Progarchives, the progressive rock ultimate discography
Robert Wyatt - Rock Bottom CD (album) cover


Robert Wyatt


Canterbury Scene

4.28 | 924 ratings

From, the ultimate progressive rock music website

5 stars What a story!

Robert Wyatt's debut album, just wow! A former drummer from "Soft Machine" falls out from the third floor window and writes this album in hospital as he is pain. Robert knows that he will never play drums again. He starts writing this album in the hospital and learns to play keyboards and sing, truly outstanding. Robert really does what he loves, to be one with the music. You can really hear on this album that he is suffering. The dark and moody melodies are really, really good.

1. Sea Song 9/10, The whole album is really keyboard intensive as is also the first song. Great lyrics and piano. Most importantly the song brings a dark atmosphere, which really strikes me. Around 4min mark he starts singing as he is in pain, sad and beatiful at the same time...

2. A Last Straw 9/10, I don't know how to describe this one. I just really like this one. Great bass, piano and some nice guitar too in the last part. The atmosphere is just too good!

3. Little Red Riding Hood Hit the Road 9/10, Beware of the trumpets! It feels like someone is chasing you in the whole song. I don't know if Robert meant that death is chasing him but it sure sounds like that! A fast-paced song, flows really well! Get ready for a ride.

4. Alifib 8/10, Okay, the next two songs are the strangest ones on the whole album. If you listen them individually without the whole album you propably would be like "wtf is this". Guitar is in a big part. Also the backing lyrics are there trough the whole song too.

5. Alife 8.5/10, This one continues straight from the previous one. Such a dark song, very "Van Der Graaf Generator" like. The wind instrument does some serious crazy stuff here. This always gives me Shivers...

6. Little Red Robin Hood Hit the Road 10/10, Jesus christ that guitar solo... The whole album is build up for this one and it truly works well. The legendary Mike Oldfield is playing one of the most beautiful, sad and epic solos of all times. Feels like the guitar is crying. Has a little bit same feeling as the solo in "Firth of Fifth". Also the album sounds like it has a happy ending, which is nice.

This album is not flawless by any means, but it's epic! For me this is one of the best albums ever. You really can't listen this one like pick one song and listen it. You have to put earphones on and focus trough the whole album. As I said before, the atmposhere is unique. Bravo Robert!

Foxprog | 5/5 |


As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

Share this ROBERT WYATT review

Social review comments () BETA

Review related links

Copyright Prog Archives, All rights reserved. | Legal Notice | Privacy Policy | Advertise | RSS + syndications

Other sites in the MAC network: — jazz music reviews and archives | — metal music reviews and archives

Donate monthly and keep PA fast-loading and ad-free forever.