Progarchives, the progressive rock ultimate discography
Dream Theater - Train of Thought CD (album) cover


Dream Theater


Progressive Metal

3.60 | 1857 ratings

From, the ultimate progressive rock music website

3 stars Train of Thought was the first Dream Theater album which became very controversial amongst the fans. They gained a new layer of entuhusiast from the metal lovers as this one is the most metallic release in their entire discography.

It is a two-faced album: there are three under-average (sometimes really bad) songs (As I Am, This Dying Soul and Honor Thy Father) besides four excellent pieces (the last three plus Endless Sacrifice). The main problem with the album is the inordinate use of thrash elements and in general the musical ideas: at least three of the tracks are too long.

1. As I Am: After the intro we get the first thrash moments in a riff and the verses, while the pre- chorus and chorus become better. The song is sometimes slow, sometimes middle paced, therefore the guitar solo starting at 5:30 is simply too fast for the bases.

2. This Dying Soul: The second song starts much more in the real style of DT. Being a continuation of The Alcoholic Anonymous Suite, it refers to former tracks like the suite-opener The Glass Prison and The Mirror, which is often defined as an antedecent for that chain of songs. Then the rapping part (why should it be there?) is baffling and horrible whilst the piano interlude brings some musical values, and the vocal themes get better. However, the end ruins, here comes an over-extended and badly repetitive instrumental part.

3. Endless Sacrifice: Awesome and emotional guitar intro, the vocals are perfect, as the verses so the chorus. When the instrumental part begins, it rise the view that the band has not forgotten the great things, but again, it lasts too long. After the returning riff new melodies join in and give a perfect end to the song.

4. Honor Thy Father: I listened to this song very long ago, because I remembered so that it was terrible. Now, after a new try I say that several parts are musically great, but the whole is still not good. After the riffing that shines to be endless, a multi-vocal part surprises the listener. The song is very eclectic: contains trademarks of industrial and thrash metal, has a very strange dissonant chorus, spoken vocals and a very popular-sounding section.

5. Vacant: When this one begins, there is no more bad stuff till the end of the album. That one is the most emotional Dream Theater song to date: it transmits deep sorrow. Bitter, but beautiful.

6. Stream of Consciousness: This is an absolutely fantastic's overflown by GREAT ideas (finally!). We always knew they are extremely skilled, that's the place they show it at their best.

7. In the Name of God: Despite the song lenghts here, this is the only one I consider as being epic. The lyrics are rattling (if you read them well), and the construction as well. There are heavy, metallic parts, but they're not annoying, sith they're not thrash. The outro with the Battle Hymn of the Republic is majestic and the way they close the song...cannot say anything else but great!

4/7 songs are good: that is close to 3/5 in the number of stars.

Diaby | 3/5 |


As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

Share this DREAM THEATER review

Social review comments () BETA

Review related links

Copyright Prog Archives, All rights reserved. | Legal Notice | Privacy Policy | Advertise | RSS + syndications

Other sites in the MAC network: — jazz music reviews and archives | — metal music reviews and archives

Donate monthly and keep PA fast-loading and ad-free forever.