Progarchives, the progressive rock ultimate discography


Nine Inch Nails

Crossover Prog

From, the ultimate progressive rock music website

Nine Inch Nails The Fragile: Deviations 1 album cover
4.95 | 2 ratings | 1 reviews | 50% 5 stars

Write a review

from partners
Boxset/Compilation, released in 2016

Songs / Tracks Listing

1. Somewhat Damaged (instrumental) (4:53)
2. The Day the World Went Away (instrumental) (5:29)
3. The Frail (alternate version) (1:46)
4. The Wretched (instrumental) (6:00)
5. Missing Places (1:26)
6. We're in This Together (instrumental) (6:50)
7. The Fragile (instrumental) (4:48)
8. Just Like You Imagined (alternate version) (3:46)
9. The March (instrumental) (3:42)
10. Even Deeper (instrumental) (6:19)
11. Pilgrimage (alternate version) (3:04)
12. One Way to Get There (2:44)
13. No, You Don't (instrumental) (3:16)
14. Taken (3:35)
15. La Mer (alternate version) (4:54)
16. The Great Below (instrumental) (5:25)
17. Not What It Seems (instrumental) (3:30)
18. White Mask (3:22)
19. The New Flesh (instrumental) (3:40)
20. The Way Out Is Through (alternate version) (4:26)
21. Into the Void (instrumental) (4:44)
22. Where Is Everybody? (instrumental) (4:55)
23. The Mark Has Been Made (alternate version) (4:44)
24. Was It Worth It? (instrumental) (5:03)
25. Please (instrumental) (3:30)
26. +Appendage (instrumental) (3:19)
27. Can I Stay Here? (instrumental) (4:25)
28. 10 Miles High (instrumental) (5:16)
29. Feeders (2:02)
30. Starfuckers, Inc. (instrumental) (5:33)
31. Complication (alternate version) (2:55)
32. Claustrophobia Machine (Raw) (2:39)
33. Last Heard From (2:06)
34. I'm Looking Forward to Joining You, Finally (instrumental) (4:17)
35. The Big Come Down (instrumental) (4:05)
36. Underneath It All (instrumental) (3:21)
37. Ripe with Decay (instrumental) (7:35)

Total Time 153:24

Line-up / Musicians

- Instrumentation could not be verified at this time. If you have information, please contact the site.

Releases information

2016 - 37 files FLAC, WAV or MP3 download - The Null Corporation
2017 - 4LP, US - Nothing Records (B0026309-01, B0026309-01ST02)
2017 - 4LP, Europe - Interscope Records (00602557386103)

Deconstruction of The Fragile by Trent Reznor and Atticus Ross. Contains instrumentals, alternate versions and never before heard material from The Fragile recording sessions, all remastered. Download included with LP.

Thanks to TCat for the addition
and to projeKct for the last updates
Edit this entry

Buy NINE INCH NAILS The Fragile: Deviations 1 Music

NINE INCH NAILS The Fragile: Deviations 1 ratings distribution

(2 ratings)
Essential: a masterpiece of progressive rock music(50%)
Excellent addition to any prog rock music collection(50%)
Good, but non-essential (0%)
Collectors/fans only (0%)
Poor. Only for completionists (0%)

NINE INCH NAILS The Fragile: Deviations 1 reviews

Showing all collaborators reviews and last reviews preview | Show all reviews/ratings

Collaborators/Experts Reviews

Review by Warthur
5 stars If, like me, you're the sort of person who finds The Fragile a hard album to love due to the often cringeworthy lyrics and vocals, or if you just really dig Trent Reznor's instrumental soundtrack work - and there's plenty of people in both of those categories - then The Fragile: Deviations 1 is an absolute godsend. Collecting together both a set of instrumental versions of The Fragile tracks (though with most tracks having at least few alternate spins put in here and there, so they're more interesting than just "the original track, only no vocals this time") and a grab-bag of material which didn't make it onto the original album, Deviations 1 reveals it for the prog-industrial exploration that it truly was and is a truly revelatory listening experience.

The most exciting thing about it, though, is the "1" in the title, suggesting that future Deviations releases - perhaps focusing on other albums - are intended in the future. I certainly hope so, because for me - as a fan who originally got hooked on NIN via the Quake soundtrack - this is fantastic, an expansion of the sonic approach of the Quake material onto a far broader and grander stage.

Latest members reviews

No review or rating for the moment | Submit a review

Post a review of NINE INCH NAILS "The Fragile: Deviations 1"

You must be a forum member to post a review, please register here if you are not.


As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

Copyright Prog Archives, All rights reserved. | Legal Notice | Privacy Policy | Advertise | RSS + syndications

Other sites in the MAC network: — jazz music reviews and archives | — metal music reviews and archives

Donate monthly and keep PA fast-loading and ad-free forever.