Progarchives, the progressive rock ultimate discography


Crossover Prog • Finland

From, the ultimate progressive rock music website

Session picture
Session biography
SESSION was unknown Finnish prog band from Kouvola. Members were Timo HEIKKILA on guitar, bassist Hannu KAIKKO, Juha TYKKALA on drums and vocals, keyboardist Osmo SEPPALA and saxophonists Ari PUKKILA and Mane HYYTIA. During activity they released one album "Unikuva" in 1974. Their music was varied prog with archaic sound, influences from psychedelic rock and folk. They can be compared to HAIKARA and TRETIOARRIGA KRIGET due to prominent bass and saxophone arrangements. "Unikuva" can be warmly recommended to completionists of Finnish prog rock and enthusiasts of mentioned bands.

SESSION forum topics / tours, shows & news

SESSION forum topics Create a topic now
SESSION tours, shows & news Post an entries now

SESSION Videos (YouTube and more)

Showing only random 3 | Search and add more videos to SESSION


More places to buy SESSION music online

SESSION discography

Ordered by release date | Showing ratings (top albums) | Help to complete the discography and add albums

SESSION top albums (CD, LP, MC, SACD, DVD-A, Digital Media Download)

3.05 | 2 ratings

SESSION Live Albums (CD, LP, MC, SACD, DVD-A, Digital Media Download)

SESSION Videos (DVD, Blu-ray, VHS etc)

SESSION Boxset & Compilations (CD, LP, MC, SACD, DVD-A, Digital Media Download)

SESSION Official Singles, EPs, Fan Club & Promo (CD, EP/LP, MC, Digital Media Download)

3.00 | 1 ratings
Sanni Blue / Pääsky


Showing last 10 reviews only
 Sanni Blue / Pääsky by SESSION album cover Singles/EPs/Fan Club/Promo, 1973
3.00 | 1 ratings

Sanni Blue / Pääsky
Session Crossover Prog

Review by Matti
Prog Reviewer

— First review of this album —
3 stars Some time ago I wrote a review for the sole album Unikuva (1974) by this Finnish rock band and included in it some further band information as well. As said, prior to the album they made one single, with another line-up and pretty much another music style too, and even for another record company, the legendary Love Records.

No saxes yet, nor the organ and electric piano of Osmo Seppälä. Instead we have two guitarists: Jokke Seppälä who left before the album also sings these songs, both being energetic and vintage guitar rock in a fast tempo, influenced by the likes of The Allman Brothers Band. On 'Sanni Blue' the Finnish vocals seem to be deliberately... how to say it... sort of punk-ish in their rawness. But what an energy in the playing. Although this sort of rock isn't really my cup of tea at all, I recognize when it's worthy.

'Pääsky' (= Swallow) is generally rather similar, a bit more melodic and not quite as fast. Especially the singing is more convincing, without being less credible and powerful rock vocals. So I prefer this one, but both are very good songs in this particular field of rock.

As a sidenote: in the early 80's Jokke Seppälä became a notable figure in the Finnish disco movement.

 Unikuva by SESSION album cover Studio Album, 1974
3.05 | 2 ratings

Session Crossover Prog

Review by Matti
Prog Reviewer

3 stars The Finnish band Session were founded in the early 70's in a small southern Finnish town of Kouvola from the ashes of a band called Horizon. Session's first achievement was becoming third in the national contest for bands, in December 1972. (The second was Tabula Rasa!) Session played guitar rock influenced e.g. by Allman Brothers Band, and their debut single 'Sanni Blue / Pääsky' (1973), released by Love Records, is regarded as one of the finest Finnish debut sigles in that style. The same sessions produced also a rock instrumental version of Albert Ketelbey's "In a Persian Market".

The vocalist and 2nd guitarist Jokke Seppälä was replaced by Osmo Seppälä on organ and electric piano, while the singing duties were given to drummer Juha Tykkälä. Having been dropped out by Love Records, Session self- produced their only album Unikuva which was distributed by EMI. The short, Finnish-language album contains 'Sanni Blue' and the Ketelbey cover plus six other tracks.

The 7+ minute title track proceeds as an organ/sax oriented instrumental before the arrival of the guesting female voice. Elsewhere, Tykkälä as a vocalist reminds me of a rough version of Kirka (highly popular Finnish vocalist at the time and later, too), but he suits fairly well into the soul flavoured rock. The compositions are mainly by bassist Hannu Kaiko, whose bass sound is very distinctive on the album.

Due to weak success Session collapsed in the spring of 1975. Several members joined Danny, the Finnish entertainment music icon. Even though Session wasn't exactly a progressive rock band when it comes to the song structures, their sole album does have a certain vintage charm.

Thanks to HarryAngel746 for the artist addition.

Copyright Prog Archives, All rights reserved. | Legal Notice | Privacy Policy | Advertise | RSS + syndications

Other sites in the MAC network: — jazz music reviews and archives | — metal music reviews and archives