Header
Longshot - The Cosmic Bacteria's Experiences CD (album) cover

THE COSMIC BACTERIA'S EXPERIENCES

Longshot

Neo-Prog


From Progarchives.com, the ultimate progressive rock music website

Bookmark and Share
4 stars Hare Krishna !!! GOD BLESS ALPHA CENTAURII ! i was hopeless ! Fully acclaimed by the international press during 1997 and 98, LONGSHOT is back ! Without coming pessimistic, I was thinking that Longshot was one of these bands destined to remain in the darkness while I see it at the top of the poster . Despite my adventure in the team PROGJET, I can say nevertheless that I awaited it this LONGSHOT to the detour, even if my fears did not reveal themselves about musical view !!! To my big surprise the disc did not released on CYCLOPS taht early wanted this second cd but on a unknown label (Progressive) in a person of Wake the DEAD ! Magestic 12 pages full color booklet coming as proof we do not have there a SELF-PRODUCT confirming in entry that the label seems to have put the money on ! Impatient after a 3 years expectation, cos' I discovered the first one a long time after his 98 release . I take just the time to put to the plastic film in the thrash and throws the alphan u.f.o in my cd reader cd ! WHOAAAHH . . . Tibetan return or what ? Intro gliding to the magnificent waves from HIMALAYA adding in introduction a must (o how much shorty ) to the overall LONGSHOT sound .. . The PRODUCTION hits strong while offering a masterly cleaning leaving to think that the first album was left twenty years ago. This LONGSHOT takes therefore a sacred one jouvence cleans in a sonorous bath largely typed IQ, ARENA ( VISITOR ) or a Proggier SAGA ! ! ! As early as the first minutes the screaming guitars leaves us to dream of waht could have been the first album, a pure NEW POWER PROG item ! Always these long typical developments and final pieces to the very symphonic ends marking without any doubt a style widely embellished by 3 new members of an almost fearsome efficience . . Despite therefore the birth of a true group, of which it is a matter 1st album don't forget it, one will already note a good cohesion of the whole . Luckily Michael Reese seems to have sent out his hat , the ideal Line up that does not leave to feel the absence of the giant TROLL "Michel ALTMAYER". His substitute, BEN LARSON, without having his statute, replacing him feet and hands of master by a playing most direct rather typed MOSLEY (MARILLION) or Paul COOK (IQ). . . Not any guitars parts Guitares, (or Low) played there by Michael Reese , unless his very different approach in the playing would have added a more on doubles guitars arpeggio like other of the HACKETT/GENESIS harmonies on the nevertheless fearsome Solos of the Sieur Phil Wake, bringing in place and places a good personality and a big quoted SAGA / QUEEN on a number of melodies and Chorus. The BASS of FREDDY LYNN are not in remains and snore such a JOHN JOWITT of the most effective ones leaving widely places it has many lines to the abode more YES-like or played Fretless yet . . . For finish the review , REESE offers there some an of more beautiful more flown ones away KEYBOARDS* in solo on Peter Blackfrog overhanging Rhythmic keyboards and Tablecloths a lot more present and NEO than on the preceding one, well preserving the big side Tony Banks / Geoff Downes that characterizes him . . . The over voice" ROCK " of REESE sounding like a mix of RAY Wilson and Peter Gabriel claims by its harmonies his eternel devotion to GENESIS. . . This new LONGSHOT grown 2002 unquestionably pulled the teachings of its numerous fears and errors for not some to preserve apparently that the essential one. . . Remain to the group to obtain a vocal wealth "Multitimbral"so what was positive in THE COSMIC BACTERIA is sublimated by a excellent producing . A cd widely above the and average without any doubt quality superior has his predecessor that this be in production or in compositions. . . A very good beginning for the group on this label of the" PERIGORD NOIR " to the pig sense of smell to stuff !!! I already saw to the top of the poster. .

NIKO RINARDT.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Send comments to NiKo (BETA) | Report this review (#37381)
Posted Thursday, June 23, 2005 | Review Permalink
silvertree
PROG REVIEWER
1 stars This is more the work of a one-man band than the line-up of two suggests... Indeed, electronic drums are used throughout the album so where is Altmayer ??? This album suffers awfully from this "one-man band". The vocals are terrible and the music is very boring. The problem is that all the tracks are long ! The shortest is over 7 minutes. The music comes close to Saga but lacks the beauty, magic or anything really. It's just not worth getting interested in so take care you don't pick up my second-hand copy...

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Send comments to silvertree (BETA) | Report this review (#37719)
Posted Sunday, June 26, 2005 | Review Permalink
punchendjody@
4 stars It's a real drummer playing on this cd . Not a simple drummer, MICHEL ALTMAYER the guy from Troll and recently ATOLL and its easy to recognize its sounding!!! I consider exhaustive a 5 stars on any Longshot but the Bacteria merit at least 3 to 4 stars !! Far better that any MUSEA cd from the same age but condemned by a poor sound Producing. Take a look at Prog-resiste, Harmonie or few french revues , this band has Potential to become one of the best NEOPROG band among Iq , Spock of the FlowerKings.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Send comments to (BETA) | Report this review (#54098)
Posted Monday, October 31, 2005 | Review Permalink
grubermachine
4 stars This is most a "like" YEs album from the drama period that a Genesis tribute as named in the booklet. Unless a very "Middle range" producing, all music is kind of technical prog with large changes, not a quarter minute with the same riff, causing for the music a lack of attention because the difficult approach. It was for me about 8 listening before i begun to like it. However the Vocals unless a voice in the Collins old era style ( sometimes FISH Marillion) are drowned in the reverb and we don't know why ? A good pretendant to Spock's beard, Arena, Marillion or FLower Kings with its own style teinted at some time Mike Oldfield. VERY PROGRESSIVE : ! Better in any case to the second one too much metal for me, hard to find but i found mine at ebay where it's not rare to see it .

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Send comments to (BETA) | Report this review (#63315)
Posted Thursday, January 05, 2006 | Review Permalink
JURGHEINRICH@
4 stars I knew this band thanks to Wmms mentor Peter Wustmann. I asked why he need such band too much anchored progressive roots for its label.Sure Peter had at this time PROG ROCK such Maryson, Anyones Daughter, Rachel Birthday and Ines but this band LONGSHOT was surely the Proggier in my idea. This was also the opinion of a friend of mine working with Empire, after he talked with a guy workin for Progressive Newsletter named Kristian..Not sure he was Kristian Selm, but this guy spoke about Longshot like a PROGRESSIVE ROOTS band with a 90's dynamic. I'm sure this kinda CAMEL-STARCASTLE-YES-GENESIS-MARILLION band did good music, sometimes a bit long, that fans of all bands above can't hate. My only disapointment with was the sounding somewhat poor and too much reverb on Keys & vocals. Was trying to ASYLUM but really : NO THANKS.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Send comments to (BETA) | Report this review (#64295)
Posted Wednesday, January 11, 2006 | Review Permalink
callistodario
5 stars Qu bueno teclados musica ! That band that i believe from france or belgium was unknown for me til i found a very good chronicle at progressivrockbr after reading another excellent one metamusica magazine. this showed an interest when i saw genesis and yes cited and what a delight was the listening. Evoking Starcastle, camel, Genesis, yes & steve hackett + la "Gabriel" vocals, this band offered to me a kind of spinaltap rarely got during the nineties. i saw there alot of guys which play down with that band that could be a next flower kings with a large scale sound producing. Didn't know what future to this great band having a great drummer from a Zeul band. Dont take attention from "Gunners" this band merit large scaling audience.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Send comments to (BETA) | Report this review (#68568)
Posted Monday, February 06, 2006 | Review Permalink
5 stars In exception to the vocals which was so very Badly recorded ( maybe with a Fisher Price Mic ) the stamp of the voice seems good but it's not sounding ! This , cd by an unknown band from Luxembourg with 2 members seems playing Genesis Music easier that Bands such Xitizen Cain & the poor Galadriel ! ) My opinion is very good compositions breaks & music but massacrated by a recording probably done by a kind of Amateurish sound engineer ! One of my favorite " GENESIS clone" with Iluvatar in the 90 NEO Prog scene.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Send comments to GenesisFan (BETA) | Report this review (#117930)
Posted Tuesday, April 10, 2007 | Review Permalink
apps79
SPECIAL COLLABORATOR
Neo Prog Team
2 stars LONGSHOT began their prog trip in 1994 in the commune of Villefranche de Rouerge as a one-man project behind multi-instrumentalist/vocalist Michael Reese.Reese was so much attracted by a science-fiction novel of his friend Thierry Gulleminot,that he decided to adapt it in a trilogy under the name LONGSHOT...a concept story about a runaway,which escaped from the jail of Alpha Centauri,but was killed by a deadly cosmic bacteria,named ''the dark fear''.For this first part he recruited Michel Altmayer on drums,ex-member of the Zeuhl band ''Troll'',later to record with symph progsters ''Atoll''.So this first part entitled ''The cosmic bacteria's experiences'' was released in 1997 in only 500 copies due to problems with the band's distributors.

The truth is that such kind of a concept seems too ambitious to be created by just one person.Though the album is good in general,it fails to capture my whole attention from the start to the end.The same atmosphere dominates the whole album and it lies somewhere between melodic prog in the vein of CAMEL or even OSIRIS (the Bahrain band) and the guitar- driven prog of JADIS...and actually the guitar work in here is often remarkable with nice riffs and some intricate melodies,while at moments it becomes quite complex with great breaks.The album is balanced between instrumental themes and song-oriented tracks and I could say that it stands well in terms of composition and arrangement.However the digital keyboard sound is somewhat plastic and additionally a bit low in the mix,the compositions seem to last a little bit longer than they should,while what really spoils the whole effort are the distorted,spacey vocals of Reese,which sound at least accented,amateur and at times even hilarious.

For devoted fans and collectors of melodic Neo Progressive Rock,this would be propably a fine purchase...I wouldn't recommend it to lovers of more sophisticated and demanding rock forms...only 2 stars...

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Send comments to apps79 (BETA) | Report this review (#259462)
Posted Tuesday, January 05, 2010 | Review Permalink

LONGSHOT The Cosmic Bacteria's Experiences ratings only


chronological order | showing rating only

Post a review of LONGSHOT The Cosmic Bacteria's Experiences


You must be a forum member to post a review, please register here if you are not.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Copyright Prog Archives, All rights reserved. | Legal Notice | Privacy Policy | Advertise | RSS + syndications

Other sites in the MAC network: JazzMusicArchives.com — the ultimate jazz music virtual community | MetalMusicArchives.com — the ultimate metal music virtual community


Server processing time: 0.14 seconds