Progarchives, the progressive rock ultimate discography
Porcupine Tree - The Sky Moves Sideways CD (album) cover


Porcupine Tree


Heavy Prog

4.06 | 1269 ratings

From, the ultimate progressive rock music website

Chris M
5 stars "Perpare Yourself" for The Sky Moves Sideways

The Sky Moves Sideways is classed as Porcupine Tree's third studio album. There are 4 versions of the album: 1) 1995 European release, 2) 1996 US release, 3) 2004 expanded & remastered edition and 4) 2004 3LP edition.

Here I am reviewing the 2004 expanded & remastered edition on CD. This album is compared many fans to Pink Floyd's Wish You Were Here album because of their similar structure; both albums have extended pieces at the beginning and end, which are halves of a single song. This album was also the first to be released in the US and also the first album that was created by the band rather than just Steven Wilson.

Now for the songs:

Disc 1

1) The Sky Moves Sideways Phase 1 - This is the first half of this song which is one of my favourites and the whole song was created by the band which includes Steven Wilson on Guitars, Keyboards, Programming, Flute and Vocals. Richard Barbieri on Synthesizers and Electronics. Colin Edwin on Bass Guitar and Double Bass. Chris Maitland on Percussion. Suzanne Barbieri on Vocals & Theo Travis of Gong fame on Flute.

2) Dislocated Day - This track is a remastered version with Gavin Harrison playing Drums which replaces the Programmed Drums from the original. This album was made while the transition of the band took over so this track is like previous albums just a sole Steven Wilson production. If i was to listen to this track on its own i would have to rate it as one of my least favourites, it just dosen't gel as well with me if i listen to it on its own.

3) The Moon Touches Your Shoulder - Again this track is remastered from the original with Gavin Harrison playing Drums and Steven Wilson playing Guitars, Keyboards, Bass & Vocals. This song is a track you can chill to quite easily and sits perfectly between the two halves of The Sky Moves Sideways.

4) Prepare Yourself - This track again is done by Steven Wilson on his own and features him playing Guitars. This album version is the first version to have both Prepare Yourself and Stars Die in the track list.

5) The Sky Moves Sideways Phase 2 - This is the second half of the song and the track that ends the original album. This together with the first is easily a track you can listen and let time fly by.

Disc 2

6) The Sky Moves Sideways (Alternative Version) - As the title says this is a different version from the original and runs at an impressive 34.43 minutes. Throughout most of the recording sessions for The Sky Moves Sideways the plan was that the album would contain only the title track as one 50 minute long piece of music. A version of this length was never completed, but the alternative version here is a work in progress mix that contains some music that was eventually cut from the final album, as well as an earlier set of lyrics.

7) Stars Die - This is a beautiful track to listen to and hope Porcupine Tree will come back to playing this live a few more times. This is also the first track of Porcupine Tree's to be played on the radio probably due to its length and commerciability. Steven Wilson plays the Guitars, Keyboards, Tapes and Vocals. Colin Edwin plays the Bass. Chris Maitland plays the Drums & Rick Edwards plays the Percussion.

8) Moonloop (Improvisation) - This track is a different version again to the previous 2 releases of the album and includes an additional three minutes material that only was available on the Moonloop EP. Again this track has the same credits as Stars Die and is an easy listen with which you can dream away with.

9) Moonloop (Coda) - Again this track is part of the hybred version and is a small addition to the previous track that has now been seperated into 2 tracks.

Overall this i feel is a fantastic album that compliments their previous album Up The Downstair and sets the band off in a fantastic direction that will continue to evolve and progress over the years. This album was my second introduction to the band and i found myself dreaming away on many a sunny days and for me it is an essential album that i would be lost if i did not have it after listening to it the first time.

Chris M | 5/5 |


As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

Share this PORCUPINE TREE review

Social review comments () BETA

Review related links

Copyright Prog Archives, All rights reserved. | Legal Notice | Privacy Policy | Advertise | RSS + syndications

Other sites in the MAC network: — jazz music reviews and archives | — metal music reviews and archives