Progarchives, the progressive rock ultimate discography
Progarchives, the progressive rock ultimate discography
Discipline - To Shatter All Accord CD (album) cover




Symphonic Prog

4.19 | 633 ratings

From, the ultimate progressive rock music website

5 stars Let me start by staying that I have been a Discipline fan for quite some time and had the pleasure to see them perform live at the Northeast Art Rock Festival a couple years ago.

1. Circuitry (6:16) ? wow it starts with the classic Discipline sound. The music of this track features the classic sound of integrated keyboards and guitar along with organ accompaniment. It starts soft and strong but progresses into a very powerful piece pulled forward by some exceptional lead guitar by Jon Preston Bouda. This track could have easily been on Unfolded like Staircase.

2. When the Walls are Down (7:29) ? This track is excellent, but I know that because it sounds so familiar that I have heard it before? Perhaps on their live DVD? Yes, I am correct. Now I know why the material sounds so much like Unfolded like Staircase. At least the first couple of tracks are left over from that era. Don't get me wrong. This is more than ok. These are great tracks and should have never been left behind in the first place. This track is nothing short of what you would have expected from their earlier epic release.

3. Dead City (5:15) ? This song starts as a math rock track with understated keyboard backdrop and exceptional lead guitar. It is still reminiscent of the Unfolded like Staircase era. Perhaps in this day and age, it is better released today. The song is about Zombies, so lyrically we can't take it too seriously, however Discipline has always been somewhat satirical.

4. When She Dreams She Dreams in Color (13:40) ? We have crossed a threshold here that takes the music in a new direction and into a new dimension. Not only is there a definite difference in the quality of the production, but the song wring style is decidedly different. Now could Discipline get any better? Yes, this track starts with the same progressive excellence as the previous tracks but has the most awesome composition that I have ever heard. It is freakishly beautiful and powerfully bleak with hope only around the corner. Then the best performance Meletron that I have ever heard with an incredible grandiose moment that evades description. The music is powerful . The first time I heard this track was when I was in the after-NEARfest ball room party, and Tom Gagliardi (host of Progressive Rock Gagliarcives) played it during his show. The epic ending of this piece is scored by an incredible solo that is either a violin or saxophone; the question remaining, which is it? This has the quality of any Pink Floyd song ever released.

5. Rogue (24:04) ? This song starts with some great acoustic guitar and then moves into some wonderful jazzy rolling music with a math-rock backdrop. This song is more technical with lots of changes. The guitar work is superb. This track evolves with a very well developed rock movement that devolves back and forth between melodic piano and guitar riffs with the heavier sound. The progressive element of the song takes over again with the Meletron in the forefront. Discipline music is designed for Meletron. The lead guitar work over the Meletron is absolutely excellent. This 24 minute track just flies by.

Discipline is just one of these bands that keep you coming back for more. And although this is really a compilation of tracks originally planned for a late 90s release and new material, it still an excellent release and a well worthy addition to any collection. 5/5

TechnicallySpeaking | 5/5 |


As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

Share this DISCIPLINE review

Social review comments () BETA

Review related links

Copyright Prog Archives, All rights reserved. | Legal Notice | Privacy Policy | Advertise | RSS + syndications

Other sites in the MAC network: — jazz music reviews and archives | — metal music reviews and archives