

8. "Hengist Ridge" (4:30) a smooth jazz start to this one is at least engaging, sax and pretty rhythm support (especially the jazzy guitar). It even seems to give Lucie a little more reason to sound and feel genuine in her performance. heck! She's packing the power of a soul/R&B diva on this one! Easily the best song on the album. (9/10)

The final song seems the direction I would strongly urge this band to explore more of: we need to fill the void left by the absence of EVERYTHING BUT THE GIRL, SADE, and SWING OUT SISTER. But Canterbury sound? I don't hear it.

3.5 stars; a good, competent though rather inconsistent and scattered effort.

Latest members reviews

No review or rating for the moment | Submit a review

Post a review of THE KENTISH SPIRES "The Last Harvest"

You must be a forum member to post a review, please register here if you are not.


As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

Copyright Prog Archives, All rights reserved. | Legal Notice | Privacy Policy | Advertise | RSS + syndications

Other sites in the MAC network: — jazz music reviews and archives | — metal music reviews and archives