Progarchives, the progressive rock ultimate discography
Dark Suns - Swanlike CD (album) cover


Dark Suns


Experimental/Post Metal

3.18 | 31 ratings

From, the ultimate progressive rock music website

3 stars This is Dark Sun's first album. A highly recommendable album for people who like Opeth, like I do.

1. Swanlike: The introduction reminds me of Opeth's The Moor, with the laidback guitar whines and everything. As the vocals come in, you'll notice the muffled line transitioning into the clear vocals. This was probably intended as an effect, but the mixing is quite subpar, and it was not pulled off perfectly. The mood and general setting is very reminiscent of Still Life or Morningrise era Opeth, though the changes are perhaps not as perfectly executed. The song has some very interesting key changes that give it an overall ghostly feel. Great atmosphere. In my opinion this is the best song in the album. [8]

2. Infiltration: A great intro riff, depressing and moody. The tempo change at about 1:15 is very well executed. However, right after this part, you start to get several tempo changes that sound a bit off. All that said, the riff starting at 3:30 is absolutely magnificent, reminding me of Opeth yet being original. The ending however leaves something lacking. [7]

3. The Sun Beyond Your Eden: The orchestral intro changes abruptly into a metal riff with no connection whatsoever. This song seems to be a collection of separate parts, each with a few riffs. 1:50, another unforeseen change. 3:08, another huge change. These are too abrupt. From here on the song is quite to my liking. Again, many laidback riffs with overall ambience provided by the synth. The end sees another not-so-abrupt change. A song marred by the sudden changes. [6]

4. Virtuous Dilemma: I like the harmonization of guitars in the beginning. There are quite some good riffs in this song. The changes are executed quite better. The vocal lines are haunting, though a bit buried in the mix. Very laidback. [6+]

5. Inside Final Dreams: Interesting intro, which seems to stop and go into another intro [?]. As soon as the drums kick in you hear the sound quality changing, something that puts me off quite a bit. Has an overall ghostly feeling, especially when the heavy part starts. Quite repetitive with some interesting changes towards the end. [6]

6. The Neverending: Hmm, the introduction is not so much to my liking. The vocals are nice though. The music here is bordering on doomdeath rather than progressive death. Some of the riffs remind me of My Dying Bride. The riff that starts at the four minute mark is quite evil sounding, but repeated too many times. [5+]

7. In Silent Harmony II: A welcome change. Percussions, acoustic, and electric lead. Nothing much to be said here. A pretty much static song. [6+]

I will not review the other song since it is marked as bonus. Overall, the music is quite a bit more laidback than Opeth's. The vocalist has in my opinion a very beautiful voice with great potential, along with a low growl. Had the mixing been better, the band would have shined more in this area. The changes need to be written better, something that this album suffers quite badly from. OVERALL, 6.5

Metalstrm | 3/5 |


As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

Share this DARK SUNS review

Social review comments () BETA

Review related links

Copyright Prog Archives, All rights reserved. | Legal Notice | Privacy Policy | Advertise | RSS + syndications

Other sites in the MAC network: — jazz music reviews and archives | — metal music reviews and archives

Donate monthly and keep PA fast-loading and ad-free forever.