Header
Popol Vuh - Brüder des Schattens - Söhne des Lichts CD (album) cover

BRÜDER DES SCHATTENS - SÖHNE DES LICHTS

Popol Vuh

Krautrock


From Progarchives.com, the ultimate progressive rock music website

Bookmark and Share
mh28450@sgh.w
5 stars I am not sure if it's a masterpiece of "progressive rock", but certainly of progressive music, or of music in general. Simply the most beautiful and advanced as far as composition is concerned. There are some parts one could call it a pre-post-rock, but it's nothing new as Popol Vuh have developed various sub-genres over their career. But again, even if not the most "interesting", "Bruder des Schattens" is undoubtedly Popol Vuh's most beautiful and most melodious album. At the same time one of my favourite albums of the 70s.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Send comments to (BETA) | Report this review (#31952)
Posted Friday, May 27, 2005 | Review Permalink
clopez@minedu
5 stars This album contains what I believe is the most beautifull piece of music I have ever heard in my life, its the track called brüder des schattens-söhne des lichts a 17 minutes minimalist, deep and melancholic piece full of emotion and love

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Send comments to (BETA) | Report this review (#62048)
Posted Wednesday, December 28, 2005 | Review Permalink
4 stars The title track (which translates to "Brother of Darkness, Son of Light") is absolutely incredible and hypnotic, and makes this worth owning. It starts as a haunting and ominous piece, and eventually builds into something brighter and more peaceful (hence the title).

The other 3 songs are lovely as well, but nowhere near the brilliance of the first song. As a whole this is a minimalistic and atmospheric album, but I'd certainly consider it progressive work. The newest CD release has a bonus track that's a re-recording of Sing, For Song Drives Away The Wolves . It's a nice bonus, but doesn't really fit the mood of the rest of the album.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Send comments to Mr. Punch (BETA) | Report this review (#148934)
Posted Monday, November 05, 2007 | Review Permalink
5 stars Wow, what can I say about Popol Vuh? I am rather recent convert and have never been a fan of anything described as 'contemplative.' But an intercontinental flight to Brazil changed my mind. I loaded about 2 hours of Popol Vuh onto my mp3 player prior. It was the least stressful 9-hour trip I've ever had.

It's understandable that reviewers often compare Popol Vuh's work to new age music. Their songs are usually very relaxing and draw from a variety of international sources. Although they influenced the new age sound their music has much more integrity and will take you places new age won't. It's too experimental to fit the template.

Brüder des Schattens ~ Söhne des Lichts is a good place to start if you are interested in exploring PV. It's one of their best. I've just begun to delve into the catalogue so I can't give you the blow by blow on how it stacks up against the rest of the lot.

If you like the dreamier side of Pink Floyd, Brian Eno, second phase King Crimson, Genesis or Grails you may like this one.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Send comments to epignosis11 (BETA) | Report this review (#182048)
Posted Monday, September 08, 2008 | Review Permalink
Mellotron Storm
PROG REVIEWER
4 stars This is one isn't one of my favourite POPOL VUH albums although it's still very good.

The side long title track is the highlight here with it's medieval chants repeated over and over. Aboe eventually joins in as this continues until we get a change before 5 minutes as piano takes over. Acoustic guitar and sitar join in to help and this continues until electric guitar arrives after 9 1/2 minutes. A change after 16 minutes as the instruments become more pronounced until it settles down to end it. Quite a song. "Hore, Der Du Wagst" is pretty much piano melodies played over and over. It's a solemn tune. "Das Schoss Des Irrtums" is mainly acoustic guitar and piano throughout and it's brighter. "Die Umkehr" is mostly sitar, guitar and drums. I like the final minute the best when they lay off the sitar.

Worth buying for the title track alone. Intersting that this was re-issued under the name "Noferatu (Original Soundtrack)" and it has the same first four tracks except the first one is shortened to 5:41.Then they have added 10 more songs which rounds out all the songs on the soundtrack of this Werner Herzog movie.To confuse things more, there is another POPOL VUH record called "Nosferatu" which is like a shortened version of the other album with the same name. They were even released the same year. Go figure !

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Send comments to Mellotron Storm (BETA) | Report this review (#199066)
Posted Wednesday, January 14, 2009 | Review Permalink
friso
PROG REVIEWER
3 stars Popol Vuh - Brüder des Schattens - Söhne des Lichts (1978)

This is my first Popol Vuh record, and I really did not know what to expect. First of all this record has little to do with the Krautrock movement. I had to think for a while to find a proper description of this record, but this is the best I can do.

'A minimalistic version of Tubalar Bells, an amazing recorded instrumental album with warmth repetetive harmonic structures with an almost spiritual appeal, with some world-music influences'. The extremely harmonic (dis-harmonic moments are non-existent) approach of this album turns out to be a winner. The warmth of all instruments playing the same chords is the result of cummaliteve effect of the combination of friendly wavelengths. There are few different melodies within the songs, but they all sound gentle and relaxing.

Ok, so this album does not fit perfectly in the progressive rock genre. It's atmospheric music, perhaps even sound-scape like. Some people might be bored to death by it, but to others it might have a magical appeal. It's piecefull atmospheres are welcome for sure in my living room. One thing is for sure. All instruments are played with extreme precision and the recording is amazing. It's a great album, but I won't give it the four star rating. It simply isn't very progressive. If the discription given by me and the other reviewers got you interested this album is recommended. It's has a magical appeal. Three stars.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Send comments to friso (BETA) | Report this review (#296604)
Posted Sunday, August 29, 2010 | Review Permalink
Bonnek
SPECIAL COLLABORATOR
Prog Metal Team
2 stars Brüder des Schattens - Söhne des Lichts is a compilation of tracks that were used in various film scores that Florian Fricke put together for Werner Herzog.

The first part of Brüder des Schattens is an alternate version of On The Way, the haunting opening music of the Nosferatu film. The addition of the oboe makes it more symphonic and less eerie. It's followed by a 15 minute acoustic improvisation "Söhne Des Lichts" which works nice as background music but that hasn't inspired me for dedicated listening.

The remainder of the album contains the vintage Popol Vuh 'rock' of Höre du Wagst and Die Umkehr, both sounding like they've been recorded during the Hohelied Salomos or Letzte Tage sessions. Der Schloss der Irrtums is a nice but rather static acoustic track, probably meant to create a hypnotizing effect but so far it missed me. The 2005 bonus track Sing for Songs Drive away the Wolves is a 90s re-recording of the original song from the 1977 Herz aus Glass score and sounds out of place in the acoustic atmosphere of the album.

All tracks from the original album feature on the 2004 reissue of Nosferatu (except for the Söhne Des Lichts part which you can get on other compilations). It makes this album entirely redundant but for dedicated fans. I'd give 3 stars for the music, but 2 stars when it comes to the necessity of having this title in your collection.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Send comments to Bonnek (BETA) | Report this review (#381493)
Posted Monday, January 17, 2011 | Review Permalink
Warthur
PROG REVIEWER
2 stars One of two albums derived from the sessions for the soundtrack to Werner Herzog's Nosferatu remake, this album presents a little too minimalistic a version of Popol Vuh to me. Without the shimmering layers of guitar and other embellishments, the songs sound like demos for a Popol Vuh album as opposed to fully fleshed out compositions, and drag on well after they have worn out their welcome. It doesn't help that the sound quality is rather fuzzy and indistinct, or that the songs don't really evoke a particular emotional atmosphere the way Popol Vuh's albums usually do. Very much an inessential addition to the Popol Vuh discography.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Send comments to Warthur (BETA) | Report this review (#558754)
Posted Friday, October 28, 2011 | Review Permalink

POPOL VUH Brüder des Schattens - Söhne des Lichts ratings only


chronological order | showing rating only

Post a review of POPOL VUH Brüder des Schattens - Söhne des Lichts


You must be a forum member to post a review, please register here if you are not.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Copyright Prog Archives, All rights reserved. | Legal Notice | Privacy Policy | Advertise | RSS + syndications

Other sites in the MAC network: JazzMusicArchives.com — the ultimate jazz music virtual community | MetalMusicArchives.com — the ultimate metal music virtual community


Server processing time: 0.16 seconds