Progarchives, the progressive rock ultimate discography
Porcupine Tree - Nil Recurring CD (album) cover


Porcupine Tree


Heavy Prog

3.95 | 536 ratings

From, the ultimate progressive rock music website

3 stars In the second half of 2007, Porcupine Tree released the Nil Recurring EP, featuring four songs recorded during the Fear of a Blank Planet sessions. As with many Porcupine Tree releases, the title track opens this release. Robert Fripp plays lead guitar here, and drummer Gavin Harrison contributes some guitar as well. It's an interesting instrumental, but I can see why it was excluded from the album. "Nil Recurring" stands fine on its own, but there's no obvious spot for it on the album. "Normal" is a gloomy, mostly-acoustic piece with a chorus which is a further development of "Sentimental" which fails to otherwise stand out. "Cheating the Polygraph" shares significant DNA with "Nil Recurring" and "Fear of a Blank Planet": it's heavy, weird, and thoroughly engaging. "What Happens Now?", meanwhile, directly quotes a riff from "Anesthetize" and features some electric violin, but it ultimately fails to do much for me. The last two or three minutes are dramatic, but it takes way too long to get going.

Review originally posted here:

TheEliteExtremophile | 3/5 |


As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

Share this PORCUPINE TREE review

Social review comments () BETA

Review related links

Copyright Prog Archives, All rights reserved. | Legal Notice | Privacy Policy | Advertise | RSS + syndications

Other sites in the MAC network: — jazz music reviews and archives | — metal music reviews and archives

Donate monthly and keep PA fast-loading and ad-free forever.