Progarchives, the progressive rock ultimate discography
Ayreon - Universal Migrator, Part 1: The Dream Sequencer CD (album) cover




Progressive Metal

3.61 | 454 ratings

From, the ultimate progressive rock music website

4 stars I was intrigued by the way Arjen decided to release these 2 albums, with both of them having their own unique sound, therefore almost being like a 2 different sides of Ayreon, and everyone has their favourtie (to be honest I always liked the culmination of the 2).

These albums where different, with the loss of the vocal battles (which I always thought made Ayreon what it is), the lack of less metal in this album, and even different methods of songwriting. I haven't picked a favourite yet, but I will by tonight (haven't heard the 2nd part yet).

This album is quite a strong album, not as good as the later 2, but still very good. Usually with Ayreon albums, nearlly every song hits you in the face, but I agree with the melow side. The songs flow well, and in my opinion, leading up to the standout tracks, is quite a good build up throughout. I didn't dislike anysongs (except for one).

The concept is based on the confusing Ayreon story, and the whole album is like a chronological skip backward through time, which I thought was pretty cool.

1. The Dream Sequencer - Great use of atmosphere and sound effects. 9/10

2. My House On Mars - I love the droney vocals. Some lovely instrumental work. 9/10

3. 2084 - Very Jeff Beck influenced, guitar wise. Love the click organ and the vocal performance. 9/10

4. One Small Step - Great chorus and some amazing backing vocals. Very Pink Floyd. 10/10

5. The Shooting Company Of Captain Frans B. Cocq - Did this really need to be on the album. Its just boring, and the rip off John Lennon vocalist (Mouse is what you call him...MOUSE!!!) isn't very good. Very forgetfull and really weak for Ayreon.And the word Cocq is a homonym for another word, don't try and fool us! 5/10

6. Dragon On The Sea - One of the best songs on the album. Amazing chorus, and the overlayed vocals are spectacular. 10/10

7. Temple Of The Cat - A nice wee song with some lovely vocals and instrumental work. 9/10

8. Carried By The Wind - Pretty jaunty. Typical Ayreon. 8/10

9. And The Druids Turn To Stone - Ahh,Damian Wilson, the guy who got drunk, and started talking to my brother on Facebook about eating cheese, and how he's alergic, but he's too drunk not to eat it. Judging from his voice, I would assume he's superhuman, but no, he's just like us all. The vocals are amazing as usual. Beautiful arrangement. 9/10

10. The First Man On Earth - Ahhh, Neal Morse, anything this man touches turns to gold (and everything he lays watse to as well). Amazing wee tune. Neal really makes this song what it is, and that's amazing. 10/10

11. The Dream Sequencer Reprise - A Floydy instrumental. Couldn't think of a better ending. 9/10

CONCLUSION: As usual with Ayreon, the album is really good. Not Arjen's best work, but still something to be proud of.

arcane-beautiful | 4/5 |


As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

Share this AYREON review

Social review comments () BETA

Review related links

Copyright Prog Archives, All rights reserved. | Legal Notice | Privacy Policy | Advertise | RSS + syndications

Other sites in the MAC network: — jazz music reviews and archives | — metal music reviews and archives