Progarchives, the progressive rock ultimate discography


Gentle Giant

Eclectic Prog

From, the ultimate progressive rock music website

Gentle Giant Memories Of Old Days album cover
2.32 | 16 ratings | 1 reviews | 25% 5 stars

Write a review

from partners
Boxset/Compilation, released in 2013

Songs / Tracks Listing

Disc 1:
1. Just the Same (Studio Excerpt - Instrumental Backing Track)
2. On Reflection (Studios Excerpt - Instrumental Clarinet Composing/Improvising)
3. Free Hand (Studios Excerpt - Piano Composing/Improvising)
4. Time to Kill (Studio Excerpt - Instrumental Backing Track)
5. Mobile (Studio Excerpt - Instrumental Violins)
6. On Reflection (Live - White Plains, New York 1975)
7. Proclamation (Live - White Plains, New York 1975)
8. Free Hand (Live - California 1975)
9. Interview (Rehearsal)
10. Another Show (Instrumental Hammond Hi Notes)
11. Empty City (Instrumental Acoustic Guitar)
12. Empty City (Instrumental String Machine)
13. Timing (Rehearsal)
14. I Lost My Head (Composing 2)
15. I Lost My Head (Rehearsal)
16. Peel the Paint/I Lost My Head (Live in Sweden)

Disc 2:
1. As Old As You're Young (Pinewood Tour Rehearsals 1977)
2. The Face - Plain Truth (Pinewood Tour Rehearsals 1977)
3. For Nobody (Pinewood Tour Rehearsals 1977)
4. Free Hand (Pinewood Tour Rehearsals 1977)
5. Funny Ways (Pinewood Tour Rehearsals 1977)
6. Just the Same/Playing the Game (Pinewood Tour Rehearsals 1977)
7. Memories of Old Days (Pinewood Tour Rehearsals 1977)
8. On Reflection (Pinewood Tour Rehearsals 1977)
9. The Runaway/Experience (Pinewood Tour Rehearsals 1977)
10. So Sincere (Pinewood Tour Rehearsals 1977)
11. Winning (Pinewood Tour Rehearsals 1977)

Disc 3:
1. Memories of Old Days (Guitar) (Rehearsals & Studio Excerpts)
2. I'm Turning Around (Rehearsal) (Rehearsals & Studio Excerpts)
3. Betcha Thought We Couldn't Do It (Guitar) (Rehearsals & Studio Excerpts)
4. Betcha Thought We Couldn't Do It (Moog Solo1) (Rehearsals & Studio Excerpts)
5. Mountain Time (Piano) (Rehearsals & Studio Excerpts)
6. Winning (Rehearsal) (Rehearsals & Studio Excerpts)
7. Opening (Live in Cleveland, Ohio)
8. Two Weeks in Spain (Live in Cleveland, Ohio)
9. Free Hand (Live in Cleveland, Ohio)
10. On Reflection (Live in Cleveland, Ohio)
11. I'm Turning Around (Live in Cleveland, Ohio)
12. Playing the Game (Live in Cleveland, Ohio)
13. Memories of Old Days (Live in Cleveland, Ohio)
14. Betcha Thought We Couldn't Do It (Live in Cleveland, Ohio)
15. Funny Ways (Live in Cleveland, Ohio)
16. The Face (Live in Cleveland, Ohio)
17. For Nobody (Live in Cleveland, Ohio)

Disc 4:
1. Two Weeks in Spain (BBC Sight & Sound in Concert)
2. Free Hand (BBC Sight & Sound in Concert)
3. On Reflection (BBC Sight & Sound in Concert)
4. I'm Turning Around (BBC Sight & Sound in Concert)
5. Just The Same (BBC Sight & Sound in Concert)
6. Playing The Game (BBC Sight & Sound in Concert)
7. Memories of Old Days (BBC Sight & Sound in Concert)
8. Betcha Thought We Couldn't Do It (BBC Sight & Sound in Concert)
9. Funny Ways (BBC Sight & Sound in Concert)
10. For Nobody (BBC Sight & Sound in Concert)
11. Mountain Time (BBC Sight & Sound in Concert)
12. Words from the Wise (Demo)
13. Thank You (Demo)
14. Spooky Boogie (Demo)
15. Little Brown Bag (Demo)
16. It's Only Goodbye (Demo)

Disc 5:
1. All Through the Night (Rehearsal)
2. It's Not Imagination (Rehearsal)
3. Convenience (Clean and Easy) (Live - New Haven, CT 1980)
4. All Through the Night (Live - New Haven, CT 1980)
5. Free Hand (Live - New Haven, CT 1980)
6. Knots (Live - New Haven, CT 1980)
7. Playing the Game (Live - New Haven, CT 1980)
8. Giant for a Day (Live - New Haven, CT 1980)
9. Inside Out (Live - New Haven, CT 1980)
10. It's Not Imagination (Live - Roxy, CA 1980)
11. Underground (Live - Roxy, CA 1980)
12. Five Man Drum Bash (Live - Roxy, CA 1980)
13. Band Introductions (Live - Roxy, CA 1980)
14. For Nobody (Live - Roxy, CA 1980)
15. The Advent of Panurge (Live - Roxy, CA 1980)
16. Number One (Live - Roxy, CA 1980)

Line-up / Musicians

- Gary Green / Lead Guitar, 12 String Guitar
- Kerry Minnear / Keyboard, Some Bass, Cello, Lead Vocals, Backing Vocals, Some Tuned Percussion
- Derek Shulman / Lead Vocals, Backing Vocals, Some Bass
- Ray Shulman / Bass, Violin, Some Guitar, Percussion, Backing Vocals
- John Weathers / Drums, Percussion

Releases information

Monday, July 29th 2013
This 5-CD set is a "Compendium Of Curios, Bootlegs, Live Tracks, Rehearsals And Demos" from 1975-1980, on the EMI label

Thanks to mbzr48 for the addition
Edit this entry

Buy GENTLE GIANT Memories Of Old Days Music

More places to buy GENTLE GIANT music online

GENTLE GIANT Memories Of Old Days ratings distribution

(16 ratings)
Essential: a masterpiece of progressive rock music(25%)
Excellent addition to any prog rock music collection(25%)
Good, but non-essential (12%)
Collectors/fans only (6%)
Poor. Only for completionists (31%)

GENTLE GIANT Memories Of Old Days reviews

Showing all collaborators reviews and last reviews preview | Show all reviews/ratings
No collaborator/experts review or rating for the moment | Submit a review

Latest members reviews

1 stars This is the kind of release that has commercial intent at the highest level and music interest way behind! This 5CD boxset is really embarassing, even for completists and here's why: Disc 1: Most of the tracks are taken from the Santa Monica live show, released on Glasshouse Records by the ... (read more)

Report this review (#1020797) | Posted by Music By Mail | Tuesday, August 20, 2013 | Review Permanlink

Post a review of GENTLE GIANT "Memories Of Old Days"

You must be a forum member to post a review, please register here if you are not.


As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

Copyright Prog Archives, All rights reserved. | Legal Notice | Privacy Policy | Advertise | RSS + syndications

Other sites in the MAC network: — jazz music reviews and archives | — metal music reviews and archives

Donate monthly and keep PA fast-loading and ad-free forever.