Progarchives, the progressive rock ultimate discography
Progarchives, the progressive rock ultimate discography
Comets on Fire - Avatar CD (album) cover


Comets on Fire


Psychedelic/Space Rock

3.84 | 23 ratings

From, the ultimate progressive rock music website

4 stars The sound these guys make is basically a psychadelic, experimental sound, reminiscent to the 70's, with elements of Jam bands like Phish, and a stoner vibe to, like Black Sabbath. So basically theirs alot of 70's in these guys.

But don't let all this fool you, because their is a cunningness behind their 70's skin, because their is great use of harmony, beautiful piano moments, an amazing vocalist and just some great proggy moment too.

The songs on the album seem quite lengthy, but to be honest, you kind of feel like their should be more, and their quite short. The songs really do have moments where anything can happen, and you'd be fine with listening to it, from noisy moments, to extended guitar solos, odd vocal passages, it really is interesting to hear.

Although I think the best songs on the album are the songs that sound more different. Their is 5 songs I absolutely love on this album, and its mainly because their so different than the other 2. I love it when the songs take on a more melodic touch, rather than just noisy psychadellia. These guys really can craft great songs, and really make something magical. Even in the jams, they take you on acid trips, and as background music, this works really well.

The musicianship is amazing too, with each member showing off whatever they can do on a chosen instrument, and some can even play several.

1. Dogwood Rust - Great how it just dives straight into the song. This sounds like Deep Purple jamming with Led Zeppelin, with Black Sabbath in the background. Great jamming in it, which really takes you on a psychadelic acid trip. 10/10

2. Jaybird - Nice laid back feel to the song. Great main riff. The song reminds me of Bad Company for some odd reason. The build up and the ending throughout is pretty cool too. 8/10

3. Lucifer's Memory - This song for some reason reminds me of Tom Waits, mainly because of the piano playing and the arrangement. The piano really does add beauty to this song. The guitar leeds are very pretty and interesting. One of the best songs on the album definitly. 10/10

4. The Swallow's Eye - The intro is very post rock. I love how the vocals are low in the mix and how noise is used to add depth. The jam at the end is cool too. 8/10

5. Holy Teeth - This song sounds like Boris (Japanese drone band). Very punky, and I love the vocals. Short and sweet really. 10/10

6. Sour Smoke - Just a great instrumental. I love that reptitive odd timed riff. This song also has quite a folky feel to it too, and at times sounds like Jethro Tull jamming with Wishbone Ash. For a long 8 minute instrumental, it really doesn't get boring, which is great because it puts Metallica to shame haha. 10/10

7. Hatching Upon The Age - Great piano riffs in the song. The vocals are the real highlight though, because they're amazing. One of the most catchiest song on the album, with a cool chorus. This is just an amazing end to a great album.

CONCLUSION: This album really suprised me. I never usually get really into bands like this, but these guys are something special. It's not perfect, but it is one great album.

arcane-beautiful | 4/5 |


As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

Share this COMETS ON FIRE review

Social review comments () BETA

Review related links

Copyright Prog Archives, All rights reserved. | Legal Notice | Privacy Policy | Advertise | RSS + syndications

Other sites in the MAC network: — jazz music reviews and archives | — metal music reviews and archives