Progarchives, the progressive rock ultimate discography
The New Grove Project - Fool's Journey CD (album) cover


The New Grove Project


Symphonic Prog

2.89 | 22 ratings

From, the ultimate progressive rock music website

Prog Reviewer
3 stars Magical album with some real personality and fantastic musicianship featuring guests, Jode Leigh (Ex-ENGLAND) on the drums, PAR LINDH on the keyboards (Mellotron, Hammond, church organ.) and Roine Stolt on the acoustic and electric guitars. Songs featured on this album date back to 1984 when both Ingemar Hjertqvist and Per Sundbom they originally crafted these tunes which have now been re-recorded with this new band. Lead vocals are handled by lead singer Ingemar Hjertqvist who sings effortlessly in English with great conviction and control. "Fool's Journey" is a wild contrast of styles and influences ranging from dark symphonic moments to lighter and almost animated melodies. Try to almost imagine a cross of the TALKING HEADS and The FLOWER KINGS and your starting to get the idea. Along the way we are treated to some great lead guitar solos and massive keyboard passages with great bass and drum interplay. This album was recorded in PAR LINDH's Crimsonic Studio and offers great sound reproduction with solid speaker distinction. Warning this is highly clever music and once you hear this record you likely will need to buy it! Now you have been warned!
loserboy | 3/5 |


As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

Share this THE NEW GROVE PROJECT review

Social review comments () BETA

Review related links

Copyright Prog Archives, All rights reserved. | Legal Notice | Privacy Policy | Advertise | RSS + syndications

Other sites in the MAC network: — jazz music reviews and archives | — metal music reviews and archives

Donate monthly and keep PA fast-loading and ad-free forever.