Progarchives, the progressive rock ultimate discography


The Soft Machine

Canterbury Scene

From, the ultimate progressive rock music website

The Soft Machine The Best Of Soft Machine...The Harvest Years album cover
3.58 | 6 ratings | 2 reviews | 33% 5 stars

Write a review

from partners
Boxset/Compilation, released in 1995

Songs / Tracks Listing

1. Hazard Profile Part 1 (9:18)
2. Gone Sailing (0:56)
3. Bundles (3:14)
4. Land Of The Bagsnake (3:35)
5. The Man Who Waved At Trains (1:50)
6. Peff (3:45)
7. Four Gongs, Two Drums (2:23)
8. Song Of Aeolus (4:31)
9. Kayoo (3:30)
10. Aubade (1:52)
11. Second Bundle (2:33)
12. Camden Tandem (2:05)
13. One Over The Eight (5:23)
14. Number Three (2:25)
15. The Nodder (7:13)
16. Soft Space (8:17)

Total Time: 60:10

Line-up / Musicians

- Roy Babbington / bass (1-13)
- Allan Holdsworth / guitars (1-6)
- Karl Jenkins / oboe, piano, electric piano, pianette, electric keyboards, synthesizers, string and mini-moog synthesizers, and soprano sax
- John Marshall / drums and percussion
- Mike Ratledge / organ, electric piano, synthesizer (1-6, 8)
- John Etheridge / guitars (8-16)
- Alan Wakeman / soprano and tenor saxophones (8-13)
- Rick Sanders / violin (14-16)
- Steve Cook / bass (14-16)

Releases information

See For Miles Records CSMCD623

Thanks to ProgLucky for the addition
Edit this entry

Buy THE SOFT MACHINE The Best Of Soft Machine...The Harvest Years Music

More places to buy THE SOFT MACHINE music online

THE SOFT MACHINE The Best Of Soft Machine...The Harvest Years ratings distribution

(6 ratings)
Essential: a masterpiece of progressive rock music(33%)
Excellent addition to any prog rock music collection(33%)
Good, but non-essential (17%)
Collectors/fans only (17%)
Poor. Only for completionists (0%)

THE SOFT MACHINE The Best Of Soft Machine...The Harvest Years reviews

Showing all collaborators reviews and last reviews preview | Show all reviews/ratings
No collaborator/experts review or rating for the moment | Submit a review

Latest members reviews

5 stars Compilation of Soft Machine during the Karl Jenkins era, 1975-1978. This disc cannot include material from 1981's "Land Of Cockayne" (the final Softs album) or "Rubber Riff" (apocryphal library music recorded in '76 but unissed until '94) as those were on different labels. So, while perhaps not ... (read more)

Report this review (#38304) | Posted by | Sunday, July 3, 2005 | Review Permanlink

2 stars Compliation from the latter end of Soft Machines Career. Great tracks from the Bundles album with Alan Holdsworth on guitar. The other tracks are from The Softs album and (I think) Live in Paris. You can tell from those that Soft Machines ideas were running out, Ratledge was gone, Jenkins ha ... (read more)

Report this review (#22147) | Posted by | Monday, March 14, 2005 | Review Permanlink

Post a review of THE SOFT MACHINE "The Best Of Soft Machine...The Harvest Years"

You must be a forum member to post a review, please register here if you are not.


As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

Copyright Prog Archives, All rights reserved. | Legal Notice | Privacy Policy | Advertise | RSS + syndications

Other sites in the MAC network: — jazz music reviews and archives | — metal music reviews and archives

Donate monthly and keep PA fast-loading and ad-free forever.