Progarchives, the progressive rock ultimate discography
Yes - Yes CD (album) cover




Symphonic Prog

3.25 | 1212 ratings

From, the ultimate progressive rock music website

5 stars Now, here's the case of a severely underrated album. Honestly, you've got some pretty strong songs on here and you have to cut Yes a break, I mean this was their first album! Before I go song by song, I'd just like to comment on the packaging and sound quality of the remastered edition. First off, it comes with a pretty big booklet with some cool artwork, photos, and a story of the band at the time. It also comes with lyrics. And as for as the sound quality goes, it is quite good, but having never heard the original I can't really compare the two. Anyway, here it goes song by song.

1. Beyond and Before- A pretty good opener but isn't one of the strongest on the album, imo. However, it does have some great vocals and you definitely know it's Yes. 7.5/10

2. I See You- By far one of the best songs on the album. It's a great cover that really brings you up when you're down (if that makes any sense). But anyway, it's such a great song that also showcases what great musicians these guys were. 10/10

3. Yesterday and Today- It's truly a shame that no one ever really mentions this one. It's a short ballad but it's a truly beautiful song. Jon Anderson's got such a great voice, man. It gets a solid 9.5/10

4. Looking Around- This one is definitely a rocker but I kind of think it's overrated. It's really not one of my favorites, but that's not to say that its a bad song. It's actually not bad. It's got some good influences. 7/10

5. Harold Land- Squire's bass kicks this song off to a great start. So much energy from these guys. This is great song with some deep lyrics that are actually pretty sad when you think about it. Good stuff. 9/10

6. Every Little Thing- I can't believe i'm saying this, because The Beatles are my favorite band, but I kind of think this cover is better. It's got better vocals than the original and an impressive two minute jam session in the beginning. Day tripper reference in here! 9/10

7. Sweetness- No other way to describe this one other than a nice, relaxing song. It's got some great vocals. What a beautiful song, man. I think was actually the single from this album (or the B side) or something. 8.5/10

8. Survival- Yes's first sort of epic though it's not quite long enough. After the first two minutes this one really gets great. I love the part when it was like "Never doubt the fact there's life within you." and stuff. Man, that part is beautiful. I'm glad they still keep this one around, sort of. 9.5/10

Overall, this deserves a higher rating than it has. You should honestly just pick this one up. I got it for like $6.99 and it was definitely worth it.

skihero45 | 5/5 |


As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

Share this YES review

Social review comments () BETA

Review related links

Copyright Prog Archives, All rights reserved. | Legal Notice | Privacy Policy | Advertise | RSS + syndications

Other sites in the MAC network: — jazz music reviews and archives | — metal music reviews and archives