Progarchives, the progressive rock ultimate discography
Yes - Time and a Word CD (album) cover




Symphonic Prog

3.32 | 1449 ratings

From, the ultimate progressive rock music website

4 stars Hey all in the prog universe, time for yet another prog review. Today, I will be reviewing Yes' Time and a Word. Now for the background on this recording. Time and a Word was the second studio album from the band. It was released in 1970 and it featured the exact same lineup as the first album (Anderson - Vocals, Squire - Bass, Bruford - Drums, Kaye - Keys, Banks - Guitar). However, unlike the previous album (Yes) there was a bit of a twist to this, as an orchestra was added to the mix. This was met with a mixed reception among Yes fans as some hated it while some thought it added to the music. How did I feel about it? Well, on to the review no??

The track listing is as follows:

1) No Opportunity Necessary, No Experience Needed - Decent cover of a Richie Havens piece but nothing really that special (the exception being the rhythm section of course) in my eyes. 7/10

2) Then - This piece is one of those musically sophisticated pieces that doesn't get its dues. Chris and Bill work best on here in my opinion. Also, to top that off just look at those lyrics from Jon: "love is the only answer, hate is the root of cancer" (that's deep stuff my friends). In this song you can see and hear a band that is growing before our eyes and even though they are not quite there yet (on the album overall) there is potential for greatness. A sign of great things to come. 10/10

3) Everydays - A jazzy rock piece that is relaxing during the verses but then strikes you like lightning as its dynamics change up (they are fantastic I tell you) on you. I feel like this song is like Perpetual Change in the making (or its lesser known brother). 10/10

4) Sweet Dreams - This song has a great groove and a rhythm section to die for (Bill and Chris were one of the best rhythm sections, if not the best in Prog at the time). Not a bad vocal delivery from Jon either. 9/10

5) The Prophet - This piece has never been a fav of mine. It doesn't really cut it for me. Not a bad track at all but it just doesnt do much for me. 6/10

6) Clear Days - To me this song is same as "The Prophet" as it is nothing special (at least for my ears). I believe Yes was in the process of replacing Peter Banks (not 100% sure though) with this piece and it shows. Not a bad track though it is just not really to my liking. 6/10

7) Astral Traveller - This song is crazy and you see what Yes is really capable of on this track. They create that atmosphere that would eventually become Yes and the Yes Sound as it goes through many time signatures I believe the verse is in 7/4 (It might even be in 6/4). I maybe wrong but it's definitely not popular among rock bands (especially today) and odd time signatures like that during verses tickle my fancy hehe. The best song on the album bar none. 10/10

8) Time and a Word - Musically this song is pure pop but the lyrics speak to me on a deep level. I take the lyrics here to heart as they are the basis for my life and how I live it. Lyrics are really good. They want to get you to do something positive. I like it a lot. 9/10

Overall, despite some forgettable tracks (The Prophet and Clear Days) and the orchestration being somewhat mixed for me. I felt that Time and a Word was a step in the right direction for Yes as in this record the band showed us what they were really capable of (Astral Traveller, Everydays, Then, Sweet Dreams). It's not a perfect album or a masterpiece but it certainly is not bad either (I thought it was actually pretty damn good) but again since it pales in comparison to later Yes albums I am going to deduct it some. I am going to give yet another early Yes album a solid 4 stars. Peace out!

ProgMetaller2112 | 4/5 |


As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

Share this YES review

Social review comments () BETA

Review related links

Copyright Prog Archives, All rights reserved. | Legal Notice | Privacy Policy | Advertise | RSS + syndications

Other sites in the MAC network: — jazz music reviews and archives | — metal music reviews and archives

Donate monthly and keep PA fast-loading and ad-free forever.