Progarchives, the progressive rock ultimate discography


Isildurs Bane

Symphonic Prog

From, the ultimate progressive rock music website

Isildurs Bane Sagan Om Den Irländska Älgen / Sagan Om Ringen album cover
3.63 | 19 ratings | 2 reviews | 11% 5 stars

Write a review
from partners
Boxset/Compilation, released in 1992

Songs / Tracks Listing

"Sagan om den irländska älgen" (1982)
1. Overtyr (5:10)
2. Saga eller verklighet (4:45)
3. Ove (3:55)
4. Sex minuter (4:05)
5. En vilja att leva (5:30)
6. Evighetens visdom (5:00)
7. Marlboro Blues (4:20)
8. Fredrik (4:10)
"Sagan om ringen" (1981)
9. Overtyr (2:40)
10. Vandring (5:00)
11. Gamla skogen (3:40)
12. Tom Bombadill (4:23)
13. Vidstige (3:03)
14. De svarta ryttarna (3:20)
15. Vattnadal (1:25)
16. Moria (1:55)
17. Sällskapets upplösning (4:00)
18. Ringarnas härskare I (2:35)
19. Ringarnas härskare II (1:50)

Total Time: 70:36

Line-up / Musicians

- Fredrik Janacek / bass
- Bengt Johansson / sax, percussion
- Ingvar Johansson / bass, Moog
- Mats Johansson / keyboard, vocals
- Mats Nilsson / guitar and vocals
- Jan Severinsson / keyboard, flute and mallets
- Kjell Severinsson / drums, percussion and vocals
- Johan Holmberg / cuckoo

Releases information

CD Svenska Unikum SUCD 003 92 (1992 Sweden)

Thanks to ProgLucky for the addition
and to The Bearded Bard for the last updates
Edit this entry

Buy ISILDURS BANE Sagan Om Den Irländska Älgen / Sagan Om Ringen Music

More places to buy ISILDURS BANE music online Buy ISILDURS BANE & Prog Rock Digital Music online:

ISILDURS BANE Sagan Om Den Irländska Älgen / Sagan Om Ringen ratings distribution

(19 ratings)
Essential: a masterpiece of progressive rock music(11%)
Excellent addition to any prog rock music collection(61%)
Good, but non-essential (28%)
Collectors/fans only (0%)
Poor. Only for completionists (0%)

ISILDURS BANE Sagan Om Den Irländska Älgen / Sagan Om Ringen reviews

Showing all collaborators reviews and last reviews preview | Show all reviews/ratings

Collaborators/Experts Reviews

Review by loserboy
4 stars Superb symphonic prog for these legendary Swedish prog heads. Being an earlier release, ISILDURS BANE concentrated on a much more symphonic prog than their later KING CRIMSON-like approach. ISILDURS BANE deliver here some classic tranquil moments which border on sonic perfection...sound effects and all! These two releases represent the 3rd and 4th CD from ISILDURS BANE and contain some of their greatest moments ever recorded. Highly recommended to all lovers of Swedish folk prog.
Review by hdfisch
3 stars This CD contains the third and fourth release of the band from the late 80's. Actually the music on these albums has been created already in the early 80's. They are two concept albums, the first one obviously about the consequences of a nuclear war (as far as I read), the second one about the Lord of the Rings saga. Two quite popular themes during the eighties. The music is rooted deeply in 70's symphonic prog, reminding very much to old releases of Swedish fellows KAIPA. Highlights are certainly the overtures of both albums. Sometimes keyboards are sounding a bit slushy and plastic alike (typical for the 80's) as in "Ove". On others like in "Sex minuter" they are slightly reminiscent of ZAPPA but not that odd and intricate, more mellow and melodic. The vocal songs like "En vilja att leva" are giving a bit more cheesy and childlike impression, not only due to the lyrics in Swedish sounding a bit cute and funny to our foreign ears. But they are nice to listen. The last two songs of the first album "Marlboro Blues" and "Fredrik" are quite different from the ones before since they are quite nice jazz fusion ones with good guitar, bass, drums and brass (or synths).

Recordings for the Sagan Om Ringen album were not completed before 1987 and overall the tracks of this one are sounding less plastic alike, some of them containing nice interludes with acoustic guitar like "Vandring". "Tom Bombadill" is a more quirky song with excellent bass play. "De svarta ryttarna" is another example for 80's plastic keyboards but it has as well some electric guitar and is more a AOR type rock song. "Vattnadal" is a short quiet interlude with acoustic guitar before it's becoming a bit more "heavy" again in "Moria" with an amazing drum solo, certainly a highlight of the album. "Sällskapets upplösning" is a nice more mellow instrumental with good keyboards and bass play. The last one (in two parts) is similar having some vocals.

As a SUMMARY I'd like to say both albums are very nice to listen with a bit higher level on the second one. I'm sure lovers of the more mellow side of prog will like it. Listeners knowing the band more from their later projects might be a bit disappointed, but that's how the band started once. I'd say it's not an essential, but not a bad one as well. Good for 3 stars!

Latest members reviews

No review or rating for the moment | Submit a review

Post a review of ISILDURS BANE "Sagan Om Den Irländska Älgen / Sagan Om Ringen"

You must be a forum member to post a review, please register here if you are not.


As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

Copyright Prog Archives, All rights reserved. | Legal Notice | Privacy Policy | Advertise | RSS + syndications

Other sites in the MAC network: — jazz music reviews and archives | — metal music reviews and archives