Progarchives, the progressive rock ultimate discography
Motorpsycho - The All Is One CD (album) cover

THE ALL IS ONE

Motorpsycho

Eclectic Prog


From Progarchives.com, the ultimate progressive rock music website

Bookmark and Share
BrufordFreak
COLLABORATOR
Honorary Collaborator
4 stars The Scandinavian veterans (with all kinds of excellent gusts) are back with their annual contribution.

1. "The All Is One" (8:50) a lyrics-oriented song until the instrumental section begins around 4:35. Amazing use of Mellotron in that section. (17.25/20)

2. "The Same Old Rock (One Must Imagine Sisyphus Happy)" (5:18) acoustic guitar! Steven Wilson-like vocal! Then it kicks into old rock territory (The Who!) It's a Who song with some Steve Howe-like guitar lead playing beneath it all! (8.5/10)

3. "The Magpie" (5:36) (8.5/10)

4. "Delusion (The Reign of Humbug)" (2:44) acoustic guitar and solo voce alone in a reverb chamber. Gorgeous. (5/5)

- N.O.X. ∞ (42:38) : 5. "Circles Around the Sun, Pt. 1" (9:11) nice, gentle keys before raw, acoustic violin joins in. At 1:50 whole band kicks in, creating a deep, ULVER-like groove. Heavily distorted almost cinematic multi-voiced vocals enter at 3:40, singing an eerie melody that creates a pretty but Danny Elfman-like environment. This is f*king brilliant! Aside from the little interlude songs, by far and away my favorite song on the album. (19.5/20) 6. "Ouroboros (Strange Loop)" (8:23) a repetitious jam song that feels as if it was created out of Chris Squire's "Schindleria Præmaturus." (17.25/20) 7. "Ascension" (3:37) spacey PINK FLOYD-ish instrumental with soft weave of stringed insturmesnts --before the violin goes crazy in the second half. Brilliant and beautiful! (10/10) 8. "Night of Pan" (15:33) nice display of discipline even if the format was used on Death-Defying Unicorn. (27/30) 9. "Circles Around the Sun, Pt. 2" (5:54) Motorspycho being both motor and psycho. It's okay. An unfortunate ending to an otherwise stunning 42-minute epic. (8.25/10) - 10. "A Little Light" (2:19) two acoustic guitars--until the freaky, horn-like end. . Thank you, Allman Brothers and David Gilmour. (4.5/5)

11. "Dreams of Fancy" (9:37) combining riffs that are familiar from old classic rock songs as well as the band's own repertoire, they create a kind of hodge-podge LED ZEPPELIN song. (Think "The Rain Song.") Poor lyrics, poor singing, nice melody in the chorus. Letting Reine Fiske loose in the instrumental sections is the highlight. (17/20)

12. "The Dowser" (2:46) strummed electrified guitars with two vocalists singing in harmony. Nice. Beautiful chorus. Almost CSN&Y. (4.75/5)

13. "Like Chrome" (5:03) heavy BEATLES-like start before turning pure XTC! In the middle when we hit the instrumental section, it gets heavier before returning to the Andy Partridge stuff. Interesting! (8.5/10)

Total Time 84:51

85 minutes is a long sitting. I was prepared to dislike or be bored by this album (How much new and fresh music can a band come up with over 31 years and 24 studio albums?), but the sound is so good, the band so tight (especially the drums!), and the instrumental choices and weaves still so creative and fresh that one can't help but like it. Some of the songs here are more oriented toward the lyrics than I'm used to hearing from Motorpsycho; when I listen to Motorpsycho it's not the lyrics I'm listening to but the music. The sound engineering on this album is fine, the music polished if starting to sound somewhat repetitive of stuff they've done previously.

B+/4.5 stars; a near-masterpiece of progressive rock music. Despite containing some absolutely stunning pieces, there is too much music being rehashed here.

Report this review (#2445801)
Posted Tuesday, September 8, 2020 | Review Permalink
4 stars MOTORPSYCHO is a Norwegian group known personally in 2010 so yesterday given their journey from the very beginning of the 90's. A stoner sound, pop, fruity, a bit crazy, in short eclectic. Progressive rock, alternative, folk, hard, jazzy, country to be honest, even punk and grunge at their beginnings, in short, unclassifiable. Progressive rock, psychedelic music and independent and alternative rock remaining the backbone; to note a progressive rock opera concept in 2012 and a collaboration with the Swedish guitarist Reine FISKE (LANDBERK, PAATOS). MOTORPSYCHO was originally formed by Bent SÆTHER, his progressive rock influences started to kick in and have remained present with sprawling psychedelic directions at this point. "The All is One" on a somewhat retro-progressive stoner tune, ZEPPELIN LED drums and rhythm, rock and psychedelic composition, all in the length with a certain monotony, YES-like sounds bring a little divine memory, the title thus changing atmosphere; final at the OLDFIELD, it starts heavy. "The Same Old Rock" starts off on progressive retro rock and its chorus with drenched percussions, the voice remaining very sharp, a little flute, the riff which denotes until the Howe solo and return to heavy rock, proto- heavy but catchy rock. "The Magpie" and its psyche atmosphere at the start then a journey on a rhythmic piece in two tones, bass forward to give the direction to take; we are far from prog; we get closer to the scent of MONSTER MAGNET, the incursions of ZAPPA, then those of AL DI MEOLA for a few moments; the guitar solo seems to come from a vintage 70s recording, astonishing; prog no longer has its raison d'etre, it's the notes that send us to it. "Delusion" calms the heat with a kitsch acoustic interlude and notes that resonate in our minds, we got a long way off there. So far after a few reads as is often the case with MOTORPSYCHO, the record is performing well. "N.O.X" in 5 variations for the astral journey of nearly 3/4 hours, timeless from "Circles Around the Sun, Pt. 1" departure with bells and violins then the dark atmosphere of the Scandinavian reliefs can be guessed; the progression is there, the wind instruments make the tempo mysterious, indecisive, latent as on the long pieces of THE DOORS, frightening, rising in strident maelstrom with a jazzy edge; you have to be used to uncompromising prog under penalty of astonishment, the violins duel for a symphonic finale of the most beautiful effect. "Ouroboros" arrives and changes the rhythm to train us on "Fragile" or certain arpeggios from "Close to the Edge"; a guitar now from the solo heard on "Encore" by TANGERINE DREAM, then YES again with a vintage organ, a long variation which can lead to a trance, be careful! A hellish groove, a paroxysmal rise, that's good with "Ascension" coming in and bringing some order to the scattered notes, a soaring interlude and a second part that goes up to an always moderate tempo. "Night of Pan" and that hypnotic tune, ah that tune, Brian ENO, Philip GLASS, an tune that chills your back, we're in the movie "Reality" from which you can't get out; a Dantesque symphonic post-rock canon, serious and soft choirs, it literally takes off around 7 minutes as with the long tirades of Klaus SCHULZE, drums come to lend a hand, the mellotron is not to be outdone, the trance surrounds you , you are no longer yourself !! I didn't want to write this column because I had listened to it a number of times before I was asked and I didn't want to explain the experiences of sound dematerialization that I had lived, too late I admit it here, I am lost in this maelstrom, it's just giant to believe that the end of the year will give even more musical pearls; a 10 for this dangerous piece, oh so pleasantly dangerous. A complex sequence that you have to listen to, a rise, a crescendo, a peak, what am I saying, Cyrano's nose, immense I tell you! The end starts with TANGERINE DREAM-style sequences like on "Sorcerer"; "Circles Around the Sun Pt.2" as the finale is even more apocalyptic; we find there the musical frenzy of CARAVAN or ANEKDOTEN, a little THE ENID in their extreme climbs, a little MAGMA there, it explodes, it squirts, it is moving, it's crazy, ecstasy is the. "N.O.X" was born out of a musical commission written for the St. Olav Festival performance. "A Little Light" comes out of this major piece with the damn acoustic interlude, two guitars that take the opportunity to tune your stereo on your speakers; finale with a mysterious synth that puts you back on the alert to announce "Dreams of Fancy" and a more rock track here, cool groove that is easier to access too; the less high-pitched voice can recall a little RUSH at times, we are still on an old sound however with bold and archaic riff; the violin solos quickly joined by those of the guitars gives an interesting scale. "The Dowser" for a little acoustic rhyme that rests again, to listen as "Horizons" after "Supper's Ready"! Finally comes "Like Chrome" and a bold title, the different voice drawing on that of Joe JACKSON and giving a more alternative rock sound; the instrumental part is detached from the verse-chorus with a heavy and heady sound to the ZEPPELIN LED as at the beginning. MOTORPSYCHO struck a big blow with the end of the Gullvåg trilogy which will have combed the covers of the albums; texts on alchemy, Tarot and painting, texts on social, political and environmental conflicts with which we live; in 30 years one would have thought that their genre and musical style had exhausted it; we clearly have here a vintage sound of the 70's boosted by the recording of the years 2030, a dantesque, bestial, spatial sound where time seems to stand still; a work beyond music, beautiful musical rock art. In short, and it's a pleasure a must of its kind.
Report this review (#2462966)
Posted Thursday, November 5, 2020 | Review Permalink
4 stars With The tower and The Crucible Motorpsycho entered their prog renaissance and continued it on the new album The all is one, the band delivers powerful prog sounds with brilliant guitar, bass and beautiful keyboards mostly mellotron. The album kicks off with a self titled track that bursts with power and fantastic mellotron parts. N.O.X.', a 42-minute epic shows that this band is at the top of their game. The all is one has it all from hard and heavy to beautifully written acoustic and classical parts. Third and final chapter in the "Gullvåg" trilogy is a must have If you like mix of eclectic, symphonyc, heavy, space and psych with really interesting lyrics focusing on moral, political and other issues we face today.
Report this review (#2479157)
Posted Monday, November 23, 2020 | Review Permalink

MOTORPSYCHO The All Is One ratings only


chronological order | showing rating only

Post a review of MOTORPSYCHO The All Is One


You must be a forum member to post a review, please register here if you are not.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

Copyright Prog Archives, All rights reserved. | Legal Notice | Privacy Policy | Advertise | RSS + syndications

Other sites in the MAC network: JazzMusicArchives.com — jazz music reviews and archives | MetalMusicArchives.com — metal music reviews and archives

Donate monthly and keep PA fast-loading and ad-free forever.