Progarchives, the progressive rock ultimate discography
Spock's Beard - Brief Nocturnes And Dreamless Sleep CD (album) cover


Spock's Beard


Symphonic Prog

4.01 | 689 ratings

From, the ultimate progressive rock music website

5 stars So Nick has left the band. I don't want to sound mean or anything...but...good riddance.

Ok...that's a bit harsh. Nick D'Virgillio was an amazing vocalist and drummer and I was very sad to see him go. But...IT'S TED LEONARD.

When I heard Ted was joining the band I was like "really, that amazing singer from Enchant." Now, he only joined as a "helping hand", but after hearing him perform with them live, I was like "get this dude in the band." And luckily enough, they where able to get this dude into the band." Also, Jimmy Keegan is now a full time member, which I'm happy about too, cause he's an amazing drummer, a good singer too and from what I gather a lovely guy.

Now, a perfect band formula is all fine and dandy...but...the band still needs to prove that they can continue this by perfecting the art of songwriting and also crafting an album that would prove everything that I would expect them to do and be. And...they did this...and more.

When it comes to early Spock's Beard, everything they did was flawless. Every song, every note...everything was perfect. This album is the closest they have been to this since V. I have never been so excited about this band since I first discovered and fell in love with them.

The band have never been stronger. Instrumentally, these guys have always been amazing, but the songwriting is better now, which makes it stand out more. Alan is one of the most underrated guitar players on the planet, same with Ryo on the keys. Dave's bass sound is one of the best and he rocks it like a motha ucker. The song styles have gone back to earlier sounds and are even flirting with more recent and experimental styles as well. Basically...these guys rule and this album rules.

Some of the bonus tracks on the Special edition are pretty killer as well, and in all fariness, I would have liked to have heard on the album. But...for those who want a good album the original. The bonus tracks should be for anyone who feels the album was too short (I felt it was a bit, you can never have enough of The Mighty Beard)

1. Hiding Out - Probably one of my favourite Spock's Beard songs...of all time. I mean it, this is one joyous and magical song. Written by Ted, this really shows off a new side to the band, with his absolutely amazing voice and an amazing songwriting style. I will be humming, singing, listening and enjoying this song for years to come. 10/10

2. I Know Your Secret - One of the albums more rockier songs, with some really kick ass riffs. I have a strange feeling that the rather vitriolic lyrics may be about former band mate Neal Morse...and if it is...this is a rather dangerous and brave move. 9/10

3. A Treasure Abandoned - Some nice instrumental sections throughout, but this is definitely the weakest song on the album. Has some interesting Genesis type moments, but its a bit extravagant and way too long in my opinion. 7/10

4. Submerged - The album's most popiest song. Another Ted song, with an amazing soaring chorus and a powerful vocal performance from Ted. A little bit less prog and more awesome I think. 10/10

5. Afterthoughts - For those who don't know, this song originally was supposed to be Thoughts Part 3, but after some "thought" (ha, you get it). Now, this song still has some harkenings back to the original 2 parts, but...its still its own song. In fact, I like to think of this as a prequel song. A brilliantly arranged song, and it even was co written by former member Neal. Also, Jimmy Keegan's added vocals in the song are pretty kick ass as well. 10/10

6. Something Very Strange - A song written by John, one of the band's friends/songwriters. This song is a very interesting and enjoyable piece, with an amazing vocal performance from Ted (as usual), some of the bands best instrumental work since Neal was in the band and some nice experiments with vocoders, synths and even some noisy feedback. 10/10

7. Waiting For Me - A nice long and happy ending to the album. This song is so full of joy, it sounds like the band are having a massive wave of euphoria. An obvious writing credit from Neal and mistakenly could have even been on one of his albums. 10/10

CONCLUSION: After writing a massive and well received album (X), and having to deal with a new line up, this band has really emerged from the fire with a new and better sound and a new perspective. This really is the classic line up mark II. With an amazing new vocalist and help from Neal, I await nothing but good tidings from this band now.


arcane-beautiful | 5/5 |


As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

Share this SPOCK'S BEARD review

Social review comments () BETA

Review related links

Copyright Prog Archives, All rights reserved. | Legal Notice | Privacy Policy | Advertise | RSS + syndications

Other sites in the MAC network: — jazz music reviews and archives | — metal music reviews and archives

Donate monthly and keep PA fast-loading and ad-free forever.