Header
The Trip - Atlantide CD (album) cover

ATLANTIDE

The Trip

Rock Progressivo Italiano


From Progarchives.com, the ultimate progressive rock music website

Bookmark and Share
bonzo1969@lib
3 stars The album had a fantastic gimmick cover and is now worth about 200/250 euros. Unfortunately the music is not as good. It's a concept about the rise and fall of Atlantide which has its moments but without a real gem. I wouldn't say that it's only for completists of itaprog, but there are dozens of other Lps to listen before this.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Send comments to (BETA) | Report this review (#18977)
Posted Wednesday, April 07, 2004 | Review Permalink
dinix11@yahoo
5 stars The album starts with a powerfull arrangment with a nice organ in the best ELP style - "Atlantide" - after a riff sequence the drums of chirico emerge, and them is so also! He's like a carl palmer 3 times more fast! after that another riff sequence and - Ow! - the theme became obscure, slow, very well executed, reminds me "Aphrodite's Child's 666". The Second track "Evoluzione" have a perfect combination of the trhee lines: bass, moog, drums. The drums had a lot of groove, a good work of the _____ (vocalist), lyrics in english singging in a way that dont lose nothing on the "energy" and "sonority" aspects from the italian lyrics, good melody and breaks for some variations on the moog. Great Track! "Leader" again with the ELP style, that one sounds like the "ELP funny fanfarre ballad from the album" had a nice keyboard and vocals. 4th track - "Energia" - again in the same ELP rytthim vein, a nice riff of bass + Keyboard and a good variation of moog and consistent drums! "Ora X" - vocals with 'felling' and a really good work of the three lines, finish with a great theme change. "Distruzione" - 7th track is a amazing chirico's solo work, combines techinic with a incredible velocity and variation, the longgiest track on the album, contains aslo some theme changing with well excecuted keyboard. "Analisis" - 6th track with more than 4 minutes beside "il vuoto" - the last track - dont showing not excepcional, unfortnably.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Send comments to (BETA) | Report this review (#59958)
Posted Friday, December 09, 2005 | Review Permalink
4 stars The third work released in 1972 "Atlantide". The guitarist seceded the group, and drummer Furio Chirico who was the technician joined.Keyboard rock of the THE NICE type was completed by this album. It is music that improves the speed further as for EL&P. And, mysterious production is bright with violent play. It improvises and unexpectedly dramatic music. It is overwhelmed to play that has the explosion power for a while though there is a little loose respect, too. To our regret, CD of BMG that I have is not gimmic cover.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Send comments to braindamage (BETA) | Report this review (#75109)
Posted Sunday, April 16, 2006 | Review Permalink
memowakeman
SPECIAL COLLABORATOR
Honorary Collaborator
3 stars A Trip to the Atlantide!

Everyone of us have our personal stories about how we discovered a band or an album or a song in particular, i, personally like to share those stories when writing a review. So about 1 year ago i was lurking on a national website where we can sell/buy (kind of an ebay) things, i found a seller offering some of his prog albums, i remember there was some VdGG, Soft Machine etc, and the name of The Trip appeared, i had heard only one song of them in a compillation named Il Pop Progressivo, but didn`t catch my attention, when i got interested was when i read the description of the band made by that seller, among some things, he said that Ritchie Blackmore was the founder guitarist of the band, that only fact caught my attention and of course i searched for The Trip`s music.

So believe it or not, The Trip`s first guitarist was the same Ritchie Blackmore we all know, and that led me to discover that this was not actually an Italian band, but an English one which went to Italy searching for better luck. They had released The Trip and Caronte both very different to each other, and their third effort was Atlantide when a legendary Italian drummer named Furio Chirico joined the band, and Joe Vescovi took the leadership of the band, i believe this was their pinnacle and most succesful moment, by the way Blackmore is not here, i mentioned him just for the record.

The album is pretty short actually, just half an hour of music, but nice music of course and featuring 8 songs. It opens with the self-titled song Atlantide, a strong keyboard driven song which shows since the very first moment the leadership of Vescovi, the music will remind you immediately to ELP, the style is pretty similar. Evoluzione features vocals for the first time, english lyrics so its not the typical vocal of an italian band, i mean the characteristic RPI vocal style. This song shows a psychedelic touch in the non-vocal moments, reminding me a bit of Eloy. Leader starts again with those lush keyboards, then Chirico`s drumming and Andersen`s bass appear, and this now reminds me to The Nice, not ELP but The Nice. Energia has a great sound, when you have so good musicians the result will be great, actually what i least like on the album are the vocals, this is an instrumental song again with a psych feeling and may sound as a movie theme, keyboards takes all the attention. Ora X in this song the vocals return with a rockier feeling, ala Lonely Hearts Club Band, the last minute of the song is a powerful ending, though it fades out very softly. Analisi starts with a piano intro, then the vocals and a church organ along with some kind of funeral drumming, after a couple of changes, it returs to the same style and finishes stronger. Distruzione the longest track and without a doubt best one, the first minute is just some background noises, then it becomes stronger and it has a crescendo with the superb Chirico`s drumming, then after a silent moment, bass enters and keys after it, the sound is again very ELP like, this song may be divided in various movements since it has several rythm and time changes, there are some moments that may sound just like an improvisation. Il Vuoto, this is simply the outro, just one minute of keyboard music, the goodbye of the Atlantide.

It is a nice album, but not outstanding nor very complex, it didn`t provokes the same satisfaction as some other albums, give it a try, you may like it more than me, also i`d like to warn you, if you are looking for italian symphonic prog or rock progressivo italiano (whatever concept you have in your own mind) this is not what you would expect. Now i would give it 3 stars, just good but non-essential.

Enjoy it!

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Send comments to memowakeman (BETA) | Report this review (#172120)
Posted Saturday, May 24, 2008 | Review Permalink
4 stars Nice album of this Italian Progressive band. In the same vein of another bands of this country, and in the 70 decade, this albun are a nice arrangement of piano and keiboards with a powerfull drums works played by Furio Chirico. Great Bass that create in some parts a jazz fusion atmosphere. This album show us how Italian musicians feel rock music because they make a mix of progressive style music. This album are not a Genesis style and we can listen some Jazz Fusion, Psicadelic Space Rock and Symphonic Prog in this work. This band was a traditional Italian band of seventies and this albun are a nice adiction of Italian Progressive Rock collectors and fans. I give 4 stars.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Send comments to Joăo Paulo (BETA) | Report this review (#221831)
Posted Friday, June 19, 2009 | Review Permalink
Mellotron Storm
PROG REVIEWER
3 stars THE TRIP had been around since 1966 but didn't release their first album until 1970. This is their third record and first with the great Furio Chirico on drums, he of course would later lead ARTI & MESTIERI. And for me the highlight of this album is listening to Furio play.The band is a trio with no lead guitar, and this album clocks in at just under 31 minutes. English vocals too.

"Atlantide" opens with piano that picks up speed then the drums and bass join in around a minute. A dark calm 3 minutes in with vocal melodies to end it. "Evoluzione" is an uptempo tune with vocals. Piano and drums lead. "Leader" has a keyboard intro before the drums and vocals take over. Catchy tune.it blends into "Energia". I like the organ here with the steady drums. Great sound. Piano ends it. "Ora X" is catchy until it changes late as we get some powerful instrumental work.

"Analisi" opens with piano as reserved vocals join in. Organ before a minute. Contrasts continue. Drums end it. "Distuzione" is experimental early on then the drums come in after a minute. Bass and organ 2 minutes in .The drums before 4 minutes are incredible as he starts to solo. It goes on for too long though as we get these little outbursts coming and going. "Il Vuoto" is the short closing number with organ and a powerful atmosphere.

3.5 stars. I liked this album a lot. It is a little inconsistant to my tastes but well worth checking out regardless. By the way I think THE TRIP is a fantastic name for a band.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Send comments to Mellotron Storm (BETA) | Report this review (#299251)
Posted Wednesday, September 15, 2010 | Review Permalink
ZowieZiggy
PROG REVIEWER
2 stars Exit William Gray (guitars): "The Trip" has turned into a trio now (bass, drums and keys). Yes, like ELP. And you can notice this while you are going to listen to this album.

From wild psychedelic on their previous effort ("Caronte"), the sound is more melodic even if "Evoluzione" still shares the psyche feel. Upbeat, solid drumming and English vocals are on the menu.

The intro of "Leader" could have come out of Jon Lord's organ. Some jazzy touch is only adding to the feel. Vocals though are not very convincing (as usual should I say). It is the weakest number from "Atlantide".

In a sense, this album is more diversified than their prior ones; but globally it holds less interesting songs and it leans too much on ELP ("Energia"). Highly energetic indeed: the rhythmic section plays a solid role here.

This album leaves me a flavour of being too disparate which is quite bizarre for a concept album: little unity during this work. After the rocking "Ora X" comes the pompous "Analisa". Quite unpredictable!

The long "Distruzione" sounds quite improvised: most of it consists of a drum solo that can't really fill my prog heart.

Two stars for this third album. Their weakest effort so far IMHHO.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Send comments to ZowieZiggy (BETA) | Report this review (#308551)
Posted Saturday, November 06, 2010 | Review Permalink

THE TRIP Atlantide ratings only


chronological order | showing rating only

Post a review of THE TRIP Atlantide


You must be a forum member to post a review, please register here if you are not.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Copyright Prog Archives, All rights reserved. | Legal Notice | Privacy Policy | Advertise | GeoIP Services by MaxMind | RSS + syndications

Other sites in the MAC network: JazzMusicArchives.com — the ultimate jazz music virtual community | MetalMusicArchives.com — the ultimate metal music virtual community


Server processing time: 0.16 seconds