Progarchives, the progressive rock ultimate discography


Steve Hackett

Eclectic Prog

From, the ultimate progressive rock music website

Steve Hackett Genesis Files album cover
3.49 | 29 ratings | 2 reviews | 38% 5 stars

Good, but non-essential

Write a review
from partners
Boxset/Compilation, released in 2002

Songs / Tracks Listing

Disc 1
1. Firth Of Fith (Genesis Revisited)
2. Watcher Of The Skies (Genesis Revisited)
3. Riding The Colossus (Genesis Revisited (Jap. Ed.))
4. Rise Again (Darktown)
5. Valley Of Kings (Genesis Revisited)
6. Time Lapse At Milton Keynes (Bay Of Kings)
7. Your Own Special Way (Genesis Revisited)
8. The Fountain Of Salmacis (Genesis Revisited)
9. For Absent Friends (Genesis Revisited)
10. Twice Around The Sun (Darktown)

Disc 2:
1. Horizons (Bay Of Kings)
2. Prizefighters (Feedback '86)
3. Camino Royale (The Tokyo Tapes)
4. I Know What I Like (Genesis Revisited)
5. Deja Vu (Genesis Revisited)
6. Waiting Room Only (Genesis Revisited)
7. Dance On A Volcano (Genesis Revisited)
8. The Steppes (The Tokyo Tapes)
9. In That Quiet Earth (The Tokyo Tapes)
10. Los Endos (The Tokyo Tapes)

Line-up / Musicians

- John Wetton / bass, vocals
- Bill Bruford / drums
- Ben Fenner / keyboards, programming
- Tony Levin / bass
- Julian Colbeck / keyboards
- Hugo Degenhardt / drums
- Doug Sinclair / bass
- Roger King / programming, keyboards, virtual drums
- Aron Friedman / keyboards, piano
- Billy Budis / bass
- Nick Magnus / keyboards, programming
- Jerry Peal / keyboards, programming
- Paul Carrack / vocals
- Chester Thompson / drums
- Alphonso Johnson / bass
- John Hackett / flute
- Colin Blunstone / vocals
- Bonnie Tyler / vocals
- Chris Thompson / vocals
- Terry Pack / bass
- Ian McDonald / flute, keyboards
- Pino Palladino / bass
- Will Bates / saxophone
- The Royal Philharmonic Orchestra

Releases information

2CD Snapper Music SMDCD382

Thanks to ProgLucky for the addition
Edit this entry

Buy STEVE HACKETT Genesis Files Music

Genesis FilesGenesis Files
Recall Records UK 2002
$8.57 (used)

More places to buy STEVE HACKETT music online Buy STEVE HACKETT & Prog Rock Digital Music online:

STEVE HACKETT Genesis Files ratings distribution

(29 ratings)
Essential: a masterpiece of progressive rock music(38%)
Excellent addition to any prog rock music collection(28%)
Good, but non-essential (28%)
Collectors/fans only (3%)
Poor. Only for completionists (3%)

STEVE HACKETT Genesis Files reviews

Showing all collaborators reviews and last reviews preview | Show all reviews/ratings

Collaborators/Experts Reviews

Review by Matti
4 stars 2CD Genesis Files = Genesis Revisited + tracks from other Hackett albums, as stated in the track list. There is nothing older than two pieces from '83 acoustic guitar album Bay of Kings (except 'Horizons' from it appeared originally in Foxtrot, and 'Steppes' from Tokyo Tapes live album in Defector '80). Each song is served with liner notes and thus clearing the 'Genesis' concept also in tracks that at first seem to have nothing to do with it. To be honest, some don't. Two instrumental tracks from '99 Darktown? As well or better could have been some (new versions perhaps) from earliest solo albums that are closer in style to Genesis. But this kind of limited compiling principle suits well. The sense of compilation is almost absent if you haven't heard all the source albums. It's principally just an extended version of "Watcher of the Skies - Genesis Revisited" (96) and it works as that. ...Sorry such lecturing: call it The Premiere Review Syndrome.

Genesis revisitations were made with a large amount of guests. John Wetton in 'Firth of Fifth' and 'Watcher of the Skies', wow! Colin Bluntstone's tender 'For Absent Friends' accompanied by the Royal Philharmonic is dangerously close to oversweetness. 'Your Own Special Way' as a Rutherford tune has Paul Carrack from Mike+Mechanics, and I must say the nature of the song fits better to that polished style than to Wind & Wuthering. 'Fountain of Salmacis' sung by Steve is a good example how he manages to add new excitement even to such dramatic classics. It's almost TOO full. 'Waiting Room Only' is an atonal curiosity based on the Lamb track. The Tokyo concert with a superb all-stars lineup seems really great.

Here and there this music feels a bit overproduced & highly strung, and makes me miss the more peaceful side of Hackett's music. But worth getting if you missed Genesis Revisited.

Latest members reviews

1 stars Is it really interesting ? The answer is no. The second cd is a bit better than the 1st one. It is more original. "I Know What I Like jazzy". A good version of "Waiting Room Only" and a good prog rock piece is "Prizefighters" from Hackett/Howe 1986. "Dance on a Volcano" one of my favourite title ... (read more)

Report this review (#97029) | Posted by BronDune | Friday, November 3, 2006 | Review Permanlink

Post a review of STEVE HACKETT "Genesis Files"

You must be a forum member to post a review, please register here if you are not.


As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

Copyright Prog Archives, All rights reserved. | Legal Notice | Privacy Policy | Advertise | RSS + syndications

Other sites in the MAC network: — jazz music reviews and archives | — metal music reviews and archives