Header
Dixie Dregs - Dregs Of The Earth CD (album) cover

DREGS OF THE EARTH

Dixie Dregs

Jazz Rock/Fusion


From Progarchives.com, the ultimate progressive rock music website

Bookmark and Share
4 stars Dixie Dregs produced a few excellent albums in the late seventies/early eighties, thisbeing amonmg them, and perhaps the best. Fusionesque, superior musicianship, Morse was certainly one of the best guitarists of the day. Recommended.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Send comments to Gonghobbit (BETA) | Report this review (#26547)
Posted Wednesday, January 28, 2004 | Review Permalink
lor68
PROG REVIEWER
4 stars Wow, Steve Morse is such a versatile and aggressive musician as well!! His creature- "Dixie Dreggs"- fits perfectly into his stunning style.This is art rock, enriched with incredible guitar excursions into the US country music, performed skilfully and also emotionally supported by a fine violin! Music should be represented by albums like these...because it's simple from the point of view of its compositions, but also tinged with a lot of music colours. I remember his experience with Kansas, but I think of the incredible personal style of Morse here, and I think it's better in this kind of music approach!!

Recommended!!

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Send comments to lor68 (BETA) | Report this review (#26548)
Posted Friday, April 16, 2004 | Review Permalink
hhackman@luuk
4 stars I bought this album by accident in early 80's. Having had it for now over 20 years I still listen to it regularly. The combination of Steve Morses heavy/rock sound guitar and the rest of the band is still working well for me. Also having songs that are driving and rocking very well and then on the otherhand songs that are more sensitive and melodic is a good combination. The song Road Expense is something I will never get bored with. Hearing it always gets me up to speed. Also Recommended!

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Send comments to (BETA) | Report this review (#26549)
Posted Tuesday, February 08, 2005 | Review Permalink
b_olariu
PROG REVIEWER
3 stars I purchase this album fiew days ago, curious of what is on this album, after the good album What if from '78. I have only these two albums, and What if is much better then this one. With some influences from country (in fact more then on What if) made this album to be only 3 stars to me. forte track, all have the same characteristics so i can't choose one. After all not a bad album - not a fantastic album either. Fans of more hard side of jazz might like this one, but i recommend What if because is the best Dixie Dregs album.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Send comments to b_olariu (BETA) | Report this review (#124823)
Posted Wednesday, June 06, 2007 | Review Permalink
Evolver
SPECIAL COLLABORATOR
Crossover & JazzRock/Fusion Teams
4 stars If you were a Dixie Dregs fan in nineteen eighty, by this time you knew just what to expect from a new album of theirs. Beautiful, majestic ballads, southern flavored rockers, a blazing bluegrass romp, at least on smokin' prog tune, and maybe a little classical thrown in. This one does not disappoint. For their first major label release (they had just switched to Arista records after starting out on Capricorn) the Dregs created what may have been their finest album yet.

The absolute highlight here is "I'm Freaking Out", which starts with a jazzy jam, and turns into a symphonic prog tour de force. It's easily up there with the best the Dregs have ever recorded.

The rest of the album is your usual extremely listenable and inventive Dregs fare. The bluegrass selection, "Pride O' The Farm" is good, but slightly slower than their usual bluegrass fare. They fixed that in concerts, where they sped the song up to jaw dropping speeds.

This is a definite must for any Dregs fan.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Send comments to Evolver (BETA) | Report this review (#229664)
Posted Monday, August 03, 2009 | Review Permalink
Slartibartfast
PROG REVIEWER
4 stars Mark Parrish, steps down on keyboards and T Lavitz steps in. The replacement of Mark by T was kind of the equivalent of Howe replacing Banks in Yes. The original person holding down that seat wasn't bad, it's just that the new guy was a better fit.

The Dixie Dregs at this point had kind of developed and almost cliché style of songs at this point for their studio albums. You'd have a proggy bluegrass bit, some rockers, something symphonic prog, something even more classical styled. Really not a bad rut for a band to get stuck in.

Normally I have a hard time writing about instrumental albums but this one is easy. The styles are what really make it so. Here's a track by track:

Road Expense: a rocking opening tune. The title is of course a reference to touring.

Pride O' the Farm: the obligatory proggy bluegrass track. Band makes farm noises at the end. If you don't like or think you like bluegrass. Dregs songs like this might change your mind. So if you need something to change your mind?

Twiggs Approved: a more laid back kind of rocker. Twiggs was their road manager and died in a skydiving accident, which is ironic as their first studio album had the band jumping out of an airplane.

Hereafter: I guess this one fits in more with symphonic prog. One of their obligatory mellow tracks.

The Great Spectacular: an update to a song they put on their college demo album. I find it hard to pigeonhole this one other than it is a nice prog instrumental.

Broad Street Strut: boogie baby. If instrumentals were making hits in those days, who knows?

I'm Freaking Out: if you are a prog rock fan and you don't like this track, there's something wrong with you. Has what I consider to be one of Andy West's coolest bass lines. A little over nine minutes of a trip.

Old World: really good acoustic wrap up to the album. This would be their obligatory classical style piece for this album.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Send comments to Slartibartfast (BETA) | Report this review (#308472)
Posted Friday, November 05, 2010 | Review Permalink
3 stars The Dregs begin the 80's with another classic rocking instrumental, but unfortunately I would consider this their last strong album. The eclecticism is still here, as is the great musicianship and compositional skills. But even by now they've worn out a lot of the sound that made up their last three albums, and are sticking to that same formula. In this way, this album is slightly less inspired, and doesn't quite have the same oomph. Nonetheless, this is a consistent listen from beginning to end, and there aren't really any weak tracks. This is still classic Dregs; good, but nothing amazing.

6/10

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Send comments to Mr. Mustard (BETA) | Report this review (#771390)
Posted Friday, June 15, 2012 | Review Permalink
5 stars This album sadly marks the end of the Dregs heyday. This was a crossover time. Mark Parrish was replaced by T. Lavitz on keys. Legendary producer Ken Scott oversaw the project. The Dregs were between cult fav and pseudo stardom.

This album DOES follow a sort of pattern in the mix of song types. A few Rockers, a Bluegrass song, one or two fusion Jazz songs, a classical guitar peice.... But, they did these extraordinarily well. Even though you may say... "oh... this is the country song"... it did not sound like "the country song" on the last album.

I won't break down each song, but... Hereafter is simply one of the greatest, deepest, most powerful songs ever written. Period. It is a masterpiece of chamber arrangement for rock band. Even if one were to completely put aside Steve Morse's virtuosity, it is his songwriting that I find stunning and almost heartbreaking.

This album actually stays in my car's 6 disk changer at all times.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Send comments to jhelm_waterw (BETA) | Report this review (#982988)
Posted Thursday, June 20, 2013 | Review Permalink

DIXIE DREGS Dregs Of The Earth ratings only


chronological order | showing rating only

Post a review of DIXIE DREGS Dregs Of The Earth


You must be a forum member to post a review, please register here if you are not.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Copyright Prog Archives, All rights reserved. | Legal Notice | Privacy Policy | Advertise | GeoIP Services by MaxMind | RSS + syndications

Other sites in the MAC network: JazzMusicArchives.com — the ultimate jazz music virtual community | MetalMusicArchives.com — the ultimate metal music virtual community


Server processing time: 0.19 seconds