Header
England - The Last Of The Jubblies CD (album) cover

THE LAST OF THE JUBBLIES

England

Symphonic Prog


From Progarchives.com, the ultimate progressive rock music website

Bookmark and Share
4 stars I don't know much about this album, but I think these are the outtakes from the Garden Shed album. This album, therefore, is also a bit weaker than their debut, but still is pretty good and has some interesting tracks. If you liked the great Garden Shed album by England, then you should give this a go too.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Send comments to Autoband (BETA) | Report this review (#97130)
Posted Sunday, November 05, 2006 | Review Permalink
mystic fred
SPECIAL COLLABORATOR
Honorary Collaborator
3 stars Garden Shed Part 2 ?

Having enjoyed the "marmalade" from England's debut album "Garden Shed" this follow-up was too tempting to pass by - recorded in 1977 the music does sound very similar to the material from "Garden Shed" though the sound quality seems patchy, especially on "Creepin Instrumental" so these could well be outtakes and demos from that album - the style of writing and performance is the same, and contains some good songs, most notably "Tooting Bec Rape Case", "Sausage Pie" and "Nanogram".

Those of you who were around in England in the 60's and 70's will recognise the old-style Pound note on the cover - though rather irreverently Her Majesty is smoking a pipe! Also you will remember a "Jubbly" ("luvverly Jubbly..") was a fruit drink in a triangular-shaped wax paper carton ( a brilliant example in efficient storage design ) which contained frozen orange juice costing fourpence - Jubbly drinking, especially frozen, became a playground skill fully explained in the cd booklet - no wonder we all lost our teeth!

The excellent musicianship, the Genesis and Yes influences are all here, and the tongue-in- cheek humour - song titles such as the aforementioned One-legged Sausage Pie , "Tooting Bec Rape Case" and "Nanogram" all beg to be heard.

"One-legged Day Tale" contains some great Prog elements, time changes interspersed with good guitar and organ solos, overall a very dramatic piece which would have been better placed at the beginning of the album - a good opener. "Sausage Pie" kicks off with some atmospheric plodding keyboards and bass which break into a solid beat before getting into the song, "pie in the sky" and feeling high" - oh those wonderful sausage pies ...this could only have been written in England! "Tooting Bec Rape Case" has an atmospheric eastern style intro with clashing cymbals and tinkling bells, covers the dangers of girls late walking home, prey for the stalker. This track would not have been out of place on "Garden Shed" it's that good, and includes some good guitar/keyboard solos and some great mellotron moments, the sound quality is great here too. "Mister Meener", as you may have gathered, is a play on the word misdemeanour (duhh..), a simple 60's style song complete with fuzz guitar and child-like school chorus, this seems like it could have been written in 1966, the end of the song goes into a Genesis- style gallop - good stuff! The last track, the instrumental "Nanogram" is another outstanding track which contains some harpsichord and galloping rythms - this also would have fitted perfectly on "Garden Shed", the sound quality is brilliant but is too short, something great could have been developed from this I'm sure!

Overall a good follow-up to their debut and following in the true England tradition, if you own "Garden Shed" you should like this, but is not strictly for completists - the music is much too good!

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Send comments to mystic fred (BETA) | Report this review (#108236)
Posted Sunday, January 21, 2007 | Review Permalink
4 stars While this album may be a bit more difficult to get into than garden shed, after a few listens it does become a very rewarding album. The sound quality is a bit iffy on a few of the tracks with the vocals suffering the most but you have to take into consideration that this was an unfinished album.

Creepin' Instrumental starts the album off with some energetic playing. A dynamic track with multiple sections each with their own feel. Similar compositional style to the first album but it is an individual piece. Good use of Mellotron and Synthesisers. 7/10

A One Legged Day Tale would have been fantastic were it not for the quality of the vocals. It almost sounds like they used a guide track take. Oh well. A nice up tempo song that's almost a foot stomper in places. After a few listens you really start to get it and realise that there are some great melodies. A somewhat challenging piece of music with interesting harmonic structures. 8/10

Sausage Pie appears to be an attempt at a more commercial song. It's okay but not the best of the album. Something just doesn't seem quite right about it, it lacks melody in the verses and the sounds they used could have been a bit better. Not bad but not great 5/10

Tooting Bec Rape Case for me is the real highlight. It starts off a bit strange with lots of percussion and it has a kind of eastern tinge to it. After a minute or so it starts getting into it, it still has the eastern tinge but it's a bit more cohesive by now. After this section comes a strange interlude which always gets me a bit excited because straight away in comes this this fantastic melody. You really have to hear it because there are many small bits and pieces throughout this track that just can't be described. Definitely a favourite of mine and wouldn't have been out of place on garden shed. 9/10

Mister Meener is an up-beat track that was recorded a little better than the rest. Reminds me of queen a little. A multi- movement shorter song with interesting harmonies and great mellotron brass. 7/10

Nanogram finishes the album in fine form. It's another instrumental with that garden shed feel. Some great guitar playing on this one. An interesting track that should not disappoint. 8/10

Overall I think that this is an excellent addition to any prog collection. Very rewarding with that classic England sound. If only they had finished/spruced it up a bit.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Send comments to British Tradition (BETA) | Report this review (#178188)
Posted Friday, July 25, 2008 | Review Permalink
ZowieZiggy
PROG REVIEWER
2 stars I was not really enthusiast about their ''Garden Shed'' album. Nothing than derivative music available. Not bad but nothing creative either.

The question here of course is to know if it was necessary to restore some old songs some twenty + years after their conception. The sound of some of these tracks are not particularly top notch to say the least. The worse being ''Creepin' Instrumental''. If you would exclude a wonderful mellotron section, there is actually little to be remember in this track (same prevails during the long ''Tooting Bec Rape Case. It is the most ''Genesis'' oriented song available.

The shadow of ''Yes'' is undeniably present while ''A One-Legged Day Tale'' is being played. But gosh! This is tasteless music and the lead vocalist here performs rather poorly (to be polite). It is not a good song and it lasts for about nine minutes! Cliché and useless.

According Robert Webb, their keyboard player, the songs available on this album were recorded in '75 / '76 (prior to ''Garden Shed''). Most (if not all) tracks sound as if they are still in an embryonic and unpolished state. Production is almost non-existing and this work can hardly be recommended.

Once in a while as I have already mentioned, there are some fine instrumental passages, but too short. All vocal appearances are extremely bad and are a real shame.

Two stars. This is how far this album can be rated to my old ears.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Send comments to ZowieZiggy (BETA) | Report this review (#193966)
Posted Tuesday, December 16, 2008 | Review Permalink
3 stars The second album from England............ or better make that some studio-outtakes from the recording of the first album.

A bit harshly written, but still the truth. Their debut album (with it's iconic cover artwork) is rightly regarded as a classic album within the pastorial end of the symphonic prog scene. It is an absolute gem for those into the Trespass era Genesis.

The music is somewhere a mix between Yes, in particular Genesis and Fruupp. Pastoral symphonic prog in other words. And this album is very good, being an album of studio outtakes. The first song 1. Creepin Instrumental have a very Fruupp/Genesis like epic bridge and a very good melody line. The second song A One-Legged Day Tale is both long and contains elements from all these three bands. Those two songs are the best songs on this album. The rest of the album contains songs which seems too fragmented and second-rate in my view. Sausage Pie is almost AOR and the weakest song here.

So what we end up with is a fragmented album with two great songs and some other rather good songs as a bonus. It is still a good album. But I like the debut album better than this one. England is a band well worth checking out.

3 stars

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Send comments to toroddfuglesteg (BETA) | Report this review (#260960)
Posted Friday, January 15, 2010 | Review Permalink
4 stars I believe that, judging by the small number. of reviews related to this disk, that he is little known... and I find a waste. Although it is not so well recorded like "Garden Sheed", I consider it a disk (musically speaking)) at least close of that and that it deserved to be knowner than seems. As soon as it begins the audition, a resonant avalanche falls on the listener with a theme that in a lot reminded me GREENSLADE and little later it comes a slower passage than it sounds like GENTLE GIANT soon afterwards YES, that everything "crowned" with a brilliant percussion with tubular bells and everything returns to the initial theme to close the track. The next track (2), it begins in a way totally different, with a theme that seems to resist to "enter in scene." Finally it appears an outstanding bass that it drives a melody that has some FRUPP and to proceed (in the middle of the music) it presents a type of "intermezzo" that brings the memory the initial compasses of "The Gates of Delirium." The third track is probably the weakest moment of the albun. The fouth track can be divided in two very different moments, the first brings a percussion section in the best form of Bill Bruford's drums and a guitar in Steve Howe's style and the second a theme that mixes YES and GENESIS with a keyboard solo to the style Tony Banks. The fifth track is clearly inspired in GENESIS, however some sung passages me they reminded another great britanic band THE BEATLES!!! The last track causes me the sensation of being really a farewell theme, not only of the albún, but unhappily of the own band in itself. My raute is 4 stars !!!

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Send comments to maryes (BETA) | Report this review (#284764)
Posted Thursday, June 03, 2010 | Review Permalink
Tarcisio Moura
PROG REVIEWER
2 stars This is not really England´s second album like so many of my friends thought at the time. it is really a collection of demos and out takes that did not made it to their debut Garden Shed and it was released some 20 years later. Of course there is no surprise to find this collection to be a patchy affair with ups and downs. There are some fine musical parts here and there, along with others that seem to be unfinished and/or underarranged.

Strange as it seems I liked several parts more than the band´s debut. Maybe because they sound less Yes clones here than when they hired Martin Henderson as bassist and singer. Not that the vocals are much better: most vocal parts are weak, but at least they are not imitating Jon Anderson. And some instrumental parts are again less derivative. Still it´s hard to think about spending your hard earned money getting this CD when there are so many other fine stuff we have in the market nowadays, new or old (in this case, a friend lended me his copy).

If you liked England´s Garden Shed then you should check this out. But only if liked that album a lot. The last Of The Jubblies is not a bad CD. But certainly this collection of demos is only good enough for hardcore fans and collectors. Two stars.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Send comments to Tarcisio Moura (BETA) | Report this review (#286835)
Posted Thursday, June 17, 2010 | Review Permalink
4 stars I found this album when I surfed the internet and my "mentor" Mr. Gatot W. enlightened me with his review in this site. Later on, I got a copy of this album from a friend of mine in Metalbleedingcorp, and it's wonderful to listen to their music as I can hear the influence from early 70s Genesis and Yes. When those great prog pioneers had started to "move away" from their original roots, England was born and brought back the essential elements of prog with them. If only they were born in late 60s or sometime in the first half of the 70s then England could had been as influential as Genesis, Yes or other essential prog bands we know. Unfortunately they came to see the light when the 70s was almost over, in time when progrock was seen as pre-historic monster in musical industry and new wave as well as punk was showing their teeth and claws.

I give it 4 stars...Essential...

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Send comments to Novri Leonard (BETA) | Report this review (#1150571)
Posted Wednesday, March 19, 2014 | Review Permalink
GruvanDahlman
PROG REVIEWER
4 stars Now, let me first speak a little about the term "masterpiece". I find it to be sort of a troublesome word. What is the definition, really, and what does it mean? Is it purely an album of flawless material? An album where every song is as brilliant as the other, seemingly made of gods? Well, partly. To me a masterpiece means an album where all songs are great, yes, but one has to, I think, also bear in mind the overall feeling, such as originality and vision. All put together I would say that there are many albums I could rate a masterpiece, though the rating five stars only apply to a certain few. The difference can sometimes be thin as the hair of an atom but still, isn't that an integral part of the musixal experience, to feel something sublime, a twitch and sensation to special to put down in words? I would say so.

Anyway... I think that the first, or only real as it were, album by England ("Garden shed") is a testament to the thoughts starting this review. In my opinion it is a masterpiece, though not necessarily a five star album. I love it to bits. So, with that feeling of love within me I had to get a hold of this album, "Last of the jubblies". Some say it is a follow up to "Garden shed" and while I respect that notion I would rather not. It is completely made up of demos and outtakes and these songs were really not, as far as I am aware, intented to constitute the next album. But that is not important, at least not in any big way. The importance of this album lies in something else. What could have been and furthermore as a testament to the brilliance of the guys in the band, sadly neglected in it's time.

The sound quality of the album is so and so at times. Though I need to say that the sound really does not get that bad. I enjoy every second and never is the audio an issue. The issue is rather that the vocals aren't always in key. The recordings are demos and outtakes, so if you're looking for flawless recordings you won't find it here. I have come to find peace in the flaws and mistakes. If you give this album a go, I think you will to.

Now to the songs...

The first track, Creepin', is surely everything you'd expect from England. Great pompous, symphonic prog. From the very beginning it is clear that you are listening to one of the best bands around from the mid 70's. It holds a great pace and shifts and turns in a very pleasant way. The next track, A one-legged day tale, is one of the longer tracks on the album. A fantastic number with a raw riff and good melody line. Would not have been out of place on Garden shed. Sausage pie is a shorter piece, about five minutes in length, and is really one of the quirkier songs on the album. It is a great track, showcasing all that is England. The amazing keyboards, humorous lyrics and sense of melody.

The other lengthy track is Tooting Bec rape case and starts off ominous with percussion before the keyboards enter the scene. It is also an intriguing piece of music which would have been great to hear in a more worked through version, put on a follow up to Garden shed. Mister Meener is a raw sounding track with very distorted guitar and lovely organ. A nice little titbit indeed.

The only track I was familiar with prior to getting "Last of the jubblies" was Nanogram, which appears as a bonus track on my "Garden shed" album. Now there's a piece! Beatiful! A lost classic, if you ask me,

All of the tracks would have fit nicely into "Garden shed" which is quite an effort, or rather they would have made up the contents of a follow up. As a collection of demos and such, it is such a full bodied album. The best of the rest, as it seems, are gathered here making this more than just a visit to the curiosity shop. It is a visit to the very halls of England, the very heart of the garden shed (as it were). These tracks aren't throw-aways. These aren't refuse meant to be theown away on the dung heap. These tracks are the very produce of the muscial harvest made during the mid 70's. Though there are some flaws and mistakes it does not matter. This album is a collection of lovingly crafted songs which by itself would be just enough to render England the title of a lost classic. It is that good. If you are new to England I would, though, recommend you to explore "Garden shed" first.

So, is it a masterpiece? Well... No. Maybe not. Or could it be a minor one? I can't put the label masterpiece on "Last of the jubblies". Primarily due to fact that it is a collection of demos and really not an album as such. It is however a precious testament to the brilliance of England a to me it is worth four stars. Just like that.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Send comments to GruvanDahlman (BETA) | Report this review (#1283788)
Posted Thursday, September 25, 2014 | Review Permalink

ENGLAND The Last Of The Jubblies ratings only


chronological order | showing rating only

Post a review of ENGLAND The Last Of The Jubblies


You must be a forum member to post a review, please register here if you are not.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Copyright Prog Archives, All rights reserved. | Legal Notice | Privacy Policy | Advertise | GeoIP Services by MaxMind | RSS + syndications

Other sites in the MAC network: JazzMusicArchives.com — the ultimate jazz music virtual community | MetalMusicArchives.com — the ultimate metal music virtual community


Server processing time: 0.19 seconds