Progarchives, the progressive rock ultimate discography
Amarok - Hunt CD (album) cover




Crossover Prog

3.80 | 68 ratings

From, the ultimate progressive rock music website

4 stars A nice album from this one man led Polish band which seems to aspire to emulate countrymen RIVERSIDE/Mariusz DUDA. They do so, though much more on the mellower and electronic-assisted side. The gifted, creative force behind this album, Michał Wojtas, might have a viable place in the pop world รก la JAMES BLAKE.

1. "Anonymous" (6:41) Nice atmospheric music though I'm not sure I like the synthesized drums and thin sound of the lead electric guitar. All instrumental opener which actually does a very nice job of introducing the feel and sound of the rest of the album. (8.5/10)

2. "Idyll" (5:41) featuring the mellifluous voice of prog legend Mariusz Duda, the song is almost purely a vehicle for just that--which is almost enough (superlative vocal, Mariusz!). (8.5/10)

3. "Distorted Soul" (5:32) sounds like a carryover from the previous song with some computer percussion tracks and very Mariusz Duda-like vocals from Michał Wojtas. I like the odd, aliens-from-outer-space synth in the fourth minute that leads into the song's awesome crescendo. Well done! (9.5/10)

4. "Two Sides" (5:09) opens with duduk playing over layers of atmospheric synths & treated piano. Very cinematic, very much like Peter GABRIEL's soundtrack music for The Last Temptation of Christ. Awesome! (10/10)

5. "Winding Stairs" (4:34) a more-pop-oriented song in the vein of JAMES BLAKE and SAM SMITH. Interesting (and surprising) key changes/chord progressions in the guitar solo section. (8.5/10)

6. "In Closeness" (5:52) opens with soloing distorted electric guitar before Middle Eastern-like computer and manual percussion tracks join in. The soft, almost-whispered vocal alternates with the ejaculations from the distorted guitar and some simple electronic keyboard work. This song makes me feel more inclined to urge this artist (Michał Wojtas) to pursue more of a pop music approach. He really has a gift/talent for electronic percussion combining and programming. There's a little TEARS FOR FEARS, NEW ORDER, or THE THE feel in Michał's song-construction, soundscape and singing styles. I very much like it. (9/10)

7. "Unreal" (4:40) more interesting "Blade Runner"-like solo electric guitar play to open this bluesy instrumental. At the one minute mark the guitar becomes more similar to a JEFF BECK/NIKITAS KISSONAS/COLIN TENCH sound and approach. Nice work. Very mature guitar play. (9/10)

8. "Nuke" (5:48) featuring the vocals of CAMEL's Colin Bass, this one just doesn't work for me. The Hawai'ian-like lead guitar work falls short. (7.5/10)

9. "Hunt" (17:52) a musical vehicle for the contemporary journalistic report of the way our ever invasive social media affects things like human privacy, safety, and even species evolution right now, it has a feel, at first, like one of the stories similar to the HIBERNAL story soundtracks that have made their way into progworld in recent years. At the four minute mark the song morphs fully into a Berlin School electronic sequenced song like KLAUS SCHULZE and SEQUENTIA LEGENDA. It's really well done! Definitely showing this artist's dexterity and eclecticism. Not just a great song--but a really well thought out one. If it's true that keyboardist/programmer Marta Wojtas deserves credit for this one, then kudos to her! The sequencing is truly engaging and well constructed! The slide guitar work is good. Great vocal performance in the second half. (9.5/10)

4.5 stars; an excellent album of atmospheric progressive rock music--a near-masterpiece.

BrufordFreak | 4/5 |


As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

Share this AMAROK review

Social review comments () BETA

Review related links

Copyright Prog Archives, All rights reserved. | Legal Notice | Privacy Policy | Advertise | RSS + syndications

Other sites in the MAC network: — jazz music reviews and archives | — metal music reviews and archives