Progarchives, the progressive rock ultimate discography
Reale Accademia Di Musica - Reale Accademia Di Musica CD (album) cover


Reale Accademia Di Musica


Rock Progressivo Italiano

4.08 | 188 ratings

From, the ultimate progressive rock music website

4 stars A more folk-oriented progressive rock endeavor from these artists from Rome. Great first effort.

1. "Favola" (3:46) pretty folk-instrument song with a lazy, lead vocal from Spaniard Henryk Topel Cabanes. (8.25/10)

2. "Mattino" (9:19) cleverly effected piano is the dominant instrument of the first four minutes of this one. There is singing over the gentle opening minute or two before piano takes over, then there is heavier, more in-your-face rock section starting in the fifth minute. Very nice driving piano chord play in the sixth minute within which electric guitar, piano and organ share the solo duties. At 7:15 things shut down for a new, more delicate section (sans drums and bass) with acoustic guitars, piano and voice dominating. (17/20)

3. "Ognuno Sa" (5:19) opens sounding like a BEATLES or GEORGE HARRISON song despite (or because of?) the treated vocal. Very much a straightforward slow rock song that could have come off of any Clapton, Harrison, or Harry Nilsson album. (7.5/10)

4. "Padre" (8:41) opens with cool organ arpeggio which is soon joined by bass and guitar introducing themselves and the well-spaced syncopated chord progression that is going to follow. After two minutes we have the song's foundation well established and engaging our brain just as the band starts to introduce and support solos--first a nice rock electric guitar solo--but then everything quiets down save for a constant organ in the background over which Henryk sings. Two tracks of bluesy electric guitar interject emphasis points occasionally within the vocal section. The singing is adequate, suitably emotional, but never super-convincing. As a matter of fact, I find myself underwhelmed by Henryk's work throughout the course of this album. Toward the end of the seventh minute the music kind swells and a very nice doubled-up electric guitar solo ensues. The final minute returns to the slow bluesy spacious format for the singer to finish his story. (17/20)

5. "Lavoro In Citta'" (5:56) has a very different feel and sound from the other songs--especially in the singing department. Still piano-based, this bluesy song is founded on the traditional bass-drums- and piano combo (the guitars are quite quiet). Very nice, engaging chord sequence in the middle half of the song with a nice multi-voiced chorus and professional caliber guitar solo. The final section sees another blues-based up-tempo section which plays out in an instrumental jam. (8.75/10)

6. "Vertigine" (7:11) sounds and feels as if ELP and BLUE OYSTER CULT had a baby. Nice musicianship and passion. (13.5/15)

Total Time: 40:12

Four stars; an excellent blues-based representative of the early 1970s Rock Progressive Italiano phenom.

BrufordFreak | 4/5 |


As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password


Social review comments () BETA

Review related links

Copyright Prog Archives, All rights reserved. | Legal Notice | Privacy Policy | Advertise | RSS + syndications

Other sites in the MAC network: — jazz music reviews and archives | — metal music reviews and archives

Donate monthly and keep PA fast-loading and ad-free forever.