Header
Uno - Uno CD (album) cover

UNO

Uno

Rock Progressivo Italiano


From Progarchives.com, the ultimate progressive rock music website

Bookmark and Share
Sean Trane
SPECIAL COLLABORATOR
Prog Folk
2 stars Uno was an offshoot of Osana and an attempt to cash in on Osana's fair commercial success (IMO) and is probably almost right out of the scope of this site. I would qualify this of pop with prog overtones, and it sounds much like Landscapes Of Life album from Osana.

This album was recorded in London and four tracks were sung in English, the whole thing being fairly commercial but failed in doing so. They even pushed the bad taste to rip-off Floyd's Great Gig In the Sky on the last number.

Probably the less diserving of Italian groups on this site and one more point to add for those that think that Osana's success was more commercial with the gimmick of painted faces than actually musical/artistic.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Send comments to Sean Trane (BETA) | Report this review (#19211)
Posted Tuesday, January 18, 2005 | Review Permalink
5 stars Album released in 1974 "Uno". It is a challenge to a progressive rock by two musicians of OSANNA. It was recorded in Britain. The sound is filled with a magnificent color and the emotion though it is heavy. Especially, the saxophone has wonderful power of expression. The sound it is acoustic and with a transparent feeling is a big feature of this work. The power is wonderful. Masterpiece. I recommends it for the fan of a British rock.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Send comments to braindamage (BETA) | Report this review (#68136)
Posted Friday, February 03, 2006 | Review Permalink
Andrea Cortese
SPECIAL COLLABORATOR
Honorary Collaborator
3 stars "...now you live a lie, nothing more to say. Goodbye friend, so long".

Uno's unique release was only the in-between step of the Osanna's evolution. During the recording sessions of Landscapes of Life it was quite evident that the bands' members had so different opinions on what it should be their music in the future and on their political visions itselves! So Elio D'Anna and Enzo Vallicelli decided undergo together their separate way joined by Danilo Rustici from other classic band from Neaples, Cervello. Later, the band changed the name into Nova and the prog tendencies rapidly decreased.

Italian music press of that period was very curious and interested in this new 1974 project and the Fonit boss decided to send the neo-formed Uno in London at the Trident Studios, the same where Pink Floyd registered their magnum opus Darck Side of the Moon. And this is not the only tie with the famous space-rock band. Vocalist Liza Strike also appears in the closer track of this album and the Hypgnosis studio created the cover of the album english version (completely sung in english).

Similarities stop here. There is no comparisong that can be found in music or in melodies. Uno continue exactly where Osanna left and, in my opinion, this is not a lack! Acoustic guitars, flutes and saxophones all drenched with moog and pianos. The track- format, as in the Landscape of Life album has a more concise and short structure but it holds high level of prog hidden, as a jewel, in almost every track.

Lyrics are half sung in english half in italian. Generally the italian ones are the most proggy track. Just listen for example to I Cani e la Volpe (Dogs and Fox, 4,01 mns): moog and distorted sax paint together a quasi-spacey interlude. Uno nel Tutto (One in All, is the longest track about 10,11 mns) is a very complex track with distorted vocals and strong and eclectic saxophone. Fiery electric guitar. After all, Osanna's spirit was not dead!

Another interesting track is the second titled "Popular Girl". This is a strange song, at least for the firs half 'cause is structure as a pure rock'n'roll old classic. But after the two minutes, drums start the fights! It reminds me of some interludes of Jethro Tull. Very good!

What I could say? Despite the critics and bad comments, I feel this album is made of excellent prog music. At least for half of its running time. The rest, is a good soft- melodic-prog with some a commercial tendency. It never loose its artistic form, though. I admit I enjoy very much to listen to it.

3.5 stars.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Send comments to Andrea Cortese (BETA) | Report this review (#94754)
Posted Monday, October 16, 2006 | Review Permalink
andrea
PROG REVIEWER
2 stars After Osanna's split up in 1974 former members Danilo Rustici (guitar, keyboards, vocals) and Elio D'Anna (sax, flute) along with Enzo Vallicelli (drums) formed a band called Uno. The only album they released was this eponymous work, recorded in London, in the same studios of Pink Floyd...

The ghost of Osanna here seem to be "hanging on a nail" while the members of the band are trying to overcome their past, but the result, in my opinion, is not convincing at all. The song-writing is sometimes awkward (for instance "Popular Girl" is a R & B track that suddenly turns in a "Tarantella", but the passage from one part to another is too rough and it sounds "unnatural") and too much derivative. There are many influences coming from The Beatles (like in the sweet and dreamy "Stay With Me" and in the first part of "Goodbye Friend") and heavy "echoes" coming from "the dark side of the moon" (like in "Uno nel tutto", after a first "R'n'R section, or in "Goodbye Friend" finale), but the result is a kind of clumsy patchwork featuring weak vocals.

The best track (and in my opinion the only really good one on this album) is "I cani e la volpe" (The dogs and the fox), a melancholic ballad featuring lyrics where some boys who are trying to escape from a world that has gone mad and full of violence are compared to a fox hunted by dogs screaming their rage against the life... "Right Place" and "Uomo come gli altri" are not bad and closer to Osanna's sound but very far from outstanding...

In the whole, an album that can be suggested only to Osanna's die-hard fans...

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Send comments to andrea (BETA) | Report this review (#120674)
Posted Thursday, May 03, 2007 | Review Permalink
memowakeman
SPECIAL COLLABORATOR
Honorary Collaborator
2 stars Uno = One

And yes, only one album released by this Italian band which was an offshoot of Osanna, after their Landscapes of Life both members Danilo Rustici and Elio D┤Anna split up from the band and along with Enzo Vallicelli created Uno, maybe a simple name for a band or maybe they knew it would be their only album, which by the way was very originally called "Uno".

This album is kind of strange due to the combination of two languages, their native Italian and the universal English, in this album we can listen to 7 songs, 4 are sung in English and 3 in Italian, that may be a problem for me because i dont really like albums that combines 2 or more languages, also, i love Italian language and Italian music so for me that is something i dont support at all.

However, we are lovers of music so the language after all is not the main thing, the music is. Seven songs and an average of 5 minutes each one, has as a result a relatively short album, over 35 minutes featuring saxophone, flute, and rockish guitars.

It starts with "Right Place" which is a very nice kick off of the album, it is very soft at the beginning with flute and nice acoustic guitar, the first sung in English, then its direction changes and makes it more enjoyable, but with a very English touch, i dont mean it is bad, but i would have preffered a complete Italian album, this song also features a very nice sax.

"Popular Girl" is a blues rock song in the vein of American 60s monsters, this song is one of the less proggies here, not bad but you can skip it if you wish.

"I Cani E LA Volpe" is the first "traditional" song here, i mean it is sung in Italian and also sounds Italian, some of you know what i mean, anyway this song is pretty good with nice use of keyboards and a magnific vocal performance, it is a very catchy melody, but it has its complex moments, sax also appears here.

"Stay With Me", returning to the non-native language, another soft song with flute and acoustic guitar, but plain and boring for me. "Uomo Come Gli Altri" is the shortest theme here, a warm and relaxing moment when we can enjoy their vocals, it is the preamble of the longest track.

"Uno Nel Tutto" is the name of this 10-minute epic which is without a doubt one of the best tracks here, a worth listening, this song is also very different from the other ones it is full of a strong feeling that you can notice while listening to the vocals and the sax playing, afte 4 minutes it makes a suddem stop and the direction of the song changes you will notice the electronic atmospheres, and the final is very soft like a ballad.

"Goodbye Friend" is alike to the first songs, acoustic guitars, nice vocals, nothing to be proud of, though.It also has a pop feeling.

I can enjoy this album but for sure it is not what i expected or wished, actually i find it hardly recommendable to prog lovers in general, it has some good moments but its boring sometimes and as i said i particularly dont enjoy the mix of English and Italian compositions. I dont lije to be hard with Italian bands or albums, but this time i believe 2 stars is the proper grade for this album.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Send comments to memowakeman (BETA) | Report this review (#127627)
Posted Thursday, July 05, 2007 | Review Permalink
2 stars Once upon a time, there was a cardgame called Uno which was very popular in my family. I never liked it though.

I just wanted to get that piece of totally useless information in.

Uno is an Italian band which falls into the RPI category. The Uno members were ex Osanna members and this album was an attempt to cash in on Osanna's commercial success. That's according to the biography. The result is this rather shambolic album.

Where do I start ? Well, three songs are in English, broken English that is, and three songs are in Italian. I guess fluent Italian, that is. The songs are well inside the pop-rock format with some occasional forays into progressive rock. A couple of songs are too sugar sweet for my liking. Too much sugar will kill you. A couple of songs are blues inspired rockers. There are even some rockabilly here with a rampant saxophone baked into the ten minutes long Uno Nel Tutto. The final part of this song is the best piece of music on this album. The final track is best forgotten. The vocals on this album is pretty bad and overly strained. The musicians are OK, but without impressing.

In short; this album is a rather shambolic album with no good tunes and dubious choice of music. This is not my type of tea at all.

2 stars

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Send comments to toroddfuglesteg (BETA) | Report this review (#414847)
Posted Saturday, March 12, 2011 | Review Permalink
apps79
SPECIAL COLLABORATOR
Neo Prog Team
3 stars A one shot Italian band formed by ex-Osanna members Danilo Rustici and Elio D'Anna in 1974 after the split up of the later.Along with drummer Enzo Vallicelli (formerly on Hellza Popin) they travelled to London,UK,propably to catch some more attention in the international market.For this reason the eponymous debut was sung half in English,half in Italian,released on Fonit.

Time goes always forward but for Uno time stopped propably around 1970.The sound is closer to early-70's Proto-Prog than recalling members of an experienced prog band like Osanna.The opening ''Right Place'' is quite good,Orchestral Rock with Folk references and driving saxes,while the English vocals of Rustici are great.The following ''Popular girl'' is absolutely cheesy and commmercial,standard yet unsurprising Blues Rock,saved only by D'Anna's good flute soloing.The first Italian track ''I Cani E La Volpe'' is an interesting approach on Acoustic Rock with good synths,nice sax solos and excellent vocals again.''Stay with me'' sees the band turning into some sort of Folk ballad,but the results are not conveincing.The short and acoustic ''Uomo Come Gli Altri'' will give rise to the long ''Uno Nel Tutto'', propably the most demanding track of the album, close to OSANNA's style, with tons of complicated driving saxes,delicate flutes,symphonic passages and hard guitar playing.''Goodbye friend'' is a depressive yet ethereal outro,starting as an acoustic song and becoming orchestral on the way,featuring the saxes of D'Anna and the crying voice of Lisa Strike,known for her performance on Pink Floyd's ''Dark side of the moon''.

The same album was also released in an exclusively English version for the foreign market without much success.Being a trio,the band had problems transforming their sound on stage,solved by the presence of Danilo's brother Corrado on bass and guitars.This collaboration would mark the farewell of Uno,as the band was soon re-named to Nova and performing in a more Jazz-Rock vein.

''Uno'' is a good album,containg elements from both Italian Prog and Classic 70's Prog sound,mixed with occasional Folk beats.Still it lacks in coherence and inspiration compared to OSANNA,but it remains a decent Italian prog obscurity.Recommended.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Send comments to apps79 (BETA) | Report this review (#532043)
Posted Sunday, September 25, 2011 | Review Permalink
2 stars Once Osanna split in 1974, singer Lino Viaretti and drummer Massimo Guarino formed Citta Frontale, leaving founding members Danilo Rustici and Elio D'Anna. After recruiting drummer Enzo Vallicelli of Hellza Poppin, Uno was born. Label Fonit spared no expense for their promising investment, bringing the band to London to record in the famed Trident Studios and even secured Hipgnosis for the UK album cover. Sung in English and Italian, Uno's debut album was supposed to be the international breakthrough the label was looking for, which Osanna was never able to deliver. The results were less than astonishing, and in this writer's opinion, abysmal. Uno fails on just about every level, narrowly missing a one-star rating. The performances feel phoned in; Viaretti's singing is sorely missed; production standards are well below the mark considering the caliber of studio in which it was recorded. Uno can only be recommended to Osanna fans as it does play a defining role in that group's creative arc. Despite my misgivings, Uno still belongs in any complete RPI collection as a tertiary title.

Being forced to choose, I would say "Right Place" is the best track on Uno by virtue of not being the worst. If the flute melody at the beginning sounds familiar, that's probably because it is: The music is nearly identical to Cervello's "Trittico." I guess this plagiarism is okay if it's your little brother's band, but I'm surprised Corrado Rustici of Cervello would not only endorse this but even join Uno in a live capacity. The introductory romanticism gives way to soft-prog cheesiness, which can either be viewed as revolting or as a guilty pleasure - choose your own adventure. "Popular Girl" allows the listener no such variance; it is pure boogie nonsense that tries to recoup at the end and fails miserably. "I Cani E La Volpe" is much more listenable, but after ten minutes the album already feels like a chore.

The English-sung "Stay With Me" is a lame attempt at commercial success, while "Uomo Come Gli Altari" feels genuine but ends far too soon. "Uno Nel Tutto" is the longest song on Uno and the one that will most appeal to Osanna fans; the wild, frantic sections are at best interesting and at worst annoying. The slower part near the end is perhaps the most successful attempt at blending Prog and commercial obligations, and is one I actually enjoy. "Goodbye Friend" rids farewell to this disappointing effort and borrows liberally from Pink Floyd's "The Great Gig in the Sky." After under-performing album sales, Uno was dunzo. The brothers Rustici would then tackle fusion on Nova's 1975 debut Blink.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Send comments to coasterzombie (BETA) | Report this review (#919018)
Posted Monday, February 25, 2013 | Review Permalink

UNO Uno ratings only


chronological order | showing rating only

Post a review of UNO Uno


You must be a forum member to post a review, please register here if you are not.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Copyright Prog Archives, All rights reserved. | Legal Notice | Privacy Policy | Advertise | GeoIP Services by MaxMind | RSS + syndications

Other sites in the MAC network: JazzMusicArchives.com — the ultimate jazz music virtual community | MetalMusicArchives.com — the ultimate metal music virtual community


Server processing time: 0.16 seconds