Progarchives, the progressive rock ultimate discography


Big Big Train

Crossover Prog

From, the ultimate progressive rock music website

Big Big Train Summer's Lease album cover
4.30 | 24 ratings | 1 reviews | 50% 5 stars

Write a review

from partners
Boxset/Compilation, released in 2020

Songs / Tracks Listing

CD 1 (63:39)
1. Expecting Snow (2020 remix) (2:45)
2. Kingmaker (live at Real World Studios) (10:51)
3. Wind Distorted Pioneers (new studio version) (4:38)
4. Summer's Lease (live at Real World Studios) (5:06)
5. Master James of St George (live at Real World Studios) (6:23)
6. London Song (2020 remix) (33:56) :
- i. Turner on the Thames (3:07)
- ii. London Plane (10:02)
- iii. Lost Rivers of London (6:00)
- iv. London Stone (2:04)
- v. Skylon (6:44)
- vi. Mudlarks (5:59)

CD 2 (77:55)
1. Victorian Brickwork (13:04)
2. Judas Unrepentant (7:16)
3. East Coast Racer (15:44)
4. Curator of Butterflies (8:51)
5. Swan Hunter (6:45)
6. The Transit of Venus Across the Sun (7:19)
7. Don't Forget the Telescope (6:01) *
8. Brave Captain (12:55)

Total Time 141:34

* Brand new instrumental track written by Nick D'Virgilio, exclusive to this release.

Line-up / Musicians

- David Longdon / lead & backing vocals, flute, guitar, mandolin, keyboard, percussion, co-producer
- Dave Gregory / electric & 12-string guitars
- Rikard Sj÷blom / keyboards, electric & 12-string guitars, accordion, backing vocals
- Danny Manners / keyboards, double bass
- Rachel Hall / violin, viola, cello, backing vocals, string arrangements
- Greg Spawton / bass, bass pedals, 12-string guitar, brass arrangements, co-producer
- Nick D'Virgilio / drums, percussion, keyboard, guitar, backing vocals

Releases information

Alongside the new track, the album includes the full 33 minute song cycle called "London Song" which has never previously been released on CD. This version of London Song benefits from additional instrumentation which was not included on the previously released download and streaming versions of the song-cycle.
Summer's Lease also sees the exclusive release of a brand new studio recording of "Wind Distorted Pioneers". A live version of this track was performed by the band for the 2015 Stone and Steel Blu-Ray video release. However, this re-arranged version has never before been released as a studio recording.
Finally, one of the band's earliest pieces, "Expecting Snow" has been updated for this album, with new keyboards replacing the keyboard parts on the original album sessions.

Cover: Sarah Louise Ewing
Label: Belle Antique (BELLE 203282-3)
Format: CD, Digital
March 25, 2020

Thanks to mbzr48 for the addition
and to projeKct for the last updates
Edit this entry

Buy BIG BIG TRAIN Summer's Lease Music

BIG BIG TRAIN Summer's Lease ratings distribution

(24 ratings)
Essential: a masterpiece of progressive rock music(50%)
Excellent addition to any prog rock music collection(42%)
Good, but non-essential (8%)
Collectors/fans only (0%)
Poor. Only for completionists (0%)

BIG BIG TRAIN Summer's Lease reviews

Showing all collaborators reviews and last reviews preview | Show all reviews/ratings
No collaborator/experts review or rating for the moment | Submit a review

Latest members reviews

4 stars This compilatory double CD set from the english prog wonders, released via the Belle Antique label in Japan, traces band's history back to some of their earlier work, reaching also to these days. Big Big Train's long-time collaborator Sarah Louise Ewing prepared some nice cover art, reflecting the ... (read more)

Report this review (#2449913) | Posted by Heart of the Matter | Monday, September 21, 2020 | Review Permanlink

Post a review of BIG BIG TRAIN "Summer's Lease"

You must be a forum member to post a review, please register here if you are not.


As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

Copyright Prog Archives, All rights reserved. | Legal Notice | Privacy Policy | Advertise | RSS + syndications

Other sites in the MAC network: — jazz music reviews and archives | — metal music reviews and archives

Donate monthly and keep PA fast-loading and ad-free forever.