Progarchives, the progressive rock ultimate discography
Telegraph - Mir CD (album) cover




Psychedelic/Space Rock

3.81 | 49 ratings

From, the ultimate progressive rock music website

4 stars "First review of this album"

"Non-political news from Isreal, how nice!"

Telegraph is a four piece band that hails from Israel, the members live in the cities Natanya, Tel Aviv, Ramat Gan and Hod Hashron. Their history started almost a decade ago, unfortunately the musical plans didn't work out and the band disbanded. But three years ago Telegraph decided to give it another try, with a slighty changed line-up, making music between Classic Prog and space rock. Now things started to roll: in 2017 Telegraph finished the recordings of their debut album, in 2018 it was released as Mir, a concept album about the journey of cosmonaut and mechanical engineer Sergei Krikalev. He stayed at the Soviet space station for 803 days, with a changing crew. This was almost 6 months longer than planned, due to the collapse of the communist regime in 1991. But Telegraph emphasizes that 'it's more about feeling, than being an historic document'. According to the band 'Camel is a big influence but also classical music, and other bands like Genesis, Yes, King Crimson Anglagard and Pink Floyd'. Telegraph their debut album gained a lot of praise in Israel, but also in Japan, Germany, The Netherlands Canada and the USA. At this moment Telegraph is in the middle of working on their new album.

1. Mir 0-1 (06:02 ) : The album starts with emphasizing the subject, the voice of the astronaut and spacey sound effects. Then a slow rhythm featuring sensitive Latimer inspired guitar work, supported by Mellotron strings, wonderful, back to the unsurpassed Seventies Classic Prog sound! The second part delivers moving electric guitar and pleasant Moog synthesizer flights, tastefully blended with acoustic guitar, vibraphone and Fender Rhodes electric piano.

2. Initiation (08:18) : What a variety, from catchy mid-tempo beats to mellow climates and dynamic outbursts, embellished with powerful Peter Bardens-like Hammond organ (Lady Fantasy sound) and excellent work on the guitar, from fiery runs to powerful slide guitar. The English vocals sound decent but lack a bit expression.

3. Gravity (08:57) : First dreamy with soft vocals, spacey sounds and pleasant Mellotron drops, then gradually a melancholical atmosphere, very compelling and elaborate. And with a variety of instruments, blended very subtle, from sensitive slide guitar and lush Moog flights to soaring flute, culminating in a wonderful part with tender piano and moving guitar, great interplay! The warm outro delivers twanging acoustic guitars, in the vein of early Genesis.

4. Out There (08:52) : The intro features fragile electric guitar runs, followed by an accellaration with floods of Hammond organ and a strong bass sound. Then the music alternates between mid-tempo and dreamy, with moving electric guitar and fat Moog flights, the sound evokes Camel and Pink Floyd, what a fine tribute.

5. Claustrophobia (04:14) : After a spacey intro with the voices of the astronautes, the music turns into a powerful and catchy beat featuring propulsive guitar riffs, sumptuous organ, fat Moog runs and again wonderful, very sensitive electric guitar soli. The outro evokes early Genesis with twanging acoustic guitars and soaring flute.

6. Remote control (14:51) : The album concludes with an epic composition that sounds very varied, with elements of Camel, Pink Floyd and Eloy. But also with lots of strong own musical ideas, especially the way Telegraph blends a wide range of instruments into the music in a very subtle and refined way: Fender Rhodes electric piano, Minimoog flights, mellow organ drops, powerful Hammond organ and strong electric guitar that shifts from fragile and use of the volume pedel to sensitive, in the vein of Latimer his moving sound. The vocal part reminds me of Frank Bornemann of Eloy. Halfway a strong build-up, culminating in exciting interplay between electric guitar and Hammond organ, supported by a dynamic rhythm-section, wow! The final part delivers a fade away with soft organ, fragile electric guitar runs and spacey sounds, simply beautiful.

To me this album sounds as a very promising debut, strongly evoking Seventies Camel, Pink Floyd and Genesis but also with an elaborate own touch, I am looking forward to their next effort!

P.s.: Before wiriting I noticed 37 ratings, but not a single review, what a weird contribution to this site ....

TenYearsAfter | 4/5 |


As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

Share this TELEGRAPH review

Social review comments () BETA

Review related links

Copyright Prog Archives, All rights reserved. | Legal Notice | Privacy Policy | Advertise | RSS + syndications

Other sites in the MAC network: — jazz music reviews and archives | — metal music reviews and archives

Donate monthly and keep PA fast-loading and ad-free forever.