Progarchives, the progressive rock ultimate discography
Wolverine - Still CD (album) cover

STILL

Wolverine

Progressive Metal


From Progarchives.com, the ultimate progressive rock music website

Bookmark and Share
Mellotron Storm
PROG REVIEWER
4 stars Not as heavy as their debut "The Window Purpose" or as atmospheric as their second record "Cold Light Of Monday", somewhere in between II suppose. To me it sounds like a blend of RIVERSIDE and KATATONIA. Stefan Zell is a very good singer, at first I thought of Geoff Tate from QUEENSRYCHE , not as deep though.

And Stefan's brother Mikael is the lead guitarist, and I love it when he plays in the same style as the RIVERSIDE's guitarist, as he does on the first song "A House of Plague". This is my second favourite song on this disc. This is a killer song with some great atmosphere and heaviness. Very powerful at times.The second song "Bleeding is about being enslaved by insecurities and fear and how you have to confront and face and defeat them, or you will continue to bleed. Again I love the guitar on this song too ! "Taste Of Sand" opens with synths. A sudden full sound a minute in with lots of bottom end.

"Nothing More" is in my opinion the first average tune on here. It's a fairly mellow and laid back song. Song 5 "Sleepy Town" is interesting as the guitars and drums keep a steady rhythm while Stefan sings with restrained vocals "Is it this sleepy town or is it just me ?", kind of cool. For me the weakest songs are 6 and 7, then they impress me again with "This Cold Heart Of Mine". This one has a nice heavy sound before a minute. Dark riffs before 5 minutes. Then we finish with another RIVERSIDE sounding song that is my favourite called "And She Slowly Dies". Listening to the words and the beautiful, beautiful music actually made me emotional (o.k. keep that amongst yourselves, haha). I thought I was listening to ANATHEMA for a second, beautifully sad yet uplifting at the same time.

A solid 4 stars !

Report this review (#89209)
Posted Thursday, September 7, 2006 | Review Permalink
5 stars A friend of mine told me about this band. He said that Wolverine was somewhere between Pain of Salvation and Porcupine Tree. Being a huge fan of these two bands I decided to buy their last album "Still". I have to say that he was completely right. They can easily mix the heavy progressive parts with beautiful melodies using the keyboards as the main instrument. It's difficult to choose the best song in this album but from my point of view "Sleepy Town" stands as the most fantastique one. If youn think that Scarsick from Pain of Salvation isn''t worth buying or even listening too, than "Still" is the album for you.
Report this review (#109163)
Posted Saturday, January 27, 2007 | Review Permalink
The T
SPECIAL COLLABORATOR
Honorary Collaborator
3 stars It's been a while since I last reviewed an album. Let's try it again with a new format for this non-5-stars albums (with those I will still do the track-by-track).

WOLVERINE: This is a progressive-rock/metal band, with not so much metal in their music so that they can't be truly compared with the usual names in the genre (Dream Theater, Symphony X, Fates Warning). Their style has a little, just a little bit of Queensryche, just a hint (a HINT) of Fates Warning, an extra two-hairs of Riverside, but the band that they remember me the most is another not-so-famous one: Poverty's No Crime. Wolverine's sounds a lot like that German band, with rather traditional song structures and lengths, not many long solos, and more traditional chords instead of the usual metal ones. Of course, their metallic side is evident but to me it is so only because of the distortion of the guitars, that's the only metal-element present in Wolverine's music, which lacks traditional metal riffing or other common elements of the sub-genre (like pounding double-bass drums or extra speed). For me, in my humble opinion, this is traditional rock music but "metallized" through effects like distortion and heavy singing. The singer is very capable, and not overly metallic. He may sound like Geoff Tate at times, but mostly Tate at his least metal. There are moments where this singer even reminds me of Elton.

WHAT I LIKE: I like the music, in general. It's very easy to listen to, it could be liked even for those who don't swallow metal too easily, as the metal elements are not that important here. In particular, the first song is my favorite, the only one that truly stands out. The bad has a lot of energy and some creative ideas, and in this first song all of that is evident, with a great chorus and a good, emotional structure.

WHAT I DON'T LIKE: The music gets too repetitive after the first track. As I said, that one is really catchy and intense, but the rest are all too similar, there are no elements that make any of them stand out from the rest. As I already mentioned, this band sounds a lot like Poverty's No Crime, but without the ability to write great songs. Because, in the end, if the music is not that complex nor virtuosic nor incredibly "prog", we should always get at least great, entertaining songs, and, sadly, we only got one of those. The rest of the tracks are not BAD, they're just too.generic?

All in all, a decent album, with some hints of greatness, but without anything that really makes it stand out of the lot. Maybe the style itself is the most original part: metal that really isn't metal but metallized heavy rock. But I've heard this before anyway. I'll give the album a 3, because the music is enjoyable and good, but nothing spectacular.

Recommended for: Fans of prog-metal that don't need too much metal in their music; fans of Poverty's No Crime, fans of melodic, if somewhat generic rock music.

Not recommended for: people that want some truly original music.

. or maybe it IS original, because it doesn't try to sound original to the point of getting intellectually annoying.

Give the album a try. Maybe you'll like it more than me.

Report this review (#123194)
Posted Wednesday, May 23, 2007 | Review Permalink
Tristan Mulders
PROG REVIEWER
3 stars Wolverine - Still

Wolverine used to be one of those bands who'd combine black metal with prog, just like bands such as Subterranean Masquerade or more noticeably Opeth did. However, Wolverine always sounded music wise more like a band such as Threshold, that is more trademark prog metal like, yet with the occasional growl outburst. Quite the distinction!

As far as I know the band's third album "Still" is their first completely growlless album and compared to their previous album "Cold Light of Monday" it is also of a far more consistent quality. However, this consistent quality means that quite a few of the songs are similar in style and therefore there is lesser experimentation or even progression as on their second album, even though there were a few rather pointless 'songs' included on that release!

Overall, I can say that this is a decent prog metal album, but still also not the most original effort one can get hold off within the genre. Still as I already sad, it isn't a bad one either. I think that if they'd be continuing down that experimental path, yet keep up with the consistent quality of this effort that they'd might very well reach prog metal heights!

Report this review (#133357)
Posted Thursday, August 16, 2007 | Review Permalink
5 stars Wolverine has already made a great success in music since it's first album. But only "Still" has brought sense to all the previous ones.

It has blew me away from the first echo of musical trip. The songs are complex and melodically right. "Still" delivers passion and symphony to consciosness. Lyrically it doesn't bite or tear apart. Only a sence of sorrow comes at the end. And you want something that you have never wanted. And you feel such a thing that only an essential music brings.

The whole town is sleeping. And only you will never be the same if...

Seach for the music inside yourself. "Still" will help you in it. - It helps me...

Report this review (#146822)
Posted Thursday, October 25, 2007 | Review Permalink
Prog Leviathan
PROG REVIEWER
2 stars Banal heavy-prog mired by exceptionally stale and bland vocals which plod their inflectionless way through a series of repetitive songs with too few tempo changes, too few memorable melodies, and too few instrumental displays of creativity to capture the attention of anyone who has heard many other bands play this kind of music much better.

There are a few redeemable moments of guitar and keyboard atmospherics, but fans of the groups which make up Wolverine's obvious influences (PTree, Anathema, Opeth, Riverside, etc.) will only be reminded how much more interesting those bands are than this rather derivative and melodramatic faux metal offering.

Definitely listen first!

Songwriting: 2 Instrumental Performances: 2 Lyrics/Vocals: 1 Style/Emotion/Replay: 1

Report this review (#157554)
Posted Thursday, January 3, 2008 | Review Permalink
3 stars Wolverine's thrid album STILL, I heard the first two songs (A HOUSE OF PLAGUE and BLEEDING) a few years previous to getting the album, I finally bought it as I liked those two songs. I quite like the simple cover design the dulled red and the ripping grey line.

The music isn't particulary complex and its easy to listen to though it make take a couple of spins. Starts off with the mid-tempo A HOUSE OF PLAGUE, with it opening acoustic intro and becomes a more heavy entity the longer it goes on, the actual quite good vocals of Stefan Zell shine through the whole album.

BLEEDING beginning with a heavy riff continues into a darker vibe thanks to the keyboardist Per Hendriksson TASTE OF SAND starts of quite slowly but when it gets going it becomes a good song (this and the previous song reminds me of Porcupine Tree as the vocals sound similar to Steven Wilson, which isn't a bad thing actually) as is very well written.

NOTHING MORE is a dreamy moody song it sounds similar to Anathema actually. SLEEPY TOWN a nice melodic poppy song its kinda daring and does what it says and puts you on the road to 'sleepy town'

LIAR ON THE MOUNT starts with an speech from George Bush (which actually puts me off the song a bit and end up skipping it usually) and its the worst song song on the album, I wouldn't rate it very highly it just doesn't hold up to the other songs. HIDING another melodic song all about hiding ourselves within, its a nice sombre song with sets up the final two songs.

THIS COLD HEART OF MINE and AND SHE SLOWLY DIES finish the album with both songs clocking in at almost 8 minutes are both great songs which show just what Wolverine can do and the most recommended listening out of all the songs.

Its good, but hardly original or breathtaking. 3 stars

Report this review (#285967)
Posted Friday, June 11, 2010 | Review Permalink
Menswear
PROG REVIEWER
3 stars A Wolverine with dentures.

Yes, despite a promising name and art cover, this Wolverine has plastic teeth and rubber claws. A bit of a let down I suppose, but these bands can improve with time. I'll give'em another chance.

The album starts with the magnificent A House of Plagues, a super-song charged with power (excellent keyboards and riffs) and emotions, it kicks off very well. Alas, the album never reaches that level again. It falls into a softer and blander music, even departing from the progressing metal genre. Although I have to give them praise for the song Nothing More, reminding me the peaceful atmosphere of Camel's Snow Goose! I know! It surprised me too!!

Some bands give everything in one album, sometimes in one single song. Wolverine lack energy in many songs and the songs are dull by moments. Just common stuff, done robotically and predictable patterns.

If their new album is not improving, I'll be quitting this boat thinking this band needs more edge.

Report this review (#466444)
Posted Tuesday, June 21, 2011 | Review Permalink

WOLVERINE Still ratings only


chronological order | showing rating only

Post a review of WOLVERINE Still


You must be a forum member to post a review, please register here if you are not.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

Copyright Prog Archives, All rights reserved. | Legal Notice | Privacy Policy | Advertise | RSS + syndications

Other sites in the MAC network: JazzMusicArchives.com — jazz music reviews and archives | MetalMusicArchives.com — metal music reviews and archives