Progarchives, the progressive rock ultimate discography
Progarchives, the progressive rock ultimate discography
David Bowie - The Next Day CD (album) cover


David Bowie


Prog Related

3.90 | 181 ratings

From, the ultimate progressive rock music website

4 stars How can you not like Bowie. It's like saying you don't like Queen. It's just impossible.

Now Bowie has been MIA for a good few years now, and in all fairness, I was safe in the knowledge knowing that Bowie wasn't going to make anymore music. His stuff in the past was great and he has made his name for himself as a rock icon, legend and ubermensch of music.

So when I heard that he was releasing a new album, I was like "Hmm...not needed...but ok." So I was interested in this album, and was looking forward to hear it. Wasn't overly excited about it, but was still interested in it.

And then I heard it, and now I feel like a douchebag.

Yes, I shouldn't have doubted Bowie. I thought this album would have sounded aged and Bowie would have seemed older. But he really hasn't. This album could have been released in between The Berlin era or even Scary Monsters era, and I wouldn't have noticed a difference. Bowie proved that he hasn't lost it, and he even doesn't need Brian Eno or Robert Fripp to flesh out the sound or make Bowie seem more interesting.

The album is just a very good collection of classic Bowie songs. For all we know these could have been old songs that Bowie just plucked out from nowhere and fleshed to make them sound brilliant. It sounds modern yet also nostalgic.

1. The Next Day - Now this is how you start off an album. Reminds me of It's No Game off of Scary Monsters (without the crazy Japanese girl). Great way to start off an album. 9/10

2. Dirty Boys -One of the most noisiest and more grittiest songs on the album. With a lot of Fripp esque guitar work throughout. This song could have even been on Scary Monsters. 8/10

3. The Stars (Are Out Tonight) - When I heard this song, when it was released, I was a bit like "this is a single." But the more and more I listen to it, the more it does shine on me. For some odd reason, this song gives me a very Morissey/The Smiths vibe and tone. 10/10

4. Love Is Lost - Some interesting use of instruments and sounds on this song. But, don't let the blips and beeps confuse you, this is a great and well written song. Also, Bowie's vocals are pretty impressive in this song. 9/10

5. Where Are We Now? - The first song I heard from the album. When I heard this song, I was thinking "wow, Bowie sounds old." Now, his voice does sound a lot lower in this song, but it's mainly just for a melancholic effect. This song just proves how much I love Bowie style of songwriting. A simple idea, with some interesting chord progressions. A beautiful piece of music. 10/10

6. Valentine's Day - One of the albums more ballady moments. A bit forgettable, if I'm being honest. 7/10

7. If You Can See Me - One of the album's most proggy/art rock sounding songs. A weird collection of crazy musical moments and some rather interesting bits and pieces thrown in now and then. One of the most interesting songs on the album. 10/10

8. I'd Rather Be High - An odd song, but still a bit forgettable and a bit dull. 6/10

9. Boss Of Me - This could have been a very dark and brooding song, but it was kind of ruined by brass. Still a pretty cool song, but it started off so interesting and kind of went into normalcy. 7/10

10. Dancing Out In Space - My least favourite song on the album. I kind of get what Bowie was trying to accomplish, but at times, it just sounds very out of tune and off pitched. 6/10

11. How Does The Grass Grow? - One of the most oddest songs on the album, and one of my favourites. A catchy and crazy song, with some very odd backing vocals. 10/10

12. (You Will) Set The World On Fire - One of the albums more rockier moments. This song could have been on Ziggy Stardust, and I wouldn't even have noticed (although I'm not the biggest fan of that album). 8/10

13. You Feel So Lonely You Could Die - Whoever Bowie wrote this song about...I feel sorry for them. The lyrics in this song show a very nasty side to Bowie...and good on him. A beautifully arranged song, with a devious side. 9//10

14. Heat - A nice sombre and beautiful ending to the album. Nice use of atmopsheric keys and some nice lyrics and vocals from Bowie. 9/10

CONCLUSION: Having doubted Bowie a bit...I'm shocked...and impressed. Bowie is back. And he will always be here. Nothing can beat Bowie. Bowie BOWIE...BOWIE! Yes I am going a bit insane here, but in many ways this is an apology to Bowie. Not a personal favourite of mine, but I have to admit, it's up there, even among his "assumed" best work. I shall never doubt Bowie again. All hail Bowie!


arcane-beautiful | 4/5 |


As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

Share this DAVID BOWIE review

Social review comments () BETA

Review related links

Copyright Prog Archives, All rights reserved. | Legal Notice | Privacy Policy | Advertise | RSS + syndications

Other sites in the MAC network: — jazz music reviews and archives | — metal music reviews and archives