Header
Trespass - In Haze of Time  CD (album) cover

IN HAZE OF TIME

Trespass

Symphonic Prog


From Progarchives.com, the ultimate progressive rock music website

Bookmark and Share
Greger
PROG REVIEWER
5 stars I don't think I've ever heard a progressive rock band from Israel before. And I didn't really expect that when I finally heard one it would be such a nice surprise. Trespass debut album "In Haze of Time" is the best debut album I've heard for a very long time. They are brilliant technical musicians, but most important, their compositions are not only complex but also very fun to listen to. Trespass's music has lots of variation and a musical playfulness seldom heard in the progressive rock genre. Although their music is probably very well structured it has a very relaxed almost improvised feeling. You can hear that Trespass really love their music and what they're playing. Otherwise I often think that instrumental music, done the wrong way, can be very tedious and boring, but Trespass is actually best when they're not singing, because the vocals are their only weak spot. Fortunately the music is mostly instrumental. It's a blend of classical music, jazz-rock, progressive rock and R.I.O. (Rock in Opposition) with some reminiscences to Emerson Lake & Palmer, The Flower Kings and U.K. I hope that Trespass will release many more albums in the future, 'cause I'm their latest fan. Highly recommended!

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Send comments to Greger (BETA) | Report this review (#22217)
Posted Monday, December 29, 2003 | Review Permalink
glassblister@
5 stars If I could, I would give this disc 6 stars. It's the best disc I've heard in a very long time. Over the last 10 years, I've heard a lot of discs from bands who claim to be progressive, but just aren't. These guys attack the edges of what you've heard in the past the way that bands like ELP and Genesis did back in the 70s. In addition, the production is really top notch. I feel bad that this album isn't as well known as some of the old Genesis stuff because it really is wonderful.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Send comments to (BETA) | Report this review (#22218)
Posted Wednesday, January 28, 2004 | Review Permalink
Marcelo
PROG REVIEWER
4 stars Put togheter the symphonic way of Genesis, the jazzier side of ELP and a Focus touch, combine all these ingredients and you'll get Trespass' "In Haze of Time"! Despite the influences, this album is very far away from a copy or a clon. Sound is near to fusion style in some tracks ("Gate 15" and "City Lights"), to baroque in "Orpheus Suite" and a mix of classical music and traditional jazz in "The Mad House Blues", but -beyond etiquettes- sound is truly progressive at all moment. Most of the album is instrumental, showing a musicians group with superb technical skills, and few English vocals. Happy music, so, you can forget melancholic or depressing tunes and enjoy the whole opus! Highlights, IMO, "Orpheus Suite" and the almost seven minutes song that gives the album's name. Highly recommended to all prog fan, and specially to jazz prog lovers.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Send comments to Marcelo (BETA) | Report this review (#22219)
Posted Sunday, February 22, 2004 | Review Permalink
Steve Hegede
PROG REVIEWER
5 stars Fans of vintage keyboard-based prog will be in for a treat with this CD. TRESPASS are a new 3-piece band from Israel, but they released a CD featuring music that could have easily come out of another era. This 3-piece band is led by virtuoso keyboard player Gil Stein, and he is supported by a top-notch bassist, and drummer. Keyboard-wise, I hear Hammond, piano, and occasional synth leads. Gil also plays guitar on several tracks, but that instrument never leads. To my ears, TRESPASS comes close to ELP mixed with the playfulness of TRACE and FINCH (without the guitar leads). These guys love to swing jazzy Bach-influenced keyboard lines in odd time signatures, to give you a general idea. The CD booklet mentions that the band decided to keep a "free and breathy" sound, and those two words also fit perfectly with the style of prog on this CD. While instrumentally things get complex, I found the lyrics rather simple in nature. My guess is that the band wanted to balance out the frenzied playing with something easy-going. So, instead of singing about complex "prog" topics in a lengthy manner, the guys repeat simple sentences such as "I'm lost in time!" or "I'm in the mood to love you, baby". While this might surprise some prog fans, I found the simple lyrics a good balance to the complex instrumental sections. The use of 70s-styled vocal harmonies is likeable. Overall, this is on my Top 10 list of new releases. The vintage sound combined with incredible musicianship, and playful ideas will impress most fans of keyboard-based prog. Album number two already sounds like a monster!

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Send comments to Steve Hegede (BETA) | Report this review (#22220)
Posted Sunday, March 21, 2004 | Review Permalink
Ivan_Melgar_M
SPECIAL COLLABORATOR
Symphonic Prog Specialist
4 stars I rarely bother to listen bands that use the name of a famous group or album, mostly because they are too derivative from the original and lack of real imagination or creativity.

Heard about this album by a member of a forum I visit sometimes, with some doubts downloaded the sampler expecting to hear another Genesis wanna-be band, but I was mistaken.

As most power trios, "Trespass" has a clear ELP influence but you must add a spectacular baroque sound and a fusion edge. "In Haze of Time" is an absolutely original and imaginative album which I bought the next day I heard the sampler.

Keyboardist Gil Stein is a master with the Hammond and piano, who some times reminds me of Keith Emerson and others of Patrick Moraz, plays Baroque sections and jazz fusion with similar skills, he amazes the listener who can't believe how easily changes from one style to the other and back again. Guitar is also played by Stein, but honestly not as impressive as his keyboards.

Gabriel Weissman is a correct drummer with evident jazz background and Roy Bar-Tour plays a killer bass.

The only weak point of the band are their vocals, Stein's voice is not as strong as the music requires and the lyrics are simply poor, I believe the band is able to do an even better work if they hire a lead vocalist with a stronger voice like Wetton's (maybe he needs a job).

Even though there's not a bad song the best tracks IMHO are the classical and powerful "Creatures of the Night", the jazz oriented Gate 15 and of course Orfeus Suite which is a masterpiece.

The first time I listened this excellent album would have given them 5 stars, but after a couple of months I believe they still have a few things to improve so Ill give them 4 stars, a high rating for a debut album.

With bands as Trespass and Eggroll I believe it's time to turn our eyes towards Israel, one of the countries with stronger future in prog' music.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Send comments to Ivan_Melgar_M (BETA) | Report this review (#22221)
Posted Friday, May 07, 2004 | Review Permalink
4 stars "In Haze of Time" is a piece of symphonic progressive rock cut, characteristically elaborated by the elements and the influence with which the progressive rock of the 70's is compossed. Something classic, made today.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Send comments to manticornio (BETA) | Report this review (#22222)
Posted Saturday, August 14, 2004 | Review Permalink
4 stars Trespass from my country are very good players. They certainly know how to compose symphonic progressive rock, however, their main problem is the singer who sings poorly in my opinion. The guy who plays the keyboard and the guitar does a great job, so do the ones who play the bass and the drums. In a nutshell, this cd is a great addition to every collection of every symphonic progressive rock fan despite its poor vocals.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Send comments to Dan Yaron (BETA) | Report this review (#22223)
Posted Wednesday, May 11, 2005 | Review Permalink
akagert@freem
3 stars Dear Dan Yaron, the bad singer and the keyboardplayer are one and the same guy. And guitars are hardly there! This album has a real live-sound, it's like there is no mixingwork done at all. The title track and Orpheus Suite are IMHO the highlights of this CD. I got a hand on the CD back in 2003, a few month before I saw them play live at ProgFarm festival in the Netherlands. I was very disappointed about their performance back then eventhough I can remember my high hopes for that evening. So, a promising CD (with high musicianship on the keyboards, no doubt about that!) but a lousy live-act. Is that relevant to a CD review? No, but I can't listen to this CD anymore without remembering that disappointing fact.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Send comments to (BETA) | Report this review (#22224)
Posted Wednesday, May 11, 2005 | Review Permalink
erik neuteboom
PROG REVIEWER
3 stars Three years ago this keyboard driven trio from Israel delivered an amazing debut-CD: bombastic and dazzling synthesizer flights, impressive Hammond runs, swinging piano and some majestic harpsichord, this is the realm of keyboard-wizards in the vein of Keith Emerson, Rick van der Linden, Eddie Jobson or Toshio Egawa, what an excellent keyboardplay and what an extremely talented guy this is! But the seven compositions deliver more than just breathtaking keyboardwork (and some howling electric guitar). The climates range from classical (Bach) and rock to jazz and symphonic. Some songs contain surprising elements like the tin whistle, vibraphone and even some boogie woogie piano! The rhythm-section is very dynamic and propulsive, this trio rocks and swings! Unfortunately the vocals are mediocre and the music sounds far from original so I rate this for three stars. I'm still waiting for the next Trespass album, hopefully an instrumental one because then I will surely upgrade it to four stars!

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Send comments to erik neuteboom (BETA) | Report this review (#38470)
Posted Monday, July 04, 2005 | Review Permalink
Trotsky
SPECIAL COLLABORATOR
Honorary Collaborator
3 stars The stuff on the only album from this contemporary Israeli group ranges from the sublime to the ridiculous. The only constant is the outstanding keyboard work of Eli Stein, but while some pieces are stratospheric, others are fatally flawed.

The opener Creatures Of The Night alone combines outstanding Bach-influenced keyboard playing and some ferocious jazz organ with cinge-inducing vocal segments that recall some of the worst excesses of Lawton-era Uriah Heep. It goes on for more than 8 minutes, and the discerning listener is constantly torn between excultation and despair. Unfortunately, a fair of the album turns out to be like that.

There are no such problems with the brilliant title track, though. Quite possibly my favourite song of the decade so far, it is a piece I can listen to over and over again. Here Stein's vocal limitations are almost a strength, building on the atmosphere created first by the psych-jazz organ, then the delicate synth and regal guitar and finally an explosive flute hook. It all leads into the massive semi-religious chorus. Most times I listen to this song, I get chills when the tinkling piano lines join in the chorus after what sounds like a cannon blast at exactly 4:36. Brrr!

The other main highlight is the beautiful Orpheus Suite/Troya sequence, which goes through a number of moods with spell-binding virtuosity. Although by this point there's an air of over-familiarity to some of the playing, it's hard to resist. There's even a brief nod to a famous Van Der Graaf Generator moment!

But as I said earlier, there are some less than satisfying moments on this album. Gate 15 for example, is an annoying Latin jazz-fusion instrumental. Sure there's some skilled keyboard playing ( particularly an astral synth jam) in the middle, but I really hate the first couple of minutes ... and the returning of the fusion theme at the end! City Lights is another offender with an awful mid 80s commercial hard rock sort of vocal melody being counter-balanced by brilliant keyboards. The closing ragtime showpiece of Mad House Blues is a little dizzying (and reminds me of those boogie-woogie songs that Keith Emerson used to stick on classic ELP albums to lighten up the mood) and as great classical interludes and really horrible vocals.

Along with The Mars Volta's De-Loused In The Comatorium and Ayreon's The Human Equation, In Haze Of Time is one of the few modern prog albums I return to constantly. However, it is the most backward-looking and uneven of the three. This could have been a real classic album, but it isn't quite there. ... 64% on the MPV scale

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Send comments to Trotsky (BETA) | Report this review (#48447)
Posted Monday, September 26, 2005 | Review Permalink
ZowieZiggy
PROG REVIEWER
3 stars Two things intrigued me with this band. First, they come from Israel (a country which does not hold a lot of rock bands) and their name : Trespass. The latter reminding me vaguely something.

It is obvious to say that one of their major source of inspiration is Genesis. Especially during the instrumental parts from the first two songs. The problem being the vocals which aren't as catchy as they ought to be, just to meet the music level.

This is especially true during the very good opening song Creatures Of The Knight. Next track is also excellent : In Haze of Time is a great mix of folkish influence (very nice flute) and a relatively complex song writing. The high pitched vocals are much more convincing here. A very good song again.

The instrumental Gate 15 is more on the jazzy side. The keyboard playing is very much in the style of a Keith Emerson or Jon Lord. It is not as strong but still decent.

During City Lights the band can fully demonstrates his maestria during this complex and rhythmic track. Great beat for sure, but maybe too self indulgent. A good jazz-rock song though (which is a compliment since you might know that I am not really into jazz).

The band reverts to an almost classical mood with Orpheus Suite. Maybe an indication for their next release?

It has been quite some time that their Genesis roots were abandoned but Troya has a definite Los Endos feeling. Another powerful song with sublime drumming. ELP is not very far away either.

This album is a mix of neo-prog (three songs), jazz-rock (three songs) and classical influences. More of a cross-over music than symphonic actually. It contains well crafted and enjoyable music. A real and good surprise from Israel (even if the closing number The Mad House Blues is the weakest song of the whole, a jazzy-bluesy track but with some pleasant fluting).

It definitely deserves your attention. You might be as impressed as I am. Three stars for this good album.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Send comments to ZowieZiggy (BETA) | Report this review (#158412)
Posted Saturday, January 12, 2008 | Review Permalink
apps79
SPECIAL COLLABORATOR
Neo Prog Team
4 stars Following the succesful steps of E.L.P.,TRESPASS were formed in 1999 in Jersusalem,Israel, led by keyboard-maestro Gil Stein.Joined by Gabriel Weissmann on drums and Roy Bar-Tour on bass,they formed a powerful prog trio,which, unlike their name suggests, recalls the best moments of E.L.P...Release on Musea Records in 2002,''In haze of time'' meant to be a really strong debut for the band.

Gil handles all keyboards and guitars and his main influences seems to be Keith Emerson and Rick Van Der Linden on keys and Jan Akkermann on guitars.Powerful and bombastic Hammond organ solos in the vein of E.L.P. constantly alternate with classical-sounding keyboard passages in the style of TRACE,while there is also some careful yet atmospheric use of digital synths,sometimes with an ambient feeling,making the whole effort sounding more modern.Gil's guitar work follows the smooth and confindent style of Jan Akkermann filled with tons of melody and harmony.Vocals are scarce,but there are also quite great and suitable to the music.The rhythm section is also amazing with a very tight playing,you will certainly notice it in some good improvisational parts with jazzy leanings and fantastic interplays with Stein's piano.I had a lot of time to listen to such an inspiring and elaborated work by a prog trio and TRESPASS deserve your attention for one of the most amazing modern works in prog territory with an obvious vintage aura.Highly recommended!

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Send comments to apps79 (BETA) | Report this review (#214654)
Posted Sunday, May 10, 2009 | Review Permalink
4 stars This is a very delightful album from Israel.

It starts as a very funky, jazzy album and then proceed to touch base with both the symphonic prog, the neo-prog and the jazz/fusion scene. Well, mostly symphonic prog although it starts as an almost fusion album at the opening seconds of Creatures Of The Night. But it turns more into a commercial neo-prog song with some ELP influences too. This kinds of sets the standard here. Other songs also has some folk-rock and GENESIS influences. Most songs has a strong jazz influence too. This album is an open minded church, if you get my drift. It is also pretty much influenced by the GENESIS album which has given the name to this band. Parts of this album is pastorial. Other parts is more ELP and other parts is jazzy again. Everything is down to this excellent keyboard player Gil Stein. A man whose work cannot be praised highly enough on this album. He also does the guitars and even they are excellent. Keith Emerson; you have got company.

The music is very beautiful and haunting symphonic prog on Troya and Orpheus Suite and commercial neo-prog on City Lights. The first two are excellent. The last one not so good. This si an album I thoroughly enjoy both now and very probably in the future too. This album has hidden layers I have yet to explore, I believe. I have also just got their second album and I am looking forward to that one too. I think TRESPASS is an excellent band. Both they and this album is most definate worth exploring.

4 stars

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Send comments to toroddfuglesteg (BETA) | Report this review (#220157)
Posted Sunday, June 07, 2009 | Review Permalink
Mellotron Storm
PROG REVIEWER
2 stars TRESPASS are a three piece band from Isreal (keyboards, bass & drums) who are greatly influenced by ELP. A variety of keyboards dominates this recording. Vocals are in English but after reading the lyrics I think that was a mistake. They need to get someone who can write a song lets put it that way. I guess my dislike for ELP (except for their debut) is showing here, but man I do not like this album.

"Creatures Of The Night" is uptempo with keyboards galore as the drums pound. The synths end up all over this bringing to mind STYX. "In Haze Of Time" is better because they slow it down. Reserved vocals and lots of keyboards. Vocals do get passionate later. "Gate 15" is uptempo and kind of jazzy.

"City Lights" has cringe-worthy lyrics and is uptempo. They slow it down again on "Orpheus Suite" with a variety of keyboards in play. "Troya" is uptempo with some guitar in it. "The Mad House Blues" is one of those silly ELP-like songs that I detest. Lots of piano.

Just my taste in music I know but I find this to be pompous at best.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Send comments to Mellotron Storm (BETA) | Report this review (#280527)
Posted Tuesday, May 04, 2010 | Review Permalink
kev rowland
SPECIAL COLLABORATOR
Crossover Team
3 stars Not only are Trespass one of those rare breeds within rock, a trio, but they are also a progressive outfit and come from that known hotbed of prog rock, Israel. As soon as you hear that it is a prog rock trio led by a keyboard player then it is inevitable that they are going to be compared with ELP, but according to the press release the main composer, Gil Stein, had not heard of ELP or The Nice or any other prog rock bands until he recorded the album. Now for me that is one step too far, as even though Israel may not be up to date in all things musical it is incomprehensible that he had not heard any prog music at all, especially given the name of the band.

While the keyboard sounds being utilised are quite different, it is with ELP that this band has the most musical similarities. There is driving drumming and good strong bass, with just a little guitar but by the most important instrument are the keyboards. There are long instrumental sections but when there are vocals they are well sung and in English. The result is a debut album that is extremely listenable for the prog fan, while not breaking any new ground. It is well structured and not too self-indulgent, and Gil is a fine keyboard player while bassist Roy Bar- Tour and especially drummer Gabriel Weissman prove that they are no musical slouches either. Bearing in mind that Gil has never heard ELP how does he explain the honky tonk piano on "The Mad House Blues"? That aside, it is a fun album that doesn't take to much work to enjoy.

Originally appeared in Feedback #70, Oct 02

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Send comments to kev rowland (BETA) | Report this review (#978141)
Posted Saturday, June 15, 2013 | Review Permalink

TRESPASS In Haze of Time ratings only


chronological order | showing rating only

Post a review of TRESPASS In Haze of Time


You must be a forum member to post a review, please register here if you are not.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Copyright Prog Archives, All rights reserved. | Legal Notice | Privacy Policy | Advertise | GeoIP Services by MaxMind | RSS + syndications

Other sites in the MAC network: JazzMusicArchives.com — the ultimate jazz music virtual community | MetalMusicArchives.com — the ultimate metal music virtual community


Server processing time: 0.25 seconds