Progarchives, the progressive rock ultimate discography
Progarchives, the progressive rock ultimate discography
Korekyojinn - Swan Dive CD (album) cover





4.51 | 3 ratings

From, the ultimate progressive rock music website

Mellotron Storm
Prog Reviewer
4 stars KOREKYOJINN consists of Yoshida (RUINS, KOENJIHYAKKI) on drums, Kido (BONDAGE FRUIT) on guitar and NASUNO (ALTERED STATES, GROUND ZERO) on bass. Hoppy guests prominantly on the last two tracks with vocals and keyboards. Hoppy and Yoshida played with Elton Dean and Hugh Hopper on that SOFT MOUNTAIN release. And like that session, this one is also completely improvised.

"Magnetic Pole" is so impressive early with the bass, guitar and drums kicking ass before 1 1/2 minutes. It does settle some but it's far from being settles if you know what I mean. Some vocal expressions come in. It does calm down 5 minutes in then it starts to build with vocals. The guitar is great 10 minutes in as he solos until another calm arrives after 11 minutes. It builds again as this theme continues to be repeated. Check out the guitar just lighting it up 15 1/2 minutes in. Just an outstanding track. I like the calm sections and of course the all out assaults. "Nonobservance" sounds great early as each member impresses with their intricate yet powerful play. Some vocal expressions after 5 minutes. It's building after 5 1/2 minutes then check out the guitar 6 minutes in. The bass is growling deeply. It settles before 9 1/2 minutes then builds. Chaotic is the word as the guitar makes lots of noise and the vocals come in. "Vothqrassent" is a little chaotic to open and the guitar isn't pleasant by any means. That changes though. A calm 4 1/2 minutes. Love the drumming after 6 minutes and the guitar too.

"Palljimgrahana" opens with percussion and other almost distant sounds. It's building as the guitar and drums come to the fore. Great sound 2 1/2 minutes in. The guitar is making lots of noise 4 minutes in. So much going on though. It settles before 5 minutes but it's far from being calm. "Guru Zakun Kin Kan" is the longest track at over 24 minutes. Percussion and other sounds as the angular guitar melodies arrive. It's building. Synths follow with whistling and vocal expressions before 6 minutes. Nice bass after 7 minutes. A calm followed by synths which really add to the mood here. Vocals after 12 minutes in a powerful soundscape. A calm then it builds again. Check out the drumming,bass and keyboards after 15 minutes. Again the tempo and mood continue to shift. It's so moving 20 1/2 minutes in when the mellotron washes in. It's hard to express really. It's been so powerul and often difficult then out of nowhere beauty appears. Vocal melodies join the mellotron to great effect. Hoppy starts to sound like Christian Vander vocally.The guitar after 22 minutes sounds fantastic with the synths, bass, vocals and drums as the tempo picks up. I tell you this song and the 17 1/2 minute opener are brilliant. "Surabaya" is the 4 1/2 minute closer. Intricate but powerful sounds come and go. Some vocal expressions from Hoppy. They're kicking ass 2 1/2 minutes in. It settles a minute later.

This is not for the faint of heart. Adventerous, frantic, complex, powerful, dissonant and at times beautiful, but never boring.

Mellotron Storm | 4/5 |


As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

Share this KOREKYOJINN review

Social review comments () BETA

Review related links

Copyright Prog Archives, All rights reserved. | Legal Notice | Privacy Policy | Advertise | RSS + syndications

Other sites in the MAC network: — jazz music reviews and archives | — metal music reviews and archives