Progarchives, the progressive rock ultimate discography
City Boy - Heads Are Rolling CD (album) cover


City Boy


Prog Related

2.45 | 18 ratings

From, the ultimate progressive rock music website

Special Collaborator
Prog Metal Team
2 stars A slight misstep...

City Boy lost two of its original members after their previous release, The Day the Earth Caught Fire, managed to completely miss the attention of the mainstream audience. Steve Broughton and Chris Dunn were important to the signature style of the band and seeing them leave did create a lot of hollow room, especially since the remaining quartet decided to carry on without any replacements.

Let me start by addressing the album's cover since it never really appealed to me and I honestly can't imagine how anyone could have green-lighted it. Book Early was the most unappealing album cover up until now but Heads Are Rolling definitely drops the bar a few more notches which makes Book Early seem not that bad in comparison. The cover really has not connection to the music that it tries to represent since this album is just as colorful and vibrant as most of the previous albums.

Although the overall style is still the same, the quality of the compositions is really not on the same level as before. The first three tracks starts the album off on a weird note that does take a while to shake off. Fortunately we have tracks like Change In The Weather, The Police-inspired Domino and Speechless that returns the album on the right track for a while. This doesn't really hold for too long and the quality sinks once again with The Sound Of The Bell and the ultra cheesy ballad You're Leaving Me.

Heads Are Rolling shows City Boy at their career low, which is quite understandable since the band needed some time to reorganize themselves in order to get back on track. Most fans actually didn't get a follow up to the story until only a few years back when the band's seventh and final album It's Personal finally got a proper release, but more on that in my next review!

**** star songs: Change In The Weather (3:44) Domino (3:45) Speechless (3:35) Bloody Sunday (3:25) Life On The Balcony (4:57)

*** star songs: Mr. Shoes (3:24) Heads Are Rolling (3:58) Need A Little Loving (3:41) The Sound Of The Bell (3:41) You're Leaving Me (3:58) Heaven For The Holidays (3:34)

Rune2000 | 2/5 |


As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

Share this CITY BOY review

Social review comments () BETA

Review related links

Copyright Prog Archives, All rights reserved. | Legal Notice | Privacy Policy | Advertise | RSS + syndications

Other sites in the MAC network: — jazz music reviews and archives | — metal music reviews and archives