Progarchives, the progressive rock ultimate discography
Companyia Elèctrica Dharma - Diumenge CD (album) cover


Companyia Elèctrica Dharma


Jazz Rock/Fusion

4.25 | 40 ratings

From, the ultimate progressive rock music website

4 stars Catalàn Jazz-Rock Fusion pioneers from the family Fortuny from Barcelona--their debut album, before they managed to imbed their j-r Fuse within traditional Catalàn musical traditions.

1. "Fesomies Urbanes" (5:26) awesomely rich Jazz-Rock Fusion of the funk-infused sort; a cross between Headhunters- era Herbie Hancock and Return To Forever. I love the support of the too-heavily-reverbed soprano saxophone by the electric wah-wah rhythm guitar and Fender Rhodes keyboard (they almost bury the sax!). Jordi Soley's Moog sound choice and play is very fresh/refreshing as well. Bass player Carles Vidal is solid though a bit too muted while drummer Josep Fortuny is great in his pacing and support. (9/10)

2. "Lila" (4:17) water sounds beneath a soloing Spanish guitar open this one for about 40-seconds before bass, Fender Rhodes, and soprano sax join in with some very nice harmonic support. But it's the guitar that's the center and star of this show: displaying some pretty amazing skills in a kind of unique style along the way. The sax and Fender get some solo time in the third and fourth minutes, but, again, it's really Esteve Fortuny's show on his Spanish guitar. (9/10)

3. "Capità Trueno" (10:16) back to RTF style and sound palette, though this time the guitar has a bit more Johnny Mac style to it--and the soprano sax certainly flavors the music differently than anything contemporary MO or RTF are doing. On this song the bass, electric guitar, and Fender Rhodes are mixed as if in the same universe while the sax and drums feel as if they're on different continents: the former a small church and the latter a distant tunnel of an underground cave system. Though all the musicians are competent at their instruments--and perform proving such-- they really do not seem to always be "in the same song," that is, there's just a little too much separation and distance between the melodies and rhythms to make me feel a cohesive unity for this composition. Is it more mathematical--or more independent "free jazz" they're trying to merge within the RTF style? At 6:55 there is an interesting--and pleasant--shift in tempo and key which allows the sax a better bed over which to lay down his next solo. This is the first time in this song that I've felt as if the band had "come together" with a common vision for the song. The sax player is good--expressive and talented--but that weird, overly-reverbed sound is quite annoying. (17.5/20)

4. "Lalila" (1:16) more acoustic guitar play: either two or just one with a long-delayed echo effect employed. At the 0:45 mark Joan Fortuny enters with her soprano sax and then the song fades out! (4.25/5)

5. "Eufòria" (4:24) again the band seems to be trying to emulate the Return To Forever formula with guitar, drums, and bass propelling the song along while keyboards and sax add their own spices. At the same time, it's guitarist Esteve Fortuny who takes the first (and, it turns out, only) solo--one that is quite like Larry Coryell (in sound) and/or Corrado Restuci (in style) more than J. McLaughlin or Al Di. (8.75/10)

6. "L'harmoniosa Simfonia D'un Cos. Part 1" (4:17) opening with percussion bells and saxophone with spacious Fender Rhodes, bass, and guitar chords providing some accompaniment and mood-manipulation beneath. This one really sounds like the music that will represent the band NOVA either during the same year or just after this release. Unfortunately, despite the nice sound base, it never really develops much or takes off until "part 2." (8.875/10)

7. "L'harmoniosa Simfonia D'un Cos. Part 2" (3:39) the rhythm is added so that the song can move forward. It's a nice, city driving pace but it is highlighted by the top being down so the listeners can enjoy the sun, wind, and exo-urban scenery. Here all of the instruments seem to be in perfect synchrony while still supporting the soloing of Joan Fortuny's soprano sax. (9.125/10)

8. "El "bailaor" Còsmic" (4:22) a slow, spacey opening like something from a Larry Coryell album turns into a nice movin' bass-and-drum generated J-R F flight over which keyboard artist Jordi Soley gets a chance to show his stuff on his Fender Rhodes, that is, before guitarist Esteve Fortuny jumps in and takes over with his rather aggressive electric jazz guitar play. I like the more Latin (Catalàn?) rhythmic touches in the foundation. I also like the band's tightness on this one. (9/10)

9. "Tema Dels Carrers Radioactius" (1:50) another shaker and mover that shows the band firing on all cylinders--with fairly good precision timing, too. Too bad it's so brief. (4.5/5)

Total time 39:47

B+/four stars; a wonderful display of peak-era, somewhat Latin and Return To Forever-influenced Jazz-Rock Fusion. The family needs another year or two to polish their collective vision and timing skills, but I can only recommend this one highly!

BrufordFreak | 4/5 |


As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password


Social review comments () BETA

Review related links

Copyright Prog Archives, All rights reserved. | Legal Notice | Privacy Policy | Advertise | RSS + syndications

Other sites in the MAC network: — jazz music reviews and archives | — metal music reviews and archives

Donate monthly and keep PA fast-loading and ad-free forever.