Progarchives, the progressive rock ultimate discography
No-Man - Flowermouth CD (album) cover




Psychedelic/Space Rock

3.91 | 190 ratings

From, the ultimate progressive rock music website

Mellotron Storm
Prog Reviewer
3 stars The biggest problem for me with this album is the dance beat that is heard way too often for my tastes. Lots of fantastic guests on this one though. I was surprised to see the legendary Ian Carr from NUCLEUS playing trumpet on the first track. Ben Coleman plays violin on many of the songs, while Robert Fripp is doing his Frippertronics on most of these songs too including some guitar. Mel Collins plays sax and flute, while future PORCUPINE TREE drummer Chris Maitland plays on a few tracks and Richard Barbieri and Steve Jansen formerly of JAPAN also contribute.

It's cool to read in the liner notes how NO-MAN were given an advance and used it to upgrade Steven's home studio plus pay for these guests to contribute. Also after a meeting with the record label they were very disillusioned with the whole process after being told to create uptempo tunes and hit singles. Instead they decided to do it all their own way and at least go out on their own terms. The results were a lesson learned as they realized that they could never let the music be dictated by anything but themselves ever again. "Angel Gets Caught In The Beauty Trap" has some excellent lyrics as vocals arrive a minute in. Violin after 2 1/2 minutes, while Carr comes in at 5 1/2 minutes followed by Collins on his sax. Mel's back before 9 1/2 minutes. One of the best tunes on here, and the longest. "You Grow More Beautiful" is a fun song with a catchy beat. "Animal Ghost" opens with flute, percussion and synths before a dance beat comes in with vocals. Guitar comes in on the chorus. Violin takes it's turn when the chorus returns the second time. Flute is back 4 minutes in. "Soft Shoulders" sounds like early PORCUPINE TREE, a top three tune for me.

"Shell Of A Fighter" is another song dominated by that dance beat. Piano 3 minutes in. I like when it becomes fuller sounding 6 minutes in. "Teardrop Fall" is another catchy dance tune. "Watching Over Me" features vocals, guitar and percussion. Nice string arrangement after 3 1/2 minutes. "Simple" starts off poorly for me. A dance beat 1 1/2 minutes in doesn't help either. The female vocal melodies are good though. It gets intense after 4 minutes. It ends in a haunting fashion with no melody. Interesting. "Things Change" is by far the best track on here for my tastes. Mostly for the guitar that comes in before 4 1/2 minutes and continues ripping it up until after 7 minutes. I'm cheering and wanting more, but the album's over.

I just don't enjoy this enough to give it 4 stars.

Mellotron Storm | 3/5 |


As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

Share this NO-MAN review

Social review comments () BETA

Review related links

Copyright Prog Archives, All rights reserved. | Legal Notice | Privacy Policy | Advertise | RSS + syndications

Other sites in the MAC network: — jazz music reviews and archives | — metal music reviews and archives

Donate monthly and keep PA fast-loading and ad-free forever.