Progarchives, the progressive rock ultimate discography
Crucis - Kronologia CD (album) cover




Symphonic Prog

4.56 | 60 ratings

From, the ultimate progressive rock music website

Prog Reviewer
5 stars I consider this album easily the most virtuosic and grandiose progressive rock album in South America. The music is like prog jazz-rock with Focus influences. The musicianship is incredible. The guitar player sounds like a hybrid of the guitarists of King Crimson and Camel. The keyboardist sounds like a Jon lord-Emerson-banks hybrid and has a great musical connection with the guitarist making them combine and produce great music. The bass player does his job very well, yet never steals the show. The drummer is as good as Carl Palmer or Bill Bruford, and the vocals .. well ... are not that good.

Overall, the music is dominated by strong organ-guitar riffing, not a very used feature in progressive rock I have to say, but it is what makes this album a masterpiece

1. Todo tiempo posible 9.5/10 : A perfect beginning, using hammond organ riffs, great drumming, and a very emotional guitar solo. The vocals are the most pleasant on this track.

2. Mes 8/10 : starting with crunchy guitars, the song builds up into a very pleasant rock song with many different organ-guitar unison riffs (the signature sound of Crucis).

3. Corto Amanecer 8/10 : starting with the guitar-keyboards riffs that makes Crucis so great, this is a good song with melodic vocals with riffing backing the singer up.

4. La triste Vision del Entierro Proprio 10.5/10 : One masterful track. It starts with electronic harpsichord (?) which is later augmented by a powerful guitar riff. It then changes to another good keyboard-guitar riff, switches to vocals, and switches back. The vocals are very good here. Then the harpsichord appears again. It is a simple track, but it is perfect.

5. Ironico Ser 7.5/10 : A guitar dominated short piece. It rocks all the way and is very memorable. A turn off is the intro which is a huge rip-off of South Side of The Sky

6. Determinados Espejos 10/10 : A masterful instrumental rock fusion track, including a synth solo of a very unique sound, and an extended guitar solo. Excellent!

7. Recluso Artista 7.5/10 : masterful riffs all over the place, but they are repeated too much, hurting the pleasure of the track.

8. No mi separen de mi 8/10 : A song that starts with synths and later turns into the verse and choruses. The verses are not very strong and the vocals are at their weakest here (even though the melody is very memorable) ... but the choruses contain one of the best riffs I ever heard!

9. Los Delirios del Mariscal 11/10 (masterpiece) : Is there a song more perfect than this? this is the masterpiece of the album. The main theme that grows slowly is prog rock as it's best. After the main theme is played with electric guitar and the drumming pattern is changed, an extended guitar solo backed by keyboards is played with alternates with keyboard riffs playing in moments. After the solo ends, the main theme is repeated for a few times again (it is repeated so many times, but it is as good as close to the Edge) until a musical break occurs with a keyboard riff. After the keyboard riff, an amazing guitar riff soars, switches to a keyboard-keyboard riff which for me is the most memorable part of the album, switches back to the guitar riff, and switches again and again until the song ends.

10. Pollo Frito 9.5/10 : The song starts like many others : with a solid guitar-keyboard riff. There's a short spacey break afterwards, and then it comes back stronger with a great guitar riff. Then it has yet another change with a melodic guitar solo. Then it goes back to the beginning, and has yet more changes and insired solos. This is an absolute gem with jazz-fusion influences. 11. Abismo Terrenal 10.5/10 : phenomenal and exhilarating finisher, and in my opinion, the best 'show-off' instrumental piece of all times. the first 3 minutes are normal, it starts with a guitar solo, then a brilliant guitar riff ... after that finishes what's next?... well ... about 8 minutes of soloing. The first solo is the Keyboard which sounds very unique like the great solo of Determinados Espejos. The second solo may be the best extended guitar solo I have heard yet: it is about 5 minutes long, yet is always highly melodic and extremely exciting. The best part of the solo is when organ chords interplay with a frenzied guitar. Then there is a solid drum solo and a very melodic bass solo. After all the soloing finishes, the song returns to the brilliant riff of the beginning and ends .. but Pino Marrone keeps playing, like if he will not play anymore after the CD is done ... so the guitar sounds desperate, fast, unable to stop.

In conclusion, I really recommend this work of art. You will not be disappointed. One of the best (if not the best) albums to come from South America.

My Grade : A

Zitro | 5/5 |


As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

Share this CRUCIS review

Social review comments () BETA

Review related links

Copyright Prog Archives, All rights reserved. | Legal Notice | Privacy Policy | Advertise | RSS + syndications

Other sites in the MAC network: — jazz music reviews and archives | — metal music reviews and archives